Book Birthday & Giveaway: Faery Tales & Nightmares by Melissa Marr

     Happy Book Birthday to Faery Tales and Nightmares by Melissa Marr.

“Dangerous promises and beguiling threats swirl together in a dozen stories of enchantments, dark and light, by New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr. Uncanny and unexpected creatures appear from behind bushes, rise from under the seas, or manifest from seasonal storms to pursue the objects of their attention—with amorous or sinister intent—relentlessly.

From the gentle tones of a story-teller’s cadences to the terror of a blood sacrifice, tales of favorite characters from Marr’s Wicked Lovely novels mix with accounts of new characters for readers to fall in love with . . . or to fear.

Lush, seductive, and chilling, Melissa Marr’s stories revel in the unseen magic that infuses the world as we know it.”

I kind of have a love/hate relationship with the short story genre. For me it’s usually because short stories if they are well written…simply leave me wanting more. I want to know what will happen next, how it will end or just more depth in general from my reading material.

That was surely the case with most of the tales in Melissa Marr’s newest collection of stories filled with a plethora of unforgettable characters, differing styles and even what at times felt like a range of  time periods. Inside you will find a little bit of something for everyone from stories containing the characters of the bestselling Wicked Lovely series to the occasional vampire and even the almost folk tale-ish “Winter’s Kiss” which happened to be my personal favorite within the collection. In the end the volume is a array of stories  filled with variety of every kind, snippets of the darker side and tastes of true terror at times. It’s the perfect book to read straight through from beginning to end or to parcel out each night before bed. I can only hope we may see some of these stories later developed into much more by the very talented Marr in the future. Also if you haven’t- make sure to check out Marr’s most recent and only adult novel  Graveminder which I truly enjoyed a short while ago.

Super Book Giveaway

In celebration of the release of Faery Tales and Nightmares Stiletto Storytime is excited to be able to offer a special giveaway from author Melissa Marr herself. One lucky reader will win a personalized copy of Faery Tale and Nightmares along with a personalized copy of the recently released A Beautiful Evil by Kelly Keaton. Giveaway ends midnight EST March 1, 2012. US addresses only please for this giveaway. Winner will be contacted by e-mail.

To enter simply comment below telling me why you want to win this great prize pack. Are you a Melissa Marr fan or a newbie who is intrigued? Do you love short stories or simply crave a taste of the dark side? Just let us know for a chance to win both great books.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower Melissa Marr on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower Kelly Keaton on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this “Book Birthday” Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

38 Comments

Filed under Book Birthday, Fantasy, New Books, Paranormal, Short Story Collections, Young Adult Books

38 responses to “Book Birthday & Giveaway: Faery Tales & Nightmares by Melissa Marr

  1. I am a huge Melissa Marr fan and I’ve heard wonderful things about Kelly Keaton’s novel =) edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom
    twitter (all of you) : Icecream1891
    fb Lindsay Ann
    email follower with email as above

    • stilettostorytime

      Krystal- I too have heard great things about Kelly Keaton and am looking forward to reading some of her work soon. If you are a Melissa Marr fan- make sure you read “Graveminder”. I loved it as you can probably tell by my review. Good Luck in the giveaway!

  2. Title is intriguing to me. Not always a short story lover but faery tales are perfect for this format. These books sound great, thank you for hosting this giveaway.

    poofbooks {@} gmail {.} com
    follow you on twitter

  3. Rae Lovvorn

    I want to win, because it’s my birthday, and winning would be awesome!

  4. Well, I’m already a fan of Kelly Keaton, ever since I met her cool dog in her recent vlog and it’s about time I got to know Melissa Marr so this giveaway is right up my alley.
    I was already an email and twitter follower of Stiletto Storytime and a twitter fllower of KK as well.
    I just followed MM and I tweeted about the giveaway with this link:

    So that’s about it for me, thanks for hosting this event.

  5. Patsy Hagen

    I would love to win, because I really like faery tales and short stories.
    I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter and by email.
    I follow both Melissa Marr and Kelly Keaton on Twitter.

  6. debbie

    I am a new reader, but I have a beautiful evil on my tbr list. I love short stories. I find it is a great way to discover new authors.

    I am a email subscriber.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  7. Erin

    My husband bought me wicked lovely for valntines day a few years back and I have been in love with the series and Melissa ever since. I just love fairy tales this would.be perfect to add to my collection! Will deffently want to start reading Kelly Keatons stuff too, she sounds great! Thanks for concerdeing me!

