Review & Giveaway: Bride Flight by Marieke van der Pol

“It is 1953, and the last great transcontinental air race from London to Christchurch is about to begin, but even before the KLM plane has left the runway, it has already become famous as the bride flight. Of its 60 emigrating passengers, many are brides-to-be flying out to join their fiances on the other side of the world. Among them are Ada, Marjorie and Esther, each of them with their own reasons for wanting to leave behind the hardships of post-war life at home, and their own pasts. During the trip they meet Frank, a charismatic bachelor, who will come to have a dramatic influence on their lives, and who exerts a continued hold over each of the women as they follow their very different paths in New Zealand. It is only when they meet again, years later at Frank’s funeral, that the three women – now brides in black – get to hear each other’s stories for the first time and realise just how closely their lives have been bound together by what happened on the bride flight.”

I love modern historical fiction but good historical fiction with commercial appeal can be hard to find. Bride Flight is the perfect mix. It’s multiple character view points and historical detail make for a tale of sweeping proportions that comes across almost with a movie-like feel which is perfect since it has recently be made for the big screen.(Movie details here).
Originally the novel was a screenplay and this is easily spotted when one begins reading. The book hooks you from the first chapter with teasing tidbits to keep you going. Marieke van der Pol is a talented writer who weaves a story that is impossible to predict. Twists and turns and emotional moments seem to hide behind every other page keeping the book fresh and enticing. It’s part historical fiction, part love story…and it’s impossible to put down.

Book Giveaway

Three lucky readers of Stiletto Storytime will win their very own copy of Bride Flight. Giveaway ends midnight EST July 14, 2011. US addresses only please. Winners will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply comment below answering this question…what is your favorite historical fiction book or series?

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Leave Name)

Like “Bride Flight” movie on Facebook (Leave Name)

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave links in comments)

18 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Contests, historical fiction, Movies

18 responses to “Review & Giveaway: Bride Flight by Marieke van der Pol

  1. kim

    Without a doubt, the Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon!! This one looks fun!

  2. This looks like a great read🙂 edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom fb: Lindsay Ann

  3. Does Gone With the Wind count? That is my all time favorite! Thanks;)
    I am an email subscriber/followe
    I follow on Twitter@kappavelvit
    I like Bride Flight on Facebook

  4. Jackie

    This looks like a good read! Thanks for the review. As soon as I saw the question, I knew my answer…but it’s the same as the comment above mine. My favorite historical fiction book is Gone with the Wind (loved the movie too!).
    Thanks!
    jackievillano at gmail dot com

  5. Julie Witt

    This book sounds so good! I am definitely going to read it. Thanks for the chance to win a copy:)
    My favorite historical fiction is also the Outlander series! And I swear, I had that answer in my head before I read the above post! It is my favorite series of all time:)
    I am an email subscriber/GFC follower
    I follow on Twitter @jwitt33
    I liked Bride Flight on Facebook
    jwitt33 at live dot com

  6. Richard Peterson

    Outlander

  7. stilettostorytime

    It seems I am going to have to pick up the first book in the “Outlander” series..

  8. mamabunny13

    My favorite historical fiction book would be any book about the Tudors! I’m addited to them!
    mamabunny13 at gmaol dot com

  9. mamabunny13

    Follower of Stiletto Storytime
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  10. mamabunny13

    Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  11. Loved Little Big Man. I also enjoyed Picture the Dead, a YA novel by Griffin & Brown.

    Bride Flight looks fun!

  12. No need to enter me . . . just wanted to say I recently saw this movie and it was excellent! I was so engrossed I didn’t even notice the subtitles! If you have the chance to see it, give it a try even though you have read the book. The scenery is beautiful and the acting is superb!

    • stilettostorytime

      Colleen- I have heard nothing but good stuff about the movie as well. The winners of the books will receive tickets to the movie as well if it is showing in their area…a nice little surprise for my readers!

  13. My favorite historical fiction book so far is Redeeming Love.
    Thanks for the chance to win!

  14. your twitter follower
    ruthhill74

  15. like bride flight on facebook
    ruthhill74

  16. stilettostorytime

    Congrats to Jackie, Mamabunny13 and Ruth Mayer Hill who have all won a copy of “Bride Flight”. Congrats winners!

Let's Talk....

