Blog Tour: The Art of Forgetting by Camille Noe Pagan

  “Marissa Rogers never wanted to be an alpha; beta suited her just fine. Taking charge without taking credit had always paid off: vaulting her to senior editor at a glossy magazine; keeping the peace with her critical, weight-obsessed mother; and enjoying the benefits of being best friends with gorgeous, charismatic, absolutely alpha Julia Ferrar.

And then Julia gets hit by a cab. She survives with minor obvious injuries, but brain damage steals her memory and alters her personality, possibly forever. Suddenly, Marissa is thrown into the role of alpha friend. As Julia struggles to regain her memory- dredging up issues Marissa would rather forget, including the fact that Julia asked her to abandon the love of her life ten years ago- Marissa’s own equilibrium is shaken.

With the help of a dozen girls, she reluctantly agrees to coach in an after-school running program. There, Marissa uncovers her inner confidence and finds the courage to reexamine her past and take control of her future.

The Art of Forgetting is a story about the power of friendship, the memories and myths that hold us back, and the delicate balance between forgiving and forgetting.”

Marissa and Julia have been best friends since their high school years and are now tackling NYC on their quest to take over the world. However Marissa seemed to always take a backseat to the glamourous “tiny dancer” Julia. Marissa struggling with insecurities always seems to end up being the “nice one” while Julia charges ahead in life; glamourous, confident and often a bit selfish. But what happens when one of them is changed forever in a horrific accident? Will their friendship survive or will it too change completely in every way? Readers are kept constantly guessing….

What truly happens when your best friend is no longer your best friend? What  if the girl you’ve loved and known most your life is suddenly changed into a completely different person with little memory of your past lives together? She can’t remember the laughs you shared, the trouble you caused or even the promises that you made. A promise so deep it may have cost one of you the love of your life. In this novel where one breathtaking moment changes all emerges the story of a questionable friendship and the knowledge of just how deep love can run.

I really enjoyed reading and thinking about this book. Most of all I think was the ambiguity of the characters and circumstances. Often one was torn over whose side to take and who to root for. A somewhat un-relatable character whose life is changed forever by a tragic accident is hard to despise at times but a character who has sacrificed again and again is also hard to deny. This back and forth made the novel more intriguing to me and offered depth I was not expecting. Toss in a love triangle written so well with characterization of great skill and talent and you have a novel meant to be read slowly and enjoyed deeply. Did I mention the cover of this book is absolutely stunning?

4 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Blog Tour, New Books

4 responses to “Blog Tour: The Art of Forgetting by Camille Noe Pagan

  1. I have this book on my shelf, and I do think it’s going to be good. I do love the cover. Thank you for your review.

  2. Hi there, I stumbled across your blog accidentally but I’ll definitely be back. I love the name of it, especially because mine is called Booking In Heels🙂

    The Art of Forgetting looks wonderful. I’d never heard of it before now but I’ll be keeping an eye out for it.

  3. I think I am sold on this one by your review. I too love the cover and was very intrigued by what you wrote about the book. I will definitely be adding this one to my tbr list.

  4. I can’t imagine having the memories of a friendship (and a life!) wiped out. I’ve had the same best friend since age 4 and I couldn’t imagine life without her.

    Thanks for the great review! I’m featuring it on TLC’s Facebook page today.

Let's Talk....

