Book Birthday: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Happy Book Birthday to

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

“A mysterious island.
An abandoned orphanage.
A strange collection of very curious photographs.
It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.”
Let me begin by stating that I rarely get scared by a book. Now I am not saying that this book necessarily scared me but the creepy factor on this one is right on up there for all of you lovers of all things that go “bump in the night”. This is probably one of the more unsettling books I have ever read and rightly so considering it’s subject matter at times.  Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children is jarring for many reasons but the main one for me was the tying in of the true horrors of history with the paranormal. Monsters may not scare many when written about on the page of a book but who can deny the fear of true life events that cost millions of lives. Secondly the connection of the story and the photographs truly makes this book. Usually my imagination can top almost anything visually offered to me in a book but in this case I think the photographs truly help tell the story in a way that would not be possible without them. Undeniably odd and unique, this is one book you don’t want to miss and probably won’t be able to since everyone will be talking about it.
Part horror , part historical and part fantasy, Ransom Riggs has created a story that will sweep you away to another place. The question is do you want to go there?  Every family has secrets but some have horrors of fantastical nature lurking in their past.
Reading in bed at night with this one is the only way to go.
Book Giveaway

Thanks to the superbly generous Quirk Books three lucky readers of Stiletto Storytime will win their very own copy of Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children and a promotional poster. Giveaway ends midnight EST June 14, 2011. US and Canada address only please. Winners will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply watch the creepy trailer for this book (you will not regret it) and leave a comment below letting me know why you want to read it? What has caught your eye? And just so you know the movie rights have already been purchased by 20th Century Fox so get ready for this book to also hit the big screen sometime in the future.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower Quirk Books on  Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this “Book Birthday” Giveaway (Please leave links in comments)

71 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Book Birthday, Contests, Movies, New Books, Paranormal, Young Adult Books

71 responses to “Book Birthday: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. Mona Garg

    I have seen this book around the blogosphere and it intrigued me but after watching the trailer, I really want to read it. A few things in the trailer creeped me out:
    . The house
    . The music
    . The girl with the double reflection in the pond
    . The hulking figure walking down the hall
    . The shot of the belts/restraints

    I enjoy being scared by a movie/book. I will definitely be reading this one and watching the movie.

    • stilettostorytime

      Mona- I agree the trailer takes it to a whole new level…that was why I wanted people to watch it so badly. I had already begun the book when the trailer surfaced and I have to say it only made me want to read faster! Thanks for entering!

  2. Mona Garg

    I’m already an email subscriber.

  3. Mona Garg

    Follow Stilleto Storytime on Twitter(@Kulmona)

  4. Mona Garg

    Follow Quirk Books on Twitter(@Kulmona)

  5. Mona Garg

    Tweet

  6. I’m intrigued. I don’t usually like horror, but I love stories that have some truth behind them. Great review, you’ve made me want to read it!

  7. I already wanted to read this book but the trailer makes me want to even more. Originally I felt the book seemed very unique, something different. Now that I know it will be a movie I want to read it because I always think that books are better than movies and I want to be able to tell people that when they talk about the movie!
    I had seen the cover of this book before but didn’t realize that the little girl was floating above the ground!!

  8. I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter – MaryEllenT

  9. I follow Quirk Books on Twitter – MaryEllenT

    Thank you for the chance to win!

  10. Wow…that was…intensely creepy…..like…creeptastic…I REALLY want to read the book now! But maybe I should wait…if they are making a movie, I tend to enjoy something if I’ve seen the movie before I read the book because the book is just so much better….o well..i wanna read it anyways lol
    hense1kk AT cmich DOT edu
    +1 initial entry
    +1 Follower via GFC (hense1kk)
    +1 Follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (@hense1kk)
    so 3 total…unless i decide to tweet lol

  11. Ruthie B

    Very creepy…but I love creepy! Stephen King is one of my favorite authors so this one would be right up my alley!
    The creepy guy coming down the hall lets you know that something bad is gonna happen!
    Thanks for the chance…ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  12. Ruthie B

    Email subscriber…ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  13. WOW! that trailer was AWESOME! I’ve wanted to read this book since I first saw it pop up in the blogging community and now I want it even more! that house is creepy and I want to go there! haha. I LOVE wicked creepy places! that girl with the double reflection totally wigged me out! I HAVE to read this book♥

    THANK YOU for the awesome chance to win this! I want it BAD!

