Review & Giveaway: Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

  “The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream Pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and complete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea, crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water, and practically no eye liner.

 What’s a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program – or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan – or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up?

 Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Your tour guide? None other than Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again.”

Hold on to your tiaras…it’s gonna be a bumpy ride. That’s right… it’s Survivor-high maintenance style. Nothing is safe from satire in this wild journey to a desert island full of desperate beauty queens and soon readers will see all is not what it seems. Don’t count out a girl just because she knows the usefulness of hair spray and heels. (Obviously Stiletto Storytime already believes in this philisophy).

I have to admit for me this book began a little slowly. It’s absolutely hilarious but in the beginning there seems to be little action to really get things moving as we take time getting to know the individual girls. However by about half way in I was hooked. The hot pirates helped but I won’t say anymore about that…you’ll have to find out for yourself. Also interspersed throughout the novel are the funniest “commercials”, footnotes and contestant profiles that will undoubtedly make you giggle out loud. In the end this is one you won’t forget for quite awhile to come. Absolutely one to try especially when in need of a good laugh.

(Parents be advised the book does contain sexual content and should be reserved for readers of appropriate teen ages.)

Book Giveaway

Thanks to the always wonderful gang at Big Honcho Media…I have two copies of Beauty Queens to give away to two very lucky Stiletto Storytime readers. Also if your a teen between the ages of 13-18: check out the Beauty Queens Writing Contest.

Giveaway ends midnight EST June 9, 2011. US and Canada addresses only please. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower of Author Libba Bray on Twitter

“Like” Scholastic’s ThisIsTeen on Facebook

70 Comments

Filed under Chick Lit, Contests, Gemma Doyle Trilogy, Girly Books, New Books, Young Adult Books

70 responses to “Review & Giveaway: Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

  1. debbie

    This sounds like a fun summer book to read.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  2. debbie

    I am a gfc follower
    debbie
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  3. Rebecca Booth

    I would love to find out what a beauty queen does.
    I am a gfc follower.
    Rebecca
    rbooth43(at0yahoo(dot)com

  4. Mona Garg

    Sounds like a fun read — thanks🙂

  5. Mona Garg

    GFC(Mona Garg/MonaG)

  6. Mona Garg

    Follow Stiletto on Twitter(@Kulmona)

  7. Mona Garg

    Follow Libba Bray on Twitter(@Kulmona)

  8. Mona Garg

    FB fan of ThisIsTeen(Mona Garg)

  9. man! thank you so much for another chance to win this book! I’ve been trying and trying…… one of these days I’ll get the right time right?? lol. HOPEFULLY it works this time😀 lol. thanks for the chance to win!

    tfalick(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter
    tfalick

  11. Follower of Author Libba Bray on Twitter
    tfalick

  12. I “Like” Scholastic’s ThisIsTeen on Facebook
    Tiffany Falick

  13. jwitt33

    I keep seeing this book and it always gets good reviews, so I would love to read it!
    jwitt33 at live dot com

  14. jwitt33

    +1 Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime – done
    jwitt33 at live dot com

  15. jwitt33

    +1 Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter – done
    jwitt33 at live dot com

  16. jwitt33

    +1 Be/Become a Follower of Author Libba Bray on Twitter – done
    jwitt33 at live dot com

  17. jwitt33

    +1 “Like” Scholastic’s ThisIsTeen on Facebook – done
    jwitt33 at live dot com

  18. Amanda W

    I can’t wait to read this book!

  19. Amanda W

    I’m a follower.

  20. Amanda W

    Follow you on twitter @amandawk

  21. Amanda W

    Follow Libba on twitter @amandawk

  22. Jennifer

    Looks great! Would love a chance to win! I follow Storytime on twitter!

  23. wyndwhisper

    sounds like a great book and i can’t wait to read it.
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  24. Michele L

    I’ve been reading reviews of Beauty Queens – It sounds like a good one!
    rlawrence110 at yahoo dot com

  25. Michele L

    I’m a GFC follower: Michele
    rlawrence110 at yahoo dot com

  26. Michele L

    I follow you on Twitter
    @rlawrence110
    rlawrence110 at yahoo dot com

  27. Michele L

    I follow Libba Bray on Twitter
    @rlawrence110
    rlawrence110 at yahoo dot com

  28. Khyla

    I am a gfc follower
    khyla_808ATyahooDOTcom

  29. Khyla

    I follow you on Twitter
    @khyla_rahchelle
    khyla_808ATyahooDOTcom

  30. Khyla

    Follower of Author Libba Bray on Twitter
    @khyla_rahchelle

    khyla_808ATyahooDOTcom

  31. Marlene Breakfield

    The book sounds really fun. thanks for the giveaway
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  32. Marlene Breakfield

    Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter @mbreakfield
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  33. Marlene Breakfield

    Follower of Author Libba Bray on Twitter @mbreakfield
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  34. Marlene Breakfield

    “Like” Scholastic’s ThisIsTeen on Facebook
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  35. Oh I’m dying to read this one!

