Review & Giveaway: The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch

  In the newish dystopian The Eleventh Plague, readers are introduced to a region of North America that would be unrecognizable to us all in this modern day and time. In the near future after a catastrophic war with China resulting in bio-warfare producing a devastating plague….little and barely anyone remains. Food, shelter, supplies and other life sustaining items are scarce. Options are few and many are forced to become “scavengers” who travel the land looking for items of use to trade and sell to keep alive.

One such scavenger is a young man named Stephen. Born into this bleak world after the Collapse, all he really knows is this life of darkness and hardship. Traveling along with his father and grandfather, he keeps to the wisdom they have taught him and thinks very little about the past or the future until the day that everything changes and he finds himself becoming a leader.

Being a fan of dystopian novels, I was immediately drawn to this book especially when I saw that author Suzanne Collins of Hunger Games fame had endorsed it. In the end I found it to be a pretty satisfying read. The characters were well-defined and shaped and they progressed well as the novel picked up steam although at times I did feel like things were moving rather slowly. Still it was a well thought out and believable world into which the reader was escaping and that can be tricky to create with dystopian novels. I think it would be a great read for teen boys especially although there is some romantic element later on in the book that might appeal more to the teen girls out there as well. Ideally it’s a book that would be suitable for either gender if they were inclined towards the dystopian genre.

 Triple Book Giveaway

 One extremely lucky reader of Stiletto Storytime will win not only their very own copy of The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch but also copies of Underdogs by Marcus Zusak and iBoy by Kevin Brooks. That’s right three books! Giveaway ends midnight EST December 19, 2011. This giveaway is open US/Canada only. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address or Twitter. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply comment below and share your favorite dystopian novel. I am always on the look-out for a new read and would love to hear about any you have read recently or maybe even those that you consider your favorites.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower/Subscriber of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Please leave name in comments)

Like This is Teen on Facebook (Please leave name in comments)

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

44 Comments

Filed under Contests, New Books, Young Adult Books

44 responses to “Review & Giveaway: The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch

  1. Rae

    It’s hard to beat The Stand, as far as dystopian visions go. Stephen King really hit it out of the park in that one.

    • stilettostorytime

      Rae-You know that is one I actually have not read…I will be putting it on my list! Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. My Favorite Dystopian is The Hunger Games, but I also love Enclave by Ann Aguirre.

    Extras:
    +1 I am a follower of SS via email
    +1 I follow on twitter @Andra_Lyn
    +1 I like This Is Teen on FB- Andra Lynn

  3. debbie

    I would agree, The Stand, is the best. Jennifer Goverment, is also one I enjoyed.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  4. Karen

    I am a big fan of dystopian books, my favorites are The Hunger Games trilogy, Divergent by Veronica Roth and Candor by Pam Bachorz. Thanks for the giveaway!
    I am a GFC follower and an e-mail subscriber
    kpg813 at gmail dot com

  5. Amy S.

    I love the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. It really is outstanding, and I recommend it to everyone! I’m an email subscriber. Thanks for the giveaway!

  6. mamabunny13

    I enjoyed reading The Hunger Games Trilogy.
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  7. mamabunny13

    email subscriber
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  8. mamabunny13

    I follow on twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  9. mamabunny13

    I follow on fb-mamabunny shelor
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  10. Jaycie

    I still love The Giver by Lois Lowery after reading it in 4th grade. I really enjoyed The Hunger Games, too, and can’t wait for the movie!

  11. Oh, I bet my husband would love that book. Thanks for the great giveaway! I don’t read a lot of dystopia, but I really liked Ready Player One.

    I subscribe in Google Reader.
    I follow on Twitter.

  12. Oh, I agree. It makes a great book for teen boys who are often reluctant readers.

  13. I adored Divergent by Veronica Roth-thank you for the chance to win this book, I have had it as a to-read for so long! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

  14. edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom subscribed

  15. like fb page as Lindsay Ann

  16. My favorite dystopian currently is The Hunger Games:)

  17. I am an email subscriber of SS: jwitt33 at live dot com

  18. I’m a Twitter follower: @jwitt33

  19. I like This is Teen on FB: Julie Witt

  20. Ash

    My favorite dystopian is Divergent by Veronica Roth.

    +1 E-Mail Subscriber
    +1 Twitter: Ash_Ash
    +1 Facebook: Ashley Nichole McKinsey

  21. Na S.

    My dystopian read is lacking so I definitely need to read more in this genre and these books sounds like a great starting point. I don’t have a favorite but I’m hoping to start the Hunger Games soon which many people are liking.

    +1 I subscribe to this blog in google reader.
    +1 I am a twitter follower (@fieryna)
    +1 I liked the FB page (Fiery Na)

    • stilettostorytime

      Na S- I am so jealous that you are starting “The Hunger Games”. I adore that series and am actually about to re-read it to get ready for the movie coming out in late March. As you can see by the other comments on this post….it’s a favorite of many. Enjoy!

  22. I love The Handmaid’s Tale.
    +1 follow on GFC
    +1 Follow on twitter @amandawk
    +1 Like the facebook page (Amanda West kassis)

    • stilettostorytime

      Amanda- “The Handmaid’s Tale” is definitely one of my all time favorites…I also liked “The Year of the Flood” if you have not read all of Margaret Atwood’s works.

  23. My favourite is Divergent by Veronica Roth. It’s scary and fun all rolled up in one.

    erikadlugo at yahoo dot com

  24. My favorite is The Hunger Games, but Delirium and Wither are pretty great too! I have heard people talking about The Stand for years, especially my sister. I think I may finally give that one a go.

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  25. RSS subscriber.

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  26. Twitter follower @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  27. Liked on Facebook as Tiffany Drew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  28. Hunger Games!

    katie_tp(at)yahoo(dot)com

  29. wordpress subscriber

    katie_tp(at)yahoo(dot)com

  30. twitter follower – GirlyKay

    katie_tp(at)yahoo(dot)com

  31. liked This is Teen on Facebook – Katerina Pash
    katie_tp(at)yahoo(dot)com

  32. Childhood favourites were The Giver and The Chrysalids. A more recent read that I enjoyed was The Parable of the Sower.

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks for the suggestions…I have not read “The Chrysalids” or “The Parable of the Sower”….going on my list!

  33. I loved Delirium by Lauren Oliver!

  34. I follow you on twitter!
    @taralin

  35. Enna P.

    I love Delirium! Thanks for the giveaway!!!

    liked this teen on FB: http://www.facebook.com/thisisteen?sk=app_156184267774281 name: Enna Penglin

    following @StiletoStrytime: https://twitter.com/#!/ennapenglin/following

    tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/ennapenglin/status/147136392680574978

    twitter: @ennapenglin

  36. stilettostorytime

    Thanks to all who entered this fab giveaway but we can only have one winner and that lucky reader is…Amanda W! Congrats!

Let's Talk....

