Guest Review: The Masqueraders by Georgette Heyer (1928)

When Courtney sent out a tweet asking if folks were interested in doing a review of a Georgette Heyer book in August for Stiletto Storytime, I jumped at the opportunity and got even more excited when I actually looked up who Georgette Heyer was.

You see, for years all I read was romance novels. Nora Roberts, Julie Garwood, Linda Lael Miller … and even a few tearjerkers thrown in for good measure by Nicholas Sparks. As time passed, however, my tastes evolved and I began to look elsewhere – but I still remember clearly how much I loved romance and how it helped me through some very difficult parts of my life. So who better to pay homage to that time period of reading then a master of romance – Georgette Heyer.

First, however, I must put on my party dress, because I simply cannot talk about this book without feeling the part.

The book I chose to review is The Masqueraders. It appeared, from my whirlwind research, that this would be the perfect book for me because:

A. It involved a mannish sort of woman (I’m not one of those women who swoons at the slightest breeze); and

B. It involves a marvelous prank.

What I didn’t count on was the formality of the language. Trust me, this was language that could put even Jane Austen to shame.

Speaking of Jane Austen, as a quick aside, I found myself giggling over aspects of this book due to the subtle humor in the same way that I giggle over Pride and Prejudice. Awkward scenes get me all a dither!

Once I relaxed into the language, the flow of the story swept me along and I found myself laughing at the hijinks, gasping like any lady of quality would over duels and kidnappings, and wondering just how on earth this brother and sister duo would manage to unmask their masquerade.

Oh .. pardon me, did I fail to mention exactly what it was? Are you ready?

They switched places!

Robin became the beautiful Miss Merriot and Prudence the slight, but fascinating Mr. Peter Merriot!

This book made me want to use the phrases “romping good fun, m’lad” and “a pleasure to read, m’lady” in my review, but I shouldn’t do that because that’s silly, right?

I’m glad I chose The Masqueraders as my book for Georgette Heyer month and I want to thank Courtney for introducing me to such a wonderful cast of characters and such a fun author.

~Lydia at The Lost Entwife

*Don’t forget to enter to win one of two fabulous Georgette Heyer Prize Packs from Sourcebooks. Also each “meaningful” comment on any Georgette Heyer post (including this one) in the month of August at Stiletto Storytime will also get you additional entries.*

11 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Contests, Events, Georgette Heyer, historical fiction

11 responses to “Guest Review: The Masqueraders by Georgette Heyer (1928)

  1. A funny story with many hijinks sounds great to me, thank you! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

  2. Ha ha! I enjoy reading the Masqueraders, mainly because of Robin. He’s such a brilliant woman, and so much like quick silver! …I also love how Prudence carries herself as a man, and how she is discovered to be a woman. And one simply can’t forget their father – exasperating yet fascinating man!:D….however, I find Robin’s love interest rather annoying. Such a silly little chit!

  3. I wonder of switching genders is a theme in Heyer’s books? In These Old Shades a young woman goes through life as a young man for part of the book.

  4. Mary Preston

    I love the premise of swapping places: male & female. Way to go Georgette Heyer. Your review made me laugh: “romping good fun, m’lad” and “a pleasure to read, m’lady”. I buy it.
    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  5. I, too, only read romance books, and from the same authors as you, when I was younger, and they will always hold a special place for me. I only wish I had read Georgette Heyer, as she sounds like an awesome writer, who I am definitely going to find out more about as her books are now on my TBR list! This one sounds like a hoot, and I definitely want to read it! Thanks for so many good reviews and posts this month on the amazing Ms. Heyer:)

  6. This book sounds great. I’ll have to put it on my TBR.

  7. Wow this sounds like a fun read! I like the idea of the sister and brother switching places and seeing how the other half lives so to speak🙂.thanks for the fun and lively review!

  8. This was the first book I ever read by Heyer as well and it won me over completely! I thought it was so much fun to read. I couldn’t help comparing her to Jane Austen because of the style of humor and the great dialogue. I hadn’t ever read a historical of this period where both a brother and sister decided to change sexes like that.

  9. Pingback: Firelight by Sophie Jordan | The Lost Entwife

  10. Hilarious review — ‘romping good fun’ is quite an endorsement! I ended up getting this as part of Sourcebooks’ $1.99 Heyer sale and I’m so glad — it sounds marvelous.

  11. Laura W

    This is a really fun book and I think it’s interesting that you compared it to Austen (rather than one of Heyer’s Regencies) because it takes place after the 1745 rebellion that attempted to retake the English throne for the Stuarts. That is the very serious reason behind their role switching: they are on the run to keep from getting Robin caught and executed for treason. But then swashbuckling and hilarity ensue!

    Heyer’s Regencies are easier to read: the language is less stilted, and the adventures lack swordplay, but they can be just as funny!

Let's Talk....