    + 1 Following you here
    +1 Following you on twitter
    +1 Following Libba on twitter

    lesleykjones at hotmail dot com

    Thanks for the chance!🙂

  36. Lovely giveaway, thank you!
    mcrs_venin(at)hotmail(dot)com

  37. +1 I followed you on twitter- @ohaiitschey
    mcrs_venin(at)hotmail(dot)com

  38. I followed Libba Bray on twitter- @ohaiitschey
    mcrs_venin(at)hotmail(dot)com

  39. And I liked ThisIsTeen on facebook- Cheyenne Teska
    Again, thank you very much!
    mcrs_venin(at)hotmail(dot)com

  40. minhchieu tran

    haven’t read the book yet, but i heard it was really funny
    blubear12@gmail.com

  41. Paulina Golaszewski

    GO LIBS!!!!!!!!!!!!! I seriously follow Libba religiously and her Gemma Doyle Trilogy=perfection. Hopefully, I will have a chance at winning this spectacular (from all the reviews I’ve read) book!
    +1- GFC Follower (pageturnerpaulina)
    +1- Follow Libba on twitter (bookbuffoon)
    +1 Follow StilettoStorytime on twitter (bookbuffoon)
    +1 Liked “This is Teen” on Facebook (Paulina Golaszewski)

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway and I’m pretty sure this book is pure gold ;D

  42. samantha

    great giveaway
    follow via gfc
    drakebdog@gmail.com

  43. Thanks for the chance to win this sounds like it will a gread read.
    bookflamereviews@gmail.com

  44. Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter — bookflamereview

    bookflamereviews@gmail.com

  45. Be/Become a Follower of Author Libba Bray on Twitter- done

    bookflamereviews@gmail.com

  46. “Like” Scholastic’s ThisIsTeen on Facebook- done @ bookflame

    bookflamereviews@gmail.com

  47. minhchieu tran

    Follower of Stiletto Storytime
    blubear12@gmail.com

  48. minhchieu tran

    Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter
    blubear12@gmail.com

  49. minhchieu tran

    Follower of Author Libba Bray on Twitter
    blubear12@gmail.com

  50. minhchieu tran

    Like” Scholastic’s ThisIsTeen on Facebook
    blubear12@gmail.com

  51. Michelle C

    This sounds like such an entertaining book! Thanks for the chance to win!
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  52. Michelle C

    Following you on twitter as mrsmchappell
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  53. Michelle C

    Following @libbabray on twitter as mrsmchappell
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  54. Tiffany Drew

    Awesome! I’ve been trying to get my hands on this book, I’d love to read it. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  55. Tiffany Drew

    I’m a follower🙂

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  56. Tiffany Drew

    I follow you on Twitter as @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  57. Tiffany Drew

    I follow Libba on Twitter as @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  58. Tiffany Drew

    I follow ThisIsTeen on Facebook as Tiffany Drew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  59. I want to read this book! Looks so fun.

    TweetyB99 at aol dot com

  60. I follow both you and Libba Bray on Twitter (@cicistheories) and I “liked” ThisIsTeen on fb (Tomaszewski) Great site and great giveaway!!

    Thanks!
    Cici
    cicistheories[at]gmail[.]com

  61. Kristina s.

    Thx for the giveaway! I loved A great and terrible beauty series by Libba Bray and I know this book will be just as good!

    spicedice45@gmail.com

  62. Thanks for the giveaway! I have been dying to read Beauty Queens.🙂

    +1 GFC follower (as Jessica M.)
    +1 I follow @StiletoStrytime on Twitter (I’m @crazylilcuban)
    +1 I follow @libbabray on Twitter too
    +1 I liked ThisisTeen on FB

    Jessica M.
    jmartinez0415 [at] gmail [dot] com

  63. Couldn’t find a GFC widget (did I miss it??), but I follow via RSS in Google Reader. I also follow you and Libba Bray on Twitter (@ErinReadsblog). Thanks for the giveaway — I’m excited, I’ve heard good things about this book!

    erinreadsblog {at} gmail {dot} com

    • stilettostorytime

      No Erin, unfortunately wordpress does not support the GFC widget. Hopefully I will be moving to a .com in the near future! =)

  64. the witch of theatregoing

    DYING to read this – the audiobook doesn’t do the text justice (and I have to return it to my library, so…)

    I follow you on twitter as @usagiko, and I also follow @libbabray. I’ve liked scholastic’s thisisteen on facebook. I’m also subscribed to the blog.

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

    Usagi
    usagiko at gmail dot com

  65. This looks like a funny book. I’d love to read it!

    +1 Blog Subscriber via WordPress and Google Reader (heykiddego)
    +1 Follow Libba on twitter (@heykiddego)
    +1 Follow StilettoStorytime on twitter (heykiddego)

  66. stilettostorytime

    Congratulations to Paulina and Jessica M. who have each won their very own copy of “Beauty Queens”. Thanks to everyone who entered and stay tuned for more great giveaways here at Stiletto Storytime. Until then…Happy Reading to All!

  67. Pingback: Book Review: “Beauty Queens” | The Cheap Reader

  68. You see, Tim, my husband, is the expert when it comes to knowing what makes hair grow, nails strong, cholesterol low, and heart strong.
    I used to be able to wash with any product available and brush my hair without
    accumulation of hair on my brush. Massage Aloe Vera into
    your scalp especially where you find you have hair loss will give your hair a boost.

Let's Talk....

