Review & Giveaway: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

“Each night at  precisely 4:33 am, while sixteen-year-old London Lane is asleep, her memory of that day is erased. In the morning, all she can “remember” are events from her future. London is used to relying on reminder notes and a trusted friend to get through the day, but things get complicated when a new boy at school enters the picture. Luke Henry is not someone you’d easily forget, yet try as she might, London can’t find him in her memories of things to come.

When London starts experiencing disturbing flashbacks, or flash-forwards, as the case may be, she realizes it’s time to learn about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.”

What if every morning you awoke to a truly new day…a day with no memory of the one before? In Cat Patrick’s debut novel this is just the situation faced by her main character London. When I first picked up the book I immediately loved the premise but was afraid it might be similar to books I have read before…however Patrick found a way to make her novel stand out from the rest. Originality and her very vague writing style made the book. The writing is very simply stated almost like you feel London would think and talk if she truly could not remember things. I found it really worked.

However the first half of the book was a bit slow for me….but the second half made up for it by far. Why did London lose her memory? What is the secret being hid from her and where does this mysteriously cute boy fit in? Readers will read late into the night trying to answer those questions. Some may guess but many will be surprised. All in all- a great debut novel teens and adults will enjoy.

Book Giveaway

Thanks to the always wonderful people at Big Honcho Media…I have two copies of Forgotten to give away to two very lucky Stiletto Storytime readers. To enter just leave a comment below telling me what appeals to you about this book.

Giveaway ends midnight EST July 5, 2011. US and Canada addresses only please. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower of Author  Cat Patrick on Twitter

52 Comments

Filed under Contests, New Books, Young Adult Books

52 responses to “Review & Giveaway: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

  1. This sounds like a wonderful book, I keep hearing good things. I’d love to read…and win a free copy. I follow you on twitter!

  2. Colleen Turner

    I find the concept of memory loss or lapse fascinating! I cannot imagine how hard it would be to wake up everyday with no recollection of what came before you opened your eyes. It must be terrifying wondering whether you are being taken advantage of or not (because how would you know?). Thanks for the giveaway opportunity

    • stilettostorytime

      The fun thing about this book…is that while London suffers memory loss…there is a twist to what she does know! I won’t spoil it but it’s a great concept.

  3. WOW! Thank you so very much for this chance! I am seriously DYING to get my hands on this book! FOR REAL, I NEED to read it! Thank you thank you thank you for this amazing awesome wicked chance to win it!

    tfalick at yahoo dot com- old follower🙂
    Twitter- @tfalick, and now following Cat Patrick, and old follower of yours.
    again! thank you so very very much!

  4. Colleen Turner

    I am an email subscriber/follower.

  5. Ohhh, this book sounds good. I think what appeals to me is the whole mystery, you saying it was good and written differently than other simular type books.

    I am already a follower on Twitter!

  6. Patsy Hagen

    I follow via GFC and I subscribe.
    I love the sound of this book! Just the thought of losing one’s memory every night, yet knowing what is to come, is fascinating! I would love to have this book!

  7. I follow you on email as edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom twitter as Icecream1891 and the author as Icecream1891. Thank you so much this book sounds wonderful! I love novels about the memory🙂

  8. Na S.

    What an imaginative and intriguing premise. Very unique. Never has memories been so important. I am interested in seeing how the story unfolds and putting myself in London’s shoes. Thank you for the giveaway. I follow you on gfc.

  9. This book sounds awesome! I can’t imagine anything more terrifying than losing your memory. What a terrible thing!

    My email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  10. +1 for following Stiletto Storytime by email

    My email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  11. +1 for following Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (@DarleneBookNook)

    My email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  12. +1 for following Cat Patrick on Twitter (@DarleneBookNook)

    My email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  13. Michelle (geekdgirl)

    This sounds intriguing…the fact that she’s not stuck in memories of the past but memories of the future is really a neat twist.

    methirteenATyahooDOTcom

  14. I think the concept sounds fascinating. I would love to see how she is able to overcome/conquer.

    I follow Stilleto Storytime on GFC
    I follow STilleto Storytime on Twitter @Bookworm_Lisa
    I follow Cat on Twitter

    ke7yca@gmail.com

  15. Amanda W

    I want to read this because it sounds very interesting and because I’ve seen lots of good reviews.
    amandarwest at gmaildotcom

  16. Amanda W

    Follow on GFC.

  17. Amanda W

    Follow on twitter @amandawk

  18. Amanda W

    Follow Cat Patrick on twitter @amandawk

  19. Julie Witt

    Well, I have only heard good things about this book, and I really like what they have said about it. It is very interesting to think about how you would deal with this sort of memory loss.

