Blog Tour & Giveaway: Shut Your Eyes Tight by John Verdon

     “When he was the NYPD’s top homicide investigator, Dave Gurney was never comfortable with the label the press gave him: super detective. He was simply a man who, when faced with a puzzle, wanted to know. He was called to the investigative hunt by the presumptuous arrogance of murderers – by their smug belief that they could kill without leaving a trace. There was always a trace, Gurney believed.

Except what if one day there wasn’t?

Dave Gurney, a few months past the Mellery case that pulled him out of retirement and then nearly killed him, is trying once again to adjust to his country house’s bucolic rhythms when he receives a call about a case so seductively bewildering that the thought of not looking into it seems unimaginable—even if his beloved wife, Madeleine, would rather he do anything but.

The facts of what has occurred are horrible: a blushing bride, newly wed to an eminent psychiatrist and just minutes from hearing her congratulatory toast, is found decapitated, her head apparently severed by a machete. Though police investigators believe that a Mexican gardener killed the young woman in a fit of jealous fury, the victim’s mother—a chilly high-society beauty—is having none of it. Reluctantly drawn in, Dave is quickly buffeted by a series of revelations that transform the bizarrely monstrous into the monstrously bizarre.

Underneath it all may exist one of the darkest criminal schemes imaginable. And as Gurney begins deciphering its grotesque outlines, some of his most cherished assumptions about himself are challenged, causing him to stare into an abyss so deep that it threatens to swallow not just him but Madeleine, too.

Desperate to protect Madeleine and bring an end to the madness, Gurney ultimately discovers that the killer has left a trace after all. Unfortunately, the revelation may come too late to save his own life.”

I think it’s a rare case when the sequel to a book simply blows the first book in a series away but that is just what John Verdon’s newest book in the “Dave Gurney” series has done for me. While I genuinely enjoyed the first book in the series Think of a Number, this next volume is on a whole new level. There is a sophistication to the writing, a depth of detail and plot that simply seem to excel above the first book which was an international bestseller itself. Verdon seems to always keep one step ahead of his readers…keeping us guessing…on the edge of our seats…everything a thriller should do. I myself am not usually a reader of thrillers so for me to enjoy one this much is praise indeed.

I am glad Verdon chose to continue Think of a Number and it’s main protagonist into a series. Dave Gurney is a worthy character and within this second chapter in his life we really get to know more of the man including the amazing way his mind works. Just the intricate details of how he connects things is fascinating in itself for me as a reader. Also there is no doubt John Verdon will have most of his readers hooked from the very first page of this novel as he draws you into the bizarre and somewhat disturbing mind of a killer. The nature of the crime that draws in Dave Gurney is also what will draw in readers and keep them reading through the first few chapters.We simply need to know what happened….and isn’t that the gist of a great book?

Want to check out the first book in the “Dave Gurney” series? Check out my review of Think of a Number here. Also make sure to follow the TLC Book Blog Tour for Shut Your Eyes Tight here.

Book Giveaway

One lucky reader of Stiletto Storytime will win their very own copy of Shut Your Eyes Tight. Giveaway ends midnight EST August 5, 2011. US/Canada addresses only please. The winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply comment below answering this question:

What is your favorite thriller novel or author and why? 

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Leave Name)

Like Author John Verdon on Facebook (Leave Name)

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave links in comments)

54 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Blog Tour, New Books, Thrillers

54 responses to “Blog Tour & Giveaway: Shut Your Eyes Tight by John Verdon

  1. Patsy Hagen

    My favorite thriller author is Nora Roberts/J.D.Robb. Her books hold my interest from the start, she writes in a variety of genre and I have never been able to figure out who dunnit in any of her books.
    mom1248(at)att(dot)net

  2. Mona Garg

    Thanks for the giveaway🙂
    My favorite thriller author is Harlan Coben b/c he injects some humor and witty dialogue into his novels. Also, his plots are unpredictable and keep me guessing.

    I discovered his work by accident. I saw his book THE INNOCENT on the thrift store shelf for $.50 and liked the blurb. I really enjoyed that book and and didn’t want to put it down. When I did have to put it down, I was constantly thinking about it and couldn’t wait to get back to it. I have since read his CAUGHT, have LIVE WIRE on loan from the library, and am eagerly awaiting his foray into YA, SHELTER. I also own several of his novels that I have yet to read.

  3. Patsy Hagen

    I follow Stiletto Storytime.
    mom1248(at)att(dot)net

  4. Mona Garg

    Email subscriber

  5. Mona Garg

    Follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter(@Kulmona)

  6. Patsy Hagen

    I like John Verdon on Facebook.
    mom1248(at)att(dot)net

  7. Mona Garg

    Like John Verdon on FB(Mona Garg)

  8. I recently read Eileen Carr and I loved it! She really lets the reader get to know the characters and they are so likable. The events are fast-paced and the story never lags. edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom

  9. email subscriber edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom

  10. liked author on fb as Lindsay Ann

  11. This sounds like quite the page turner! No need to enter me.

  12. Marjorie

    My favourite mystery writer is Erica Spindler, I have never been
    disappointed in any of her books.

