2nd Annual Holiday Read-a-Thon

It’s that time of year again. Time for the second annual Holiday Read-a-thon! So cozy up with a nice big pile of your favorite reads and let’s get going! And while diving into your very own favorite books might seem like a holiday treat in and of itself…make sure to check out the all the details and the awesome mini-challenges that Liza at WhoRuBlog has put together including one from moi! That’s right a fantastic mini-challenge and prize pack giveaway from one of my favorite authors who just happens to be a spectacular person as well. And don’t fret…it’s not too late to enter.

Stiletto Storytime Mini-Challenge

What better way to celebrate holiday reading than with a great holiday book. Enter the latest addition to The Mother Daughter Book Club Series titled Home for the Holidays where the girls get introduced to none of than the Betsy-Tacy books! So for this mini-challenge what better prize than to win your very own autographed copy of Home for the Holidays, the newly released Betsy-Tacy Treasury, the first two Betsy-Tacy High School Books and a special Betsy-Tacy tote bag! What a haul! Big thanks to the always generous Heather Vogel Frederick for making this giveaway not only possible but wonderful as well.

So what’ the challenge? It’s really easy- just share your favorite holiday read? It doesn’t have to be a classic or even holiday related…just let us know in the comments below what you enjoying reading this time of year and most importantly why? It can be from a cherished childhood memory, a yearly personal tradition or just your own preference…just let us know why it’s important to you. That’s all it takes. Simple right?

 Giveaway ends midnight EST December 5th 2011. This giveaway is open US/Canada shipping addresses only. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address or Twitter. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Leave Name)

Be/Become a Follower of Liza of WhoRuBlog on Twitter (Leave Name)

Like the new “Mother Daughter Book Club Page” on Facebook (Leave Name)

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

51 Comments

Filed under Books for Girls, Challenges, Children's Literature, Girly Books, Heather Vogel Frederick, Middle Grade, New Books, Reading Challenge, Young Adult Books

51 responses to “2nd Annual Holiday Read-a-Thon

  1. Meg S

    Totally not holiday related, but about this time of year, I always end up rereading The Homecoming by Cynthia Voight. Have done this almost every year since I was 8 or 9 probably!

  2. Meg S

    I follow on Google Reader (mysecretagentloverman at gmail dot com)

  3. Meg S

    I follow Stilletto Storytime on twitter (@chknpotpie).

  4. Meg S

    I follow Liza of WhoRuBlog on twitter (@chknpotpie).

  5. Pingback: Set sail for adventure , Archive » It’s raining (snowing?) holiday giveaways!

  6. Danielle

    The Legend of Holly Claus by Brittany Ryan
    I got it from a friend for my birthday a long time ago.
    I try to read it every christmas, because it is such a beautiful story.

  7. aby

    my favorite holiday read is cindella cleaners

  8. Hmm… I think I’ll say ‘Tis the Season by Ann M. Martin.🙂 Good luck to everyone else!

  9. Carlee

    My favorite book this time of year is “Pride and Prejudice” because it is a favorite of mine! My grandmother read it to my mother, and my mother read it to me…🙂 I would love to win the books…😉

  10. I actually really love to read Betsy-Tacy books this type of year. They are such nice, cozy winter books. Perfect for snowy days!

  11. I follow SS on Twitter (just_audrey)

  12. I like the MDBC on FB. My usernames is Audrey Elizabeth

  13. Touch Blue by Cynthia Lord!(:
    Because It touches me to see everything the family does for the child in that book.❤
    If you need my email It's abagaylebostek@gmail.com

  14. Sarah

    My favourite thing to read over the holidays is “On Christmas Eve”. It’s a beautiful novel about the true spirit of Christmas. I read it every year!

  15. Sophia

    I always read the picture book, Snowmen at Night😛 It is a tradition, that started way back when I was little.

  16. amsallegra

    I always read the book, On Christmas Eve-guess when?-on CHRISTMAS EVE! It never gets old, no matter how many times you read a book🙂 HAPPY READING TO ALL!

  17. luv2read&write

    Reading during the holidays is amazing, and magic itself. Usually I read anything I buy after Christmas (luv getting books as presents!) but before that, i usually read anything on the shelf i can find. a tradition i have is to read as many books as i can on christmas eve! try it!

  18. Amy

    Although in terms of reading I have no special holiday ritual, I do like terracing some of my favorites (Pride and Prejudice, etc.) in front of our nice and warm fireplace during the holidays.

  19. Isabel

    I love to read “Christmas in Noisy Village” by Astrid Lindgren during the holidays. It’s a picture book using part of the Noisy Village novel. I know the picture book almost by heart. I always want to join into all their holiday traditions — making gingerbread pigs, wrapping presents with brown paper and sealing wax, dancing around the Christmas tree… Oh, I love Christmas!