  8. sabrina

    i would love 2 win, because i love melissar marr books

  9. Stephanie

    I would love to win because I am a huge fan of Melissa Marr’s books and I can’t wait to read this short story collection!

  10. Jamie Hamilton-Pritt

    I have followed Melissa Marr’s since Wicked Lovely first came out. I went out on a limb when I saw the great reviews written by a couple of my favorite authors. I have been hooked ever since. Melissa Marr has a special place in my library. I am excited to read anything she writes and I am always looking for new authors with new stories that I may enjoy.

  11. i love melissa marr!!!! i adored the wicked lovely series!!! cant wait to read her new book!!! i love to read anything i can get my hands on :)
    bmcolyer1304@yahoo.com

  12. Minnie West

    I have to say that Melissa Marr was one of the very first books that got me hooked on the dangerous world of faeries. Her writing complete sucked me in and I could not put it down. That’s nothing new really all her books are like that, and I cannot wait to read Faery Tales and Nightmares :D

    As for Kelly Keaton, I recently finished Darkness becomes her and loved it! Mythology, Butt-kicking heroine, mysterious circumstances, and vengeful goddesses what’s not to love! I am so excited about A Beautiful Evil and cannot wait to read this as well.

    I’m not a twitter person, but I am a fan of both on FaceBook and on Goodreads. I would love to win but it’s okay if I don’t at least I got to tell you all how much I like these two wonderful authors :)

  13. Erin

    I fell in love with Wicked Lovely the year it came out and have been there to pick up each new book as it came out. I also have a few of the short stories she’s released individually (both of which are in this book) as e-books, but find that I much prefer to read a book rather than on my computer. The day I heard she was releasing this collection of stories, I became excited and have anxiously awaited the day it came out. Winning a copy (plus a book I haven’t heard of but that looks equally interesting) would just be amazing (and an awesome early birthday present to boot)!

  14. Carleen Henderson

    I have been a Melissa Marr fan ever since I fist saw the cover of Wicked Lovely at B&N, back when I was in high school; it is absolutely my favorite book. Ever since, I’ve been drooling over the release dates of her next books in the series. Now that the series is over, I need more Marr!…while I wait for the movie that is :)

  15. Lucille Palma

    I want to win both Faery Tales and Nightmares and A Beautiful Evil. :D

    I’ve always been a fan of Melissa Marr, since I read Wicked Lovely for the first time!

    I entered a giveaway for A Beautiful Evil a few weeks back in Goodreads but I didn’t win. I’ve been looking forward to reading this!

    lucilleDOTpalma@yahooDOTcom
    Followed Melissa Marr and Kelly Keaton on twitter

  16. I love Melissa Marr! Can’t wait to get my hands on that book of short stories! Thanks for having this giveaway! So Glad I found this Blog, it is sweeeet! ohhh also.. the cover of “A beautiful Evil” is Wicked! I love it!!! hehehe!
    My twitter is @YAParanormal ( Followed Everyone)
    And the Link where I shared is “https://twitter.com/#!/YAParanormal/status/172342305750138881″
    Thanks again! Have a wonderful WEEK!

  17. Amy Z

    I am a huge Melissa Marr fan!
    I’m now following all three accounts on twitter – username amesze

  18. I want to win this giveaway because I am a HUGE Melissa Marr fan, and would really like to read her latest book! I also really want to read A Beautiful Evil :)

    Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime: email subscriber
    jwitt33 at live dot com
    Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter: @jwitt33
    Be/Become a Follower Melissa Marr on Twitter: @jwitt33
    Be/Become a Follower Kelly Keaton on Twitter: @jwitt33

    jwitt33 at live dot comj

  19. I would fall under the “curious newbie” category here. The Better Half does read short story collections quite a bit, so figured she might like it as well. Here is to hoping.

    Best, and keep on blogging.

  20. I fell in love with Melissa Marr’s stories when I read Ink Exchange. I did start with Wicked Lovely but the series turned to gold with the second novel due to the darkness. I love when tenderness blossoms from something so dark/evil. Even the darkness needs light to make it real. Nothing is ever truly light or dark, and Melissa Marr did a great job of proving it. I do follow all the above things on Twitter, Goodreads, and Facebook. I would love to win her newest story Feary Tales and Nightmares I could always use a little more Fey in my life and the other book A Beautiful Evil sounds right up my alley. Thank you for this opportunity

  21. Cassandra Fiuren

    Hoping to get picked! :) Melissa you are a phenomenal writer!

