Tag Archives: Wentworth Hall

Review & Giveaway: Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame

The prettiest people often have the ugliest secrets…

“Eighteen-year-old Maggie Darlington has turned into an entirely different person. The once spirited teen is now passive and reserved. A change Lord and Lady Darlington can’t help but be grateful for.

It’s 1912, and the Darlingtons of Wentworth Hall have more than just the extensive grounds to maintain. As one of Britain’s most elite families, they need to keep up appearances that things are as they have always been… even as their carefully constructed façade rapidly comes undone.

Maggie has a secret. And she’s not the only one… the handsome groom Michael, the beautiful new French nanny Therese, the Darlingtons’ teenage houseguests Teddy and Jessica, and even Maggie’s younger sister Lila are all hiding something. Passion, betrayal, heartache, and whispered declarations of love take place under the Darlingtons’ massive roof. And one of these secrets has the power to ruin the Darlingtons forever.

When scandalous satires start appearing in the newspaper with details that closely mirror the lives of the Darlingtons, everyone is looking over their shoulder, worrying their scandal will be next. Because at Wentworth Hall, nothing stays secret for long.

Wentworth Hall is a lush historical novel by debut author Abby Grahame, which is spot-on perfect for fans of Downtown Abbey!”

First off let’s acknowledge that the number of Downtown Abbey fans that would fall in the teenage age range are probably few (sad but true right?)…however that’s exactly what this novel will remind you of and it works…in fact it works spectacularly. It’s one of those books that you pick up and you do not put down. I read it in one sitting and that can be hard for me to do with a pre-schooler controlling my reading privileges these days.

Enter the once grand estate of Wentworth Hall, a crumbling family residence teeming with the young, beautiful and rich of the Edwardian period (some admittedly only the once rich but shush….that’s a supposed to be a secret). Follow along as they navigate coming of age, the rough waters of young love and secret betrayals of today and years gone by. It’s a world that’s only too easy to fall deeply into within the first few pages. One would never guess this to be by a newbie author as it shines in all the right places. Abby Grahame’s sense of timing and pace are impeccable. The characters and setting are written to perfection and surprises seem to lie around every single Edwardian corner.

It’s a book for young adults who enjoy historical fiction and also adults who love young adult fiction and/or historical fiction. Readers that found bliss within the pages of The Luxe series will fall in historical love all over again. And with a cover  like that it’s got great shelf appeal and reader’s advisory potential. For those non-librarians….that means we can more than likely get it into a teen’s hands and out the door, fingers crossed they open the cover once that happens. But if they do open that cover and begin to read…I guarantee they’ll be hooked.

There is also hope of a continuance of some sort since many of the plot lines simply scream to be explored. It will intriguing to find what author Abby Grahame will do next, she is definitely one to watch. But don’t take my word for it…dip into the pages of Wentworth Hall by checking out an excerpt and enter to win your very own copy below.

 Fabulous Book Giveaway

 Oh, you know you want a copy and luckily I have two copies of this luxurious historical novel to give away to two US readers.  This double giveaway will end midnight EST May 14, 2012. The charmed winners will be chosen by random number generator and contacted by e-mail.

To enter just comment below and tell us what book, TV series or movie has you slightly obsessed right now. We all have our favorites…let’s share. Are you a “Downtown Abbey” fanatic? Do you crave “True Blood”? Hunger for The Hunger Games? Or live to follow every move on “The Game of Thrones”?

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

57 Comments

Filed under historical fiction, New Books, The Luxe, Young Adult Books