    I am an email subscriber-tfalick(at)yahoo(dot)com
    follow you on twitter-tfalick
    follow Quirk books on twitter-tfalick
    and here is my tweet link🙂

  14. Katie

    I love the photos in the book! It has completely captured my interest

  15. Katie

    I follow tiletto Storytime blog

  16. Katie

    I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

  17. The whole thing looks creepy! And that would be why I want to read it. I need to read it so I know what happens. Thanks for the giveaway!

    >E-mail subscriber
    >Follower StiletoStorytime on twitter (@lyssad87)

    lyssad87(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. The house in the trailer-I think I have seen it before! I collect antique photographs, so for that reason alone, I want this book! Thanks so much for the giveaway! I tweeted about the giveaway but I don’t know how to leave the direct link. Tweeted-charlawilson
    Twitter follower-charlawilson
    twitter follower for Quirk-charlawilson
    email sub-charlawilson@me.com
    I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  19. the witch of theatregoing

    I’ll admit it, Grandpas doing storytelling will immediately take me each time, mostly because my grandfather did so for me most of the time. The intercuts of the illustrations/photography of the Home for Children were creepy but absolutely lovely. And the mention of real-life events halfway across the globe, giving hint as to what might be going on at that time along with the paranormal, has my curiosity achingly peaked. I DEFINITELY want to read this now.

    Following on twitter as user usagiko.
    I retweeted quirk books about the giveaway: http://twitter.com/#!/quirkbooks/status/78118442225512449
    And I already follow quirk on twitter.
    I’m also subscribed to the blog. Heck yeah, fellow book bloggers on wordpress!

    Usagi.
    usagiko at gmail dot com

  20. What a creepy trailer! Especially the music!

    I’m an e-mail subscriber to this blog and I follow you and Quirk Books on Twitter (@ChristasBooks)

    You can find my tweet about this giveaway here –> http://twitter.com/#!/ChristasBooks/status/78135170707894272

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

  21. Colleen Turner

    That….is….awesome!!!! I loved the book trailer, it felt more like a mini movie and one I really want to see! I love creepy stories/movies but prefer the old fashioned, psychological plots to blood and gore. This reminds me of Stephen King’s The Shining in the creepy, “what is lurking around the corner” sense. I so hope I win!!!

  22. Colleen Turner

    I am an email follower.

  23. Julie Witt

    Ooohhh! How deliciously creepy the video was! I absolutely must read this book now:) Thanks for the chance!

  24. Julie Witt

    I am a GFC follower of Stiletto Storytime as Julie Witt:)

  25. Julie Witt

    I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter as @jwitt33🙂

  26. Julie Witt

    I am a follower of Quirk Books on Twitter as @jwitt33🙂

  27. I think I first heard of the book after watching Mr Rigg’s video about his collection of photographs. It also has one of the best book trailers ever!

  28. I don’t normally watch book trailers, but I loved this one! I want to read this so bad–one of the main reasons being the creepy pictures! It looks amazing. Thanks for the giveaway🙂

    • stilettostorytime

      Kaitlyn- I normally never watch book trailers either but I had heard this one was like a movie trailer and I am so glad I watched it….that was why I made it part of the giveaway. I think it’s amazing!

  29. Krysta

    The trailer gave me chills, it was awesome!!
    I am a e-mail subscriber- Morganlafey86(at)aol)dot)com
    I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter- @YearofTiger86
    I follow Quirk Books on Twitter- @YearofTiger86
    tweeted: http://twitter.com/#!/YearofTiger86/status/78176982944317440

    Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

  30. oooh! nothing creepier than children in black and white….thanks for letting me know about this book!

    i follow you on twitter @jennysryan

  31. I had seen the cover of this book before, and thought it looked neat. I’m now so creeped out that I have to read it as soon as possible! I want to know what they are hiding from! I want grandpa to tell me now!!!

    @CassandraNeace

  32. Okay, I know I’ve entered your giveaways before, and I really ought to stop – but I can’t help it! This book just intrigues me SO much. I first saw it last month, when it was offered as in the “Early Reviewers” section on LibraryThing. Back then, the trailer had not debuted, and all I had to go on was the cover and the synopsis. But that’s the beauty of the book – those two alone were intriguing enough for me to add it to my “must read” list!

    But the trailer TOTALLY kicks the creepiness factor up a notch. But, in terms of movies/books – isn’t that what we want from them? For them to be SO convincing, that we find ourselves looking over our shoulder, from time to time. That’s how you know a horror/scary book or movie has done it’s job! And this book definitely has that potential. I would give an arm & a leg (perhaps one of my kidneys too!) for a chance to win/read this book!😀 So thank you SO much for hosting this giveaway!😀

    ~Hira~
    Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  33. I’m a confirmed email subscriber of Stiletto Storytime.