  13. Marjorie

    I follow by google reader as cenya2.

  14. Marjorie

    I liked John on facebook under Marjorie R.

  15. Favourite thriller author, hmmmmm…that’s a toughie because there are so many good ones.

    My favourite recent thriller was Still Missing by Chevy Stevens, so I would have to pick her. Stevens had me totally captivated in her debut novel, Still MIssing.

    Shut Your Eyes Tight sounds really good! I’d love to win!

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    darlenesbooknook@gmail.com

    • stilettostorytime

      Darlene…have you read “Never Knowing” yet? “Still Missing” is in my TBR pile along with it…

  16. +1 following Stiletto Storytime by email

    darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com

  17. +1 Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter
    (@DarleneBookNook)

    darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com

  18. +1 Like Author John Verdon on Facebook
    (Darlene’s Book Nook)

    darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com

  19. +1 for tweeting:

    darlenesbooknook@gmail.com

  20. mamabunny13

    I’m gonna have to say Stephen King because he comes up with such crazy, creepy stuff.
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  21. mamabunny13

    I Like Author John Verdon on Facebook-mamabunny shelor
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  22. mamabunny13

    I follow via gfc (mamabunny13)
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  23. mamabunny13

    I follow on twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  24. Janis Rothermel

    I love Daniel Silva. His characters, Gabriel Allon, Chiara and others are so well developed that I feel like I know them. I also like the idea of incorporating art history into the thriller as I have a love of art. And the settings in Italy, Israel Switzerland and UK and others transport me away. I have the Verdon, but it is in the pile to read (soon). I also like Steve Berry, and of course many of the older standbys. I am fortunate enough to have a ticket for a book lecture by Daniel Silva later in the week! I cannot wait.

  25. Pingback: John Verdon, author of Shut Your Eyes Tight, on tour July/August 2011 | TLC Book Tours

  26. You are so right – it is rare for a 2nd book to surpass the first. What a treat!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour. I’m featuring your review on TLC’s Facebook page today.

  27. stacybuckeye

    I’m also on the tour but haven’t started yert. You’ve set my expectations high!

  28. Suz Reads

    Thanks for this amazing giveaway! I recently read The Insider by Reece Hirsch (his first novel) and really liked it! There was action and thrills from the very first pages and a wonderful, twisty mystery.

    susanw28 (at) mindspring (dot) com

  29. Suz Reads

    Thanks for this amazing giveaway! I am a new follower on GFC as Suz and I would love to win!

    susanw28 (at) mindspring (dot) com

  30. Suz Reads

    I liked John Verdon on Facebook.

    susanw28 (at) mindspring (dot) com

  31. The Firm by John Grisham because I am from the area the book is set in,and I worked in a large building with a Firm really similar to the one in the book. It was creepy and thrilling to read the book!

  32. I am a follower of the blog

  33. I am following you on Twitter @kappavelvit

  34. I like John Verdon on Facebook

  35. The closest I have read to thriller novels are JD Robb/ In Death series and those are very thrillerish in my opionion…I would love to read something that has a bit more bite!

  36. I also follow via Twitter – @Maria_Smith_76

    Thank you!

  37. I own Think of a Number but have yet to read. my Dad liked it when he visited and found it on my shelf.
    My favorite would probably by Tana French – first author that came to mind that I have read recently.

  38. Oh, and I follow you on Twitter.

  39. I’ve never heard of this series but I love mysteries so I’m very interested in reading it.

  40. My favorite author is Vincent Zandri. His suspense is super intense and really takes you on a roller coaster ride. With his books, they each hold something different and the endings are all intense!

    Thanks for the giveawasy!
    molly AT reviewsbymolly DOT com

  41. I follow Stiletto Storytime via email.

    molly AT reviewsbymolly DOT com

  42. I like John Verdon on Facebook. (Molly Edwards)

    molly AT reviewsbymolly DOT com

  43. I follow SS via Twitter (@reviewsbymolly)

    molly AT reviewsbymolly DOT com

  44. I tweeted:

    molly AT reviewsbymolly DOT com

  45. Carol M

    Lauara Lippman. Her books always have great endings!
    mittens0831 at aol dot com

  46. Carol M

    I follow on Twitter – CarolAnnM
    mittens0831 at aol dot com

  47. stilettostorytime

    And drum roll please…our winner of a copy of “Shut Your Eyes Tight” by John Verdon is Care! Congrats Care and thanks to all that entered. Happy Reading!

  48. Pingback: Shut Your Eyes Tight, by John Verdon « Stacy's Books

  49. stacybuckeye

    I can’t sayI liked this one better than the first but at least as well. I’m looking forward to more in the series.

Let's Talk....

