Book Birthday & Giveaway: Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters by Meredith Zeitlin

“Laugh-out-loud funny high school drama – perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Meg Cabot

Let’s say you’re fourteen and live in New York City. You’d think your life would be like a glamorous TV show, right? And yet . . . You don’t have a checking account, much less a personal Black American Express card. You’ve never been to a club, and the only couture in your closet is a Halloween costume your mom made from an old laundry bag.

In other words? You’re Kelsey Finkelstein – fourteen and frustrated. Every time she tries to live up to her awesome potential, her plans are foiled. Kelsey wants to rebrand herself for high school to make the kind of mark she knows is her destiny. But just because Kelsey has a plan for greatness . . . it doesn’t mean the rest of the world is in on it.

Kelsey’s hilarious commentary and sardonic narration of her freshman year will have readers laughing out loud – while being thankful that they’re not in her shoes, of course.”

Happy Book Birthday to Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters by Meredith Zeitlin.

This is not Gossip Girl…this is real life. This is the life of Kelsey Finkelstein as she embarks on that all important freshman year of high school. Whether you’re experiencing that year right now or can clearly remember it as part of your past, you will love living it through the eyes of Kelsey even on her worst days which seem to be every day at times. Realistic, funny and adorable this new work features the perfect protagonist. A girl everyone can relate to who’s as real and authentic as they come. As I have said before realistic fiction for teens can be some of the hardest to come by and to accomplish when done well. Meredith Zeitlin has not only accomplished a great book but she’s done a wonderful job as well. Let freshman year begin…and let’s just hope to survive.

 Book Giveaway

In celebration of the release of Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters Stiletto Storytime is excited to be able to offer a giveaway of one copy to one very lucky reader. Giveaway ends midnight EST March 12, 2012. US/Canada addresses only please for this giveaway. Winner will be contacted by e-mail.

To enter simply share a high school memory below…good or bad. Kelsey has so many in just her freshman year both good and bad that I could completely relate to- it seemed fun to share memories with others. Did or do you have that magical crush, an awesome group of true friends or maybe play a particular sport that means/meant a lot to you?

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower of Author Meredith Zeitlin on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this “Book Birthday” Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

17 Comments

Filed under Book Birthday, New Books, Young Adult Books

17 responses to “Book Birthday & Giveaway: Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters by Meredith Zeitlin

  1. Wow, it’s been so long since I was in high school. One memory I have is not too good. Two girls were fighting over a boy and one of them stabbed the other. I remember seeing all the blood in one of the stairwells.

    • Oh my gosh Kathy…that’s horrible what a tragic thing to have as a high school memory. Well…this book is realistic but luckily nothing like that happens…although there is some competition for boys but then again that’s high school- when is there not competition for boys?…who most the time aren’t even worth it. When will we girls ever learn or do we ever learn?

  2. I remember a football coach dragging a player down the hallway by his collar (literally)…needless to say they got rid of him >.>
    edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom (subscribed)
    twitter Icecream1891

  3. I have to say my most vivid memory of high school was my senior year(I say this like I am super old or something, but really, it was less than a year ago)and because of a shoe painting competition I was able to travel to New York…for free (airfre, hotel, and even a broadway show!) . Needless to say, the best trip EVER.

    I’m also a follower!

    Followed you on twitter (@lilboxism)

    Followed Meredith on twitter (@lilboxism)

    Tweeted!: https://twitter.com/#!/lilboxism/status/175421555751399424

    • Wow…what a great experience and memory. I too did some traveling in high school. I was in the Latin Club and during my sophomore year was able to travel to Italy with the club and a small group of close friends. It was my first BIG trip to Europe and an experience I will never forget! Thanks for sharing!

  4. The thing I remember most about high school was being in the Drama Club. It sounds dorky now but we were all so busy being creative together that we became a really close group. Some of those people are still my closest friends now, years later. I follow by email and on Twitter and I became a Twitter follower of Meredith’s as well (@carlrscott). I posted a tweet about the giveaway. https://twitter.com/#!/carlrscott/status/175424235697737730. Thanks.

  5. Mary Preston

    I had a fabulous group of friends. All with different personalities & interests, but there was respect so it worked.

    I follow

  6. Well, I work in a high school right now as a librarian, so I get to see life for high-schoolers all day long. Some love it, others are just trying to make it through to graduation. Me, I liked high school OK, but loved college life so much more. In high school I had a massive crush on one of my brother’s friends. We shared one Algebra II class and talked there, but that was it. Oh well, I met my husband in college so it was for the best that my crush went unrequited!

    • stilettostorytime

      Amy- Yeah I guess you get to see high school every day…both the good and the bad! Kudos to you…not everyone can handle librarianship with that high school crowd!

  7. Forgot to say I follow by getting the emails. Thanks for the giveaway!

  8. I had a great group of friends, we all met really young (age 8-10) and stayed friends all through high school. In fact, most of us are still friends to this day, twenty years later.

    I am an RSS follower

    Also Twitter follower @enterthedrew

  9. Well, it’s from this year (I’m still in High School) and it’s when one of my best friends got bullied. I didn’t stand by! She and I went to talk to someone about it.

  10. Cathee-That’s great that you didn’t stand by or ignore it and that you took charge and went to talk to someone. That’s what should be done to help keep bullying down in our schools. All to often it’s not done though. Kudos to you for being a part of standing up against it…I know sometimes things like that are not easy! WTG! Also I love that you are in high school and have a love of books and a great book blog to boot!

  11. Sabrina Wells

    My favorite High School memory so far is that i meet my boyfriend in high school😉

  12. My favorite highschool memory is my senior year homecoming football game. We were down 2 points with 30 seconds to go and our punter got a field goal with 3 seconds left in the game beating the other team. Best night ever.

    I followed you via email (doodlesbookblog(at)gmail(dot)com) and both you and Meredith on twitter @erencich

  13. Ellie

    High School was not the best but I did meet a great friend with whom I remained close for many years.

  14. Big congrats are in order for….Doodle! Doodle has won their very own copy of “Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters” at Stiletto Storytime! Congrats and Happy Reading to All!

Let's Talk....

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s