Georgette Heyer Gems of August Event

Welcome to August at Stiletto Storytime. This month I will be dedicating the majority of the posts on my blog to the work of author Georgette Heyer. Heyer is best known as the creator of the “Regency” genre of romance novels but to me she will always be the woman who provided me with “more” after I had devoured every Jane Austen novel in middle school and found to my horror that there would never be another….and so enter Georgette Heyer.

Through the years I have enjoyed many a Heyer novel and introduced her to many friends as well. And so this August as we celebrate what would have been Heyer’s 109th birthday on the 16th, Stiletto Storytime will be celebrating the work of an amazing author. Guest reviews of her many books, guest posts and an amazing Sourcebooks prize pack giveaway will all be included. So share your love of Georgette Heyer, tell us your favorite book, or even discover her for the first time…this month I want more than anything to encourage discussion and celebration of a wonderful writer who often in my opinion gets overlooked. And so without further ado…”Georgette Heyer Gems of August” begins…

     
     Sourcebooks Prize Pack Giveaway

 Stiletto Storytime will be giving away two Georgette Heyer prize packages at the end of August. US Addresses only please. All one needs to do to enter is to comment on any Georgette Heyer post in the month of August. Each “meaningful” comment will give you one entry into the prize pack drawing. Each prize pack will contain four Georgette Heyer works courtesy of the always generous Sourcebooks. For extra entries you can also do the each of the following once…

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime (+1)

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Leave Name) (+1)

Be/Become a Follower of Sourcebooks on Twitter (Leave Name) (+1)

Tweet about the Event or Giveaway (Leave link) (+1)

Add the Georgette Heyer Event Button to Your Blog for August (Leave Link) (+5)

Blog about the Georgette Heyer Event & Giveaway (Leave link) (+5)

*Want to share a review of a Heyer work or write a guest post for this event? Anyone wanting to contribute to this event may contact me at stilettostorytime@gmail.com. Space is limited but I would love to hear from you.*

26 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Contests, Events, historical fiction

26 responses to “Georgette Heyer Gems of August Event

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « Leeswammes' Blog

  2. Mary Preston

    It has been a very long time since I read a Georgette Heyer book. How lovely to be re-introduced.
    Follow of Stiletto Storytime (+1)

    Follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (maryloucoolumralph) (+1)

    Follow of Sourcebooks on Twitter (maryloucoolumralph) (+1)

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  3. Julie Witt

    I’ve heard of Georgette Heyer but I can’t remember reading any of her books – which I am definitely going to change! I love Regency romances so I am going to follow your posts on her and include some of her books on my TBR list to correct this little problem of mine!
    I am a GFC follower of SS.
    I follow SS on Twitter: @jwitt33
    I follow Sourcebooks on Twitter: @jwitt33

    Thanks so much for reminding me what I’m missing🙂
    jwitt33 at live dot com

  4. Janis Rothermel

    Love the post. Have great memories of reading every Georgette Heyer book in the 60s and 70s. Glad to see a revival of her works. There is a place in every woman’s heart for her books.

  5. How do I love Jane Austen but haven’t read Georgette Heyer? I can’t wait to read your posts this month about her and hopefully I’ll feel the same🙂
    Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime (+1)
    Ashley dot Knight6 at gmail dot com

  6. Georgette Heyer – the greatest of regency romance writers and one of my all-time faves. The Grand Sophy is still one of my favorite books and should be made into a movie. It’s hilarious and romantic.

    And what a great idea for a contest! Good luck to all!

  7. mamabunny13

    I discovered Georgette Heyer last fall and I love her. I’ve read several of her books and I’m looking forward to reading more!
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  8. mamabunny13

    Follower of Sourcebooks on Twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  9. mamabunny13

    I follow you via gfc – mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  10. mamabunny13

    I follow you on twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  11. I read my first Heyer books this summer, and thoroughly enjoyed them both. I’m glad I found your blog and looking forward to your reviews! ColReads at gmail dot com

  12. Left a comment on another post, but thank you for hosting this giveaway, I love Georgette Heyer!

    I follow you on Twitter.
    I follow Sourcebooks on Twitter.
    I tweeted. http://twitter.com/#!/jenkmiller75/status/99181068820815872
    Added a button to my site: http://neptunebutterfly.com/blog (you have to scroll down a bit)

  13. Tressa

    I love Heyer, so thanks for doing this!
    +1 Follow on GFC – also email subscriber.
    +2 Follow you and sourcebooks on Twitter (TresSherm).

  14. Rosiland Webb

    Save a few of her books for me to read. Thanks. See you this weekend. Love you!

  15. I love Georgette Heyer! I just finished Sylvester and enjoyed it greatly.
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  16. GFC follower Marlene Breakfield
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  17. Twitter follower @mbreakfield
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  18. Sourcebooks twitter follower @mbreakfield
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  19. Colleen Turner

    I am ashamed to say I haven’t read anything by Georgette Heyer but I do have a few of her books on my TBR shelf. Maybe I should hurry up and get going like everyone else🙂. They do sound really good!

  20. Colleen Turner

    I am a follower of Stiletto Storytime!

  21. I’m following Stiletto Storytime in my Google Reader!

    I’m already following Stiletto Storytime and Sourcebooks on twitter (@afewmorepages)

    Tweeted: http://twitter.com/#!/afewmorepages/status/101335608059891712

  22. Thank you for the amazing giveaway! I’m a follower on Twitter of both you and Sourcebooks (@unabridgedchick) and I follow you on my RSS feed as well as via WordPress (unabridgedchick).

  23. Pingback: Georgette Heyer Gems of August Event Winners | Stiletto Storytime

Let's Talk....