  20. Julie Witt

    I am a GFC and email follower of Stiletto Storytime.

  21. Julie Witt

    I follow SS on Twitter: @jwitt33

  22. Julie Witt

    I follow Cat Patrick on Twitter: @jwitt33

  23. Marjorie

    I have sooo much about this book that I would love to win and read it.
    I follow by google reader under cenya2.
    I also subscribe by email.

    cenya2( at) hotmail (dot) com

  24. I love the concept! It is a great twist on “amnesia” related stories!

  25. and I also follow on twitter @kappavelvit

  26. I think it’s a unique idea that has a lot of potential – sorta of like 50 First Dates but darker. Thanks for chance to win!

    + 1 follow you on twitter as @tommygirl
    + 1 follow Cat Patrick on twitter as @tommygirl

  27. This sounds great! As a young adult librarian, I know it’s the kind of book that would appeal to teens and adult readers alike.

  28. Melanie L

    This book sounds so good! Thanks for the chance to win.
    peacelily_2006(at)yahoo(dot)com

  29. Melanie L

    I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter. (@Melanie_2006)
    peacelily_2006(at)yahoo(dot)com

  30. Melanie L

    I follow Cat Patrick on Twitter. (@Melanie_2006)
    peacelily_2006(at)yahoo(dot)com

  31. SiNn

    The concept appeals i so wanna know what shes hiding all of it

    awesome give away count me in

    mortalsinn@yahoo.com

  32. SiNn

    I am a Follower of Stiletto Storytime as SiNn

    mortalsinn@yahoo.com

  33. SiNn

    I am a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter as : @bainesgoddess

    mortalsinn@yahoo.com

  34. SiNn

    I am a Follower of Author Cat Patrick on Twitter as @bainesgoddess

    mortalsinn@yahoo.com

  35. The whole idea of only remembering scenes from the future is very intriguing to me! I would love to read this book!

  36. Linda Kish

    I think it could be interesting to relearn things each day. This sounds like an interesting story.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  37. Angie

    This book looks so amazing. I’ve been planning to read this book for a while! I love it when a character experiences memory loss or a form of amnesia. It makes the world more fun to figure out.

    ajiehuang1997(at)gmail(dot)com

    +1 for comment
    +1 Follower of Stiletto Story Time through email
    +1 Follow Stiletto Story Time and Cat Patrick on Twitter @darkestbooks

  38. Jennifer

    Thanks.

    I follow you via twitter @jlkalman26

    I follow Cat via twitter @jlkalman26

  39. I’ve gotten totally hooked on this story through this blog tour! I’m intrigued because a young person is already exposed to so much “newness” every day — how could she cope with having no memory of the day before? Hope I win a copy — thanks so much for the chance!

  40. +1 Follower of Stilletto Storytime
    +1 Twitter Follower (as ASeaOfBooks)
    +1 Twitter Follower of Cat Patrick

    geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

  41. mamabunny13

    What appeals to me about this book is I think it’s gonna keep be guessing. Thanks for the giveaway!
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  42. mamabunny13

    +1 I Follow Stilletto Storytime
    +1 Twitter Follower @mamabunny13
    +1 Twitter Follower of Cat Patrick
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  43. Thank you so much for this giveaway. I love the whole idea of this book. I added to my to-read list right away. Sounds amazing.🙂 The whole idea of losing you memory each day sounds very intriguing.

    I am a old follower via GFC – Chi Kittie
    I do follow you on twitter: @SyCo4Twilight
    I do follow Cat Patrick on twitter: @SyCo4Twilight

    ChiKittie(at)gmail(dot)com

  44. Nancye Davis

    This sounds like a very intriguing book! I had to tear myself away from it at the bookstore the other day!🙂 I have a terrible memory, but I can’t imagine what it would be like to have your memory erased each night.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  45. Nancye Davis

    I follow you via e-mail subscription

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  46. Nancye Davis

    I follow you on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  47. Nancye Davis

    I follow Cat Patrick on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  48. stilettostorytime

    And…we have a winner: Nancye Davis! Congrats Nancy and thanks to all who entered. Stay tuned for more great giveaways!

  49. stilettostorytime

    The second winner of a copy of “Forgotten” is Angie! Congrats Angie and thanks to all who entered.

  50. stilettostorytime

    Unfortunately I never heard back from one of the previous winners for “Forgotten” so I am choosing another by random generator. Congrats to…Gwendolyn B!

Let's Talk....