    ~Hira~
    Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  34. I’m a Twitter follower of @StiletoStrytime – as @inluvwithbookz

    ~Hira~
    Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  35. I follow @quirkbooks on Twitter.

    ~Hira~
    Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  36. I tweeted the giveaway:

    ~Hira~
    Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  37. Ohhhhh, I want to read this book. I am pretty sure I will have a hard time sleeping each night, but I still want to read it – the whole trailer is kind of freaky – the music, the pictures, and the little boy.
    But it looks great.

    I am already a twitter follower

  38. Oh man this looks good. I loved the trailer. I haven’t read a good creepy book in a long time. I can’t wait for the movie as well!

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  39. I follow via E-mail and RSS

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  40. I follow you via Twiiter
    @quixoticweetzie

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  41. I follow quirk books via Twiiter
    @quixoticweetzie

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  42. Tweeted

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  43. Tiffany Drew

    Wow. I wanted to read this book before watching the trailer because I have seen it around for a while now and thought it looks pretty interesting. But after watching that trailer, I NEED to read it! It looks like such a creepy read, I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  44. Tiffany Drew

    I am an email subscriber🙂

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  45. Tiffany Drew

    I follow on Twitter as @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  46. Tiffany Drew

    I follow Quirk Books on Twitter as @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  47. Tiffany Drew

    Tweeted:

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  48. The image of the little girl with the double reflection is enough to sell me on the book.

  49. I’m following Stileto Story time on twitter as @rowenablue

  50. following quirk books as @rowenablue

  51. tweeted here

  52. following via email as jjscalf at gmail dot com

  53. Kai Charles

    great review I follow you and @quirk books on twitter. Id love to read this because it seems very creepy🙂

    Kai
    fictionstateofmind@gmail.com

  54. Being a follower of John Green, I heard about this book a LOT and I also follow Ransom on his youtube channel (you guys should check out some of his awesome videos. link to my fav: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otIU6Py4K_A&list=PLC2821C71794EA581)

    So I’ve loved the premise of this book. It is peculiar and a little creepy. I want to devour it basically.

    Thank you,
    Elisquared

    eliweibley AT gmail DOT com

  55. EXTRAS:

    GFC Follower: Elizabeth OR Elisquared

    Thanks!

    eliweibley AT gmail DOT com

  56. EXTRAS:

    Twitter Follower Stiletto Storytime: @eli2squared

    Thanks!

    eliweibley AT gmail DOT com

  57. EXTRAS:

    Twitter Follower Quirk Books: @eli2squared

    Thanks!

    eliweibley AT gmail DOT com

  58. EXTRAS:

    Tweeted Giveaway: http://twitter.com/#!/eli2squared/status/79500123251556352

    Thanks!

    eliweibley AT gmail DOT com

  59. JP

    Oh my goodness, this looks so creepy in a great way! I originally thought this book was about a mental institution for children, but the trailer proves the book is more than that! I really want to know about these “peculiar” children!

  60. I haven’t been a real big fan of book trailers until now. That one grabbed my attention right away. It also made me realize the book is about quite a bit more than just a home for “lost” children.

    Thank you for the chance at a copy of my own,
    Jules
    onebookshy at yahoo dot com

  61. I’m an old GFC follower – Jules@OneBookShy

    Jules
    onebookshy at yahoo dot com

  62. I follow your tweets! @mooncatfarms

    Jules
    onebookshy at yahoo dot com

  63. I’m a Twitter follower of Quirk as well – @mooncatfarms

    Thanks so much,
    Jules
    onebookshy at yahoo dot com

  64. Karen

    Wow, what a creepy trailer! I think the music and the black and white photos add another element to a book that already promises to keep you up at night. I didn’t know anything about this book until I read the review and watched the trailer but it is definitely on my to read list now! Thanks for the giveaway!
    Karen
    kpg813 at gmail dot com

  65. Karen

    Extra Entry:
    I am a gfc follower, librarymom, and an e-mail subscriber, Thanks!
    Karen
    kpg813 at gmail dot com

  66. A floating girl! They’re all watched over by a bird!!! Wonderful.

    I signed up here. I retweeted your last tweet. I’m already following you on Twitter.🙂

  67. stilettostorytime

    Drum Roll Please…and the winners are..Jules @ One Book Shy, Eli @ Eli to the Nth Power and “The Witch of Theatre Going” Congrats to you all. Each will receive a copy of the book and a poster from Quirk Books. Thanks to all who entered and visited Stiletto Storytime!

Let's Talk....