    ~Isabel
    mybluenotebook@gmail.com

  20. Alexandra

    My favorite book that I am reading right now is Charles Dickens “A Christmas Carol.” Always gets me in the spirit of Christmas!!🙂

  21. Kai

    For me it’s The Nutcracker, I read the book every year. I also love The Nightmare before Christmas pop up book🙂
    Kai Charles
    twitter follower @yogikai
    fictionstateofmind@gmail.com

  22. I love rereading The Chronicles of Narnia around Christmas. It never really seems to be Chrsitmas until I have read the whole series. =)

  23. Becca

    About this time of the year, I love to cuddle up and read The Mother- Daughter Book Club series and Little Women. With the Mother- Daughter Book Club and Little Women, I’m always in another place with the characters.

  24. Reina

    Ummm…. let’s see…. I like to read The Night Before Christmas, because I’ve had this book for a long time. It also is a pop up book with mice as people, and I think it’s really cute! I love to look at the pop up pictures!

  25. Emma (Stewart Fan!)

    My favourite holiday read is Rilla of Ingleside, the last book in the Anne of Green Gables series. Somehow, every special occasion, I end up curled up in bed reading it. Why? I am absolutely in love with Walter! I also like a book that makes me cry, and I always weep for Walter.

  26. Renae

    At Christmas time I love to read “Luke”. “Luke” traces Jesus’s life starting with his miraculous birth — Christmas!

    I also like to reread some of the Chronicles of Narnia at Christmas. Mom used to read them to me before bed when I was younger. She always tried to read them in voices. Really there was only one voice she used for all the characters!

  27. Emma

    Ooh difficult! I really love reading many books. But I read the Bible at Christmas time, but I also always read ‘Tis the Season by Ann M Martin. This book is a bit young for me but it’s so great!

  28. Grace

    I always read all of the books I have bought through out the year, including Pretty Little Liars, MDBC, The Hunger Games, ect.!
    I love this time of year, it is great to curl up with a really good book!🙂

  29. Grace

    I follow MDBC on FB.
    I also love reading little kid Christmas books that I find around the house, Frosty the Snowman, ect

  30. Margaret loves the MDBC!!!

    I think I’m going to have to go with Home for the Holidays. It’s such a great book about wintertime and I definitely recommend it! I’m part of a mother daughter book club with 6 of my best friends, so I can really relate to their situations in the book.
    I am so eager to see if I win!🙂

  31. Margaret's Mom

    Okay, not to be a shameless daughter-promoter, but my favorite book this holiday season is Every Second Counts, which my daughter Margaret (she commented above) wrote for National Novel Writing Month. I encourage any writers out there to go to http://www.NaNoWriMo.com. It’s such a neat program for writers, esp. kids! I’d love to read the Betsy Tacy books with Margaret.

  32. Strangely enough my favorite holiday story is a children’s book. It just wouldn’t be christmas is our house without reading The Scrawny Little Tree by By Ed Mehler and Susie Pollard. It just gets us all in the holiday mood and leaves you with that sigh worthy christmas feeling.

  33. I’m not in the US so cannot participate but I do like the question! But my favorite holiday read is The Story of Holly and Ivy: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3802.The_Story_of_Holly_and_Ivy
    And I think this month is *the* perfect month to curl up on the sofa with a lovely book!

  34. Maria

    The tradition I have is reading the Christmas stories in the American Girl books on Christmas Eve. It puts me in the Christmas spirit and I can revisit those treasured literary friends of my childhood again.

  35. Valerie

    When i was 4 years old, my mom got my sister and i this foldout book of the first Christmas. You open the book and you can open it to where the front and back covers touch and tie them together. The book makes a full circle of pictures of the whole story with a paragraph at the bottom of each page. It is so beautiful! I love to look at it every year and remember when we first got it and how my mom wouldn’t let us touch it🙂 We were too little and probably would’ve ripped it. But the book is very sentimental to me. I am 16 now and still love it to death. As does my 14 year old sister. It reminds me of the real reason for Christmas and the magic of being little and not quite understanding it all but knowing that it was important.

  36. Serene

    I love reading A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. A classic and a holiday favorite for the people in my family!

  37. We always read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory over the holidays together as a family. We read a bit each night. I love that time spent together

  38. My favorite is The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson. It is hilarious and you get to experience children learning the Christmas story for the first time.

  39. Anna

    My favorite book during the holidays is the Pies and Prejudice because it is filled with the drama of high school and it shows just how close the book club girls, mothers, grandmas, and good friends are to each other.

  40. Kathryn

    My favorite holiday read is “The Unlikely Romance of Kate Bjorkman” by Louise Plummer, a sweetly unique Christmas love story that doesn’t get nearly enough attention!
    I stumbled upon the Mother-Daughter Book Club series quite by accident, and I am so glad I did! I love these books and would love to win this contest. Thanks for the chance to enter🙂

  41. Christina Holloway

    When I was little there was a tradition at my school where the entire student body gathered to listen to ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas’ and have a sort of book exchange where we traded books we bought with our friends in exchange for new ones. It was really fun and I even though I’m older now, I still really enjoy getting together with my friends to trade good holiday reads!

  42. stilettostorytime

    Happy Holidays and Congratulations to Carlee! She’s won a wonderful Holiday Prize pack from author Heather Vogel Frederick! Thanks to all who entered and I hope it was a wonderful Readathon for everyone!

  43. 1110cg

    I loved let it snow, and i love this giveaway

Let's Talk....

