Guest Review: The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer (1934)

I have to admit this book was my first introduction the Georgette Heyer and after I finished it, I was hooked on all things Heyer.

Horatia Winwood offers to marry the Earl of Rule in place of her sister, as her sister is in love with someone else. After she marries, she takes on her family pastime of gambling, which she isn’t very good at. Horatia’s antics provide a lot of comedy, but it also allows us to see what is so charming to the hero.

The Earl of Rule is a hero you want to slap over the head sometimes and then other times you want to kiss him. Mostly he’s infuriating. His actions, or better yet his reactions, are very calm and calculated. Just when you think he doesn’t care he surprises you. He’s also completely enamored with Horatia who has no idea.

Let us not forget Sir Robert, the nemesis of our beloved, yet infuriating Earl of Rule.  Sir Robert in an effort to get back at the Earl tries to ruin Horatia’s reputation. The Earl is not having any of it. He has a plan and what a glorious one it is. Throw in an appearance of Horatia’s harebrained brother and you have a great romantic comedy.

There is magic in The Convenient Marriage, and not because this was my first Heyer novel, but because the heroine in flawed. She is not perfect. She has faults. Horatia stutters. I remember that other readers hated that the heroine stuttered, but frankly I loved it. Why can’t a stuttering heroine find love? It was a part of her character and is part of the charm of the novel.

In addition, there is one of the classic Heyer formulas in the novel, the older man with the younger woman which seems to be a favorite of hers. While the difference in age between the hero and the heroine can sometimes be apparent, I found that most of the time I didn’t even notice. I was caught up in the comedy that Heyer is so proficient at.

Heyer is at her best in this novel. The comedy, the wit and the plot are what make this book so enjoyable. In fact the very end of the novel is one of my favorites. You cannot go wrong with this book. I think I’m going to go read this again.

~Kaydee at For the Love of Austen

*Don’t forget to enter to win one of two fabulous Georgette Heyer Prize Packs from Sourcebooks. Also each “meaningful” comment on any Georgette Heyer post (including this one) in the month of August at Stiletto Storytime will also get you additional entries.*

13 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Contests, Events, Georgette Heyer, historical fiction

13 responses to “Guest Review: The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer (1934)

  1. I enjoy a book with a flawed heroine. I really need to read this one.

  2. I have this on my list as a to-read, the heroine looks amazing and the plot looks fun! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

  3. stilettostorytime

    Thanks for the review Kaydee…I am especially interested in this one because of your description of the flawed heroine. We see very few characters with disabilities such as stuttering in period literature. I can’t wait to discover this one for myself.

  4. This sounds like a fun read! And how can you not like a flawed heroine? I can never relate to the perfect ones.

  5. It seems like most people who read Ms. Heyer for the first time have the same sentiment: once they start they don’t want to start. All of these books sound great so I have no idea which one I would start with as my first time read. Thanks for the review!

  6. I think this is one of the few Heyer romances I haven’t read. It sounds interesting…as usual.:D Good review!:)

  7. Thank you all. It was my pleasure to review this book. It it one of my favorites. So, pleased to see a flawed heroine is loved by many.

  8. Laura

    Great review! Horry and Rule are perfect for each other! I love how Heyer explores the meaning of marriage in this novel. It’s also interesting in the context of her broader work (since I’ve recently reread the Hodge biography). It’s a comparatively early novel of hers, during a time when she was experimenting with a variety of historical period settings. She had several set in the eighteenth century, and might have settled there, but then she discovered the Regency. Her first Regency-set novel was published the very next year.

    Anyone who hasn’t read Heyer before, you are in for a treat!

    • I have not read a Heyer biography. I should go do that. Thank you for sharing this information as I found it quite interesting.

      • Laura

        Kaydee, I reviewed Hodge’s bio of Heyer that was reprinted this month by Sourcebooks last week on another blog. There is a new bio coming out next month and I hope to be reviewing it too. Let me know if you’d like the link to my review (I wouldn’t post it on someone else’s blog without permission).

  9. Mary Preston

    I know I have read THE CONVENIENT MARRIAGE, but don’t you just love the cover? Great review. I must re-read.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  10. A stuttering heroine?! I love!! I do get frustrated with the overly perfect heroines (I even have a LibraryThing tag for ‘preternaturally beautiful heroines’ because it gets tiresome!). Heyer has such a deft way of weaving bittersweet humor and romance — I’m so glad this one didn’t disappoint!

Let's Talk....

