Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon

It’s that time of year again…the Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon. I truly look forward to this event when it comes around twice a year. It’s my time to tell my husband that he has kiddo responsibilities and to then hole myself up as much as possible with books and special snacks. This year has been an especially tough year and my reading and reviewing has really taken a hit so I am excited to be able to take a little “me” time for Read-a-thon. So…Ready…Set…Read.

Introduction Questions

1)Where are you reading from today? Atlanta, Georgia
2)Three random facts about me:

I am a librarian turned SAHM. My favorite author is Jane Austen. My favorite book is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? 4-6

4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?

I simply try to do the best I can with a toddler in the house. My husband really tries to give me time to read alone…I usually hole up in my bedroom for a few hours at a time of good “snuggly bed” reading. I have a pile of books picked out and will keep track of books read, pages read and titles finished on this post as the read-a-thon progresses.

5)If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?

This is my fourth Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon. I would say just do the best you can. Don’t worry about doing too much or too little. Just do what you can and most importantly of all…enjoy the reading. That’s the point. Right?

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? Jane Austen Made Me Do It
2. How many books have you read so far? 1
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

 Not sure..I am going to go through my stack and see what appeals to me and will keep me awake!
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?

My husband takes over the parenting duties for our two year old son so I can participate in read-a-thon. Still had to do some light house tasks and a run to the store but it helps to have some time to myself to focus on just the read-a-thon.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

Like I said some small errands..etc. But you just deal with them and jump right back in!
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

This is my fourth read-a-thon but I am really excited to see so many participants and cheerleaders this year!
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I think it’s great as is.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?

Hopefully next year I can plan a little better and have a free schedule to really devote the entire 24 hours with no interruptions (in a perfect world).
9. Are you getting tired yet? A bit.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?

I think planning is key. Planning your time..your books…everything.

Re-Reading Mini-Challenge 

I have quite a few books that I re-read on a regular basis but the one I enjoy most would be my favorite book of all time Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. It’s my feel good book which I know might seem kind of odd considering the subject matter. I usually return to it when I am sick or feeling under the weather emotionally. Something about it comforts me. Other books that I re-read on a regular basis are Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier and North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.

Pet Mini-Challenge

Zoe is a pretty laid back dog…so he really enjoys nothing more than cuddling up while I am reading…as long as he’s allowed a nice spot on the bed as you can see from the picture above.

Read-a-Thon Results

Currently Reading: Salt Bride by Lucinda Brant

Pages Read: 987

Reviews Written: 1

Mini-Challenges Participated In: 9

Books Completed: 3

The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa

Jane Austen Made Me Do It Edited by Laurel Ann Nattress

Can You Survive: Jack London’s Call of the Wild Adapted by Ryan Jacobson


16 Comments

Filed under Events, Reading Challenge, Reading Fun

16 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon

  1. Have fun, Courtney. Hope you’ll be left in peace for a while to get some serious reading done.🙂

  2. Keep up the good work and have fun!

  3. Yes, agreed–have fun. It’s the best advice.

    Hope you have a wonderful readathon, courtney! I imagine it would be hard with a toddler–my mom has the baby right now so not sure what to expect when she comes back home!😉

    Have a great readathon!!

  4. Hope you get a lot read – and have a lot of fun!

  5. Happy reading and enjoy the day!

  6. I was just listening to a couple of the authors from Jane Austen Made Me Do It on the radio this morning and they really talked me in to reading it. What are your impressions?

    • stilettostorytime

      I am really enjoying it so far…I will be featuring a review of the book and guest post with the editor here on Stiletto Storytime on Saturday, October 29th…we will also be having a giveaway so check back to enter to win a copy!

  7. 367 pages is great! I’m at about 450 or so right now… starting book #4. I read 3 books in the first 9 hours, but that’s putting me about 2 hours behind schedule. Blasted distractions, like lunch and showering! Ugh!

  8. I have The Iron Knight on my list too. Your current reads sound awesome. I like your readathon strategy!

    1, 2, 3, 4
    You can read a chapter more
    5, 6, 7, 8
    Your read-a-thon is going great

    I’m cheering you on from #cheercookie. Have a great readathon!

  9. Amy

    Great job, Courtney! Keep up the awesome reading you’re doing! You’re now in the second half of the readathon so make sure you have provisions to boost your energy and good books to read!

    Have fun & Happy Reading! You can make it!

  10. It sounds like you are doing really well so far!! Good luck and hope you have lots of fun!

    *Keep it up,
    You’re doing great,
    Read lots of books,
    And stay up late!*

  11. You are doing great! Keep it up!!

    #cheercookie

  12. I think having fun is what it’s all about, really. Happy reading!

  13. I love your picture of Zoe! She is adorable.

  14. Looks like you have had a fabulous Readathon! I’m getting ready to go to bed – I’m starting to be pretty ineffective now!

  15. So much fun! I did the dewey read-a-thon for a couple of years, but this year I’m homeschooling 3 instead of two. One is making the difference in my sanity. I just couldn’t do it. Looks like you had fun! I miss it just thinking about it. Tons of great people on twitter to connect with.

Let's Talk....