  22. Lilian

    I am not a Melissa Marr fan (because well, I haven’t even read any of her work), but I like Kelly Keaton. I saw her vlog, and I just loved her passion for creating characters than just talk to her while she’s doing trivial things…and she doesn’t even need a desk to write.

    Not to mention I think the cover is just GORGEOUS.

    I am already a email follower.
    followed all three!
    tweeted: http://twitter.com/circustoybox/status/172390925887209475

    lilianxcheng AT gmail.com

  23. Sarah

    I’m a huge Melissa Marr fan! I think I’ve had “Faery Tales and Nightmares” on my Amazon wishlist since before its (gorgeous) cover was revealed. I haven’t heard of Kelly Keaton, but I’m very intrigued. Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

  24. Rachel Sperber

    I absolutely love Melissa Marr’s books. I have been following her writing since Wicked Lovely came out and waited with baited breath for each of her books. She is one of my favorite authors. I’m even one of her ‘Rathers.’ I would love the opportunity to win Kelly’s book as well since I love YA Fic.
    I followed Stiletto Storytime, Melissa Marr, and Kelly Keaton on Twitter and tweeted about the giveaway with the username “melodylake18″ https://twitter.com/#!/melodylake18/status/172397077979082753

  25. Carol M

    I just finished reading Graveminder and I loved it. Now I want to read more of Melissa Marr’s books. This one sounds like one I would enjoy, too!

  26. Alison Poppy

    I would love to receive both of these books for different reasons. I’ve never read anything by Kelly Keaton but a Beautiful Evil sounds like something I would really enjoy. Melissa Marr’s books I love and her work is one of my few Insperations. I’ve never gone to school for writing but I would love to create a book that inspires others like Melissa and others have done to me over the years. To make characters that would be unforgetable, worlds and places that everyone wishes they could visit, and situations that may pull at your heart strings or make you hoping one character wins a battle over another. That is my dream in life. Reading new works by other authors like Melissa Marr, Holly Black, Clarissa Clare give me hope that maybe one day I will be able to do what they do, and have a novel sitting besides theirs on bookshelves in homes everywhere. Thank you for reading this.

  27. I have a number of Melissa Marr’s books and I can’t wait to read Kelly Keatons follow up to The Darkness Becomes Her series. This cover looks even better than the first book! Thanks for the giveaway!

  28. Bought the kindle book Faery Tales & Nightmares for granddaughter and she has already read it. She read it in less than a day. She loves your books, You got her started reading and love books, thanks to you, she has read I believe most of the Wicked Lovely books, Not sure Just wanted to say thanks. Would love to get the book in print for her.

  29. samantha

    books like so good- I am new to Melissa Marr

    great giveaway
    follow via rss
    drakebdog@gmail.com

  30. Awesome prize pack. I really liked Melissa’s series and am looking forward to reading more of her stories. And short stories are awesome and who doesnt want a taste of the dark side.

    -follower
    -follower on twitter – @donnas1
    -follow Melissa on twitter – @donnas1
    -follow Kelly on twitter – @donnas1
    -tweet – https://twitter.com/#!/DonnaS1/status/174733709403103232

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  31. Danielle Pelot

    I am a huge fan of Melissa Marr! I love her wicked lovely series so I figured I would love this book too and the cover is gorgeous! I do also like Kelly Keaton as well. Darkness Becomes Her is amazing! And I’m extremely excited to read A Beautiful Evil. Both of these ladies are apart of my favorites list!
    **I already follow both authors but I do now follow you! my twitter: daniikardashian.
    **My Contest Repost link:https://twitter.com/#!/DaniiKardashian/status/175278581226803200

  32. Erin Elisa

    I love Melissa Marr!! I love Wicked Lovely, and have been waiting for FT&N ever since Melissa announced it. I picked up Darkness Becomes Her about a month ago and am really looking forward to reading it, but haven’t had the time, yet. Now I will definitely will start it soon. Thanks for the giveaway!

    +1 Follower: estwilighter@gmail.com
    +1 Twitter Follow: @parnormbooknook
    +1 Melissa Twitter Follow: @parnormbooknook
    +1 Kelly Twitter Follow: @parnormbooknook

  33. stilettostorytime

    Thanks for all the wonderful entries and Melissa Marr LOVE! Now to find that lucky reader who will win this fantastic prize pack! With no further ado that person is going to be….Carl Scott! Congrats Carl!

  34. Tara

    I’ve heard so many wonderful things about the Wicked Lovely series. I would LOVE to read this one!

  35. Tara

    I follow you on GFC!

  36. Tara

    I follow you on twitter!
    @taralin

Let's Talk....

