Welcome to Armchair BEA at Stiletto Storytime

   It’s finally here…Armchair BEA and Book Expo America 2011. Last year at this time I was in NYC for the big event and for Book Blogger Convention but this year I am armchairin’ it.  Why?

Well…I have a deal with my husband that I get one “book” related trip a year and this year I will be 30 (eek!). I know let’s not mention that again. So instead of having my big book trip be NYC, BEA & BBC this year. I decided it will be what we are tentatively calling “The Dirty Thirty Tour of the United Kingdom”. And not just any trip to the United Kingdom mind you. If you know me or you follow Stiletto Storytime, you know this trip has literary purposes…meaning it’s all about some Jane Austen. I can’t tell you how long I have waited…probably about twenty years of my thirty to visit Jane’s land. So very excited and a good trade off for missing BEA? I think so.

So I am Armchairin’ it this year. For those of you whom I have yet to meet…my name is Courtney. I am a former librarian turned book reviewer and freelance writer. But those things come second to me real job as a SAHM to the cutest little man you’ll every meet. I have a two year old- so life and reading can be hectic but I somehow make it work. Stiletto Storytime will celebrate it’s fifth birthday in December.

I review and write about just about all age levels and genres. As a librarian I find that I just can’t choose one area. I love getting books into people’s hands so I try to host lots of giveaways and love working personally with authors, publishers and publicists. My other big interests here at Stiletto Storytime are classic and young adult literature and of course Jane Austen. (Did I mention I am a Janeite?) Oh and I love shoes…can you tell?

So welcome to Stiletto Storytime and to Armchair BEA 2011. Let’s have some bookish fun!

My Armchair

21 Comments

Filed under Book Blogs, Events

21 responses to “Welcome to Armchair BEA at Stiletto Storytime

  1. Hi! so nice to see twitter friends at Armchair BEA – going to pop over and check out your review of Room which is on the toberead list!
    (@occasionallyzen)

    • stilettostorytime

      I completely recommend it! I think it’s one of those books that you simply HAVE to read or it’s well on the way to that type of reputation. Have a great BEA…off to visit you!

  2. I can’t be at BEA the whole week so I’ll be partially armchairing it.

    In your case, armchairing BEA is perfectly understandable. A trip of a lifetime to England or a second trip to a place you’ve already been to attend a shown you’ve already attended?

    No brainer!

    First time visitor now a follower.

    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  3. Oh, that armchair looks MUCH comfier than the chair I am sitting in right now. Lovely! The Dirty Thirty Tour of the United Kingdom sounds like such a fun trip! I am so excited for you, I am sure you will have a fabulous time.

  4. Oh wow, I love the sound of your “The Dirty Thirty Tour of the United Kingdom”! I’m hoping for a book related trip every other year, we’ll see how it works out. BEA/Book Blogger Con last year was certainly fun! I’m just happy to have Armchair BEA this year.

  5. That’s a trip I’d love to take! I’d add a few days in Yorkshire to visit Bronte country though. Welcome to Armchair BEA!

  6. Your trip sounds amazing! Will you be blogging during your journey? I would love to read about it!

    Here is my intro post!

  7. I am envious that you’re going to England! I would say it’s a good trade off.

  8. Have a safe trip to England. And I love the stilettos. Nice background photo. Added you to my Rss feed. Hope to stay connected.

  9. hello, your blog reminds me of another titled Reading N Stilettos. I’m not quite a jane A. reader but that definite is a great trade. funny, i too have that same deal. one literacy event a year unrelated to my social literary events. planning a over night boat trip this year on a house boat. oh yeah!!!

  10. Hi, Courtney ! I love, love, love your blog title! How fun. Congrats on turning thirty, being a mom and your upcoming trip – love the name of that, too!

    Enjoy your week of BEA madness from your Armchair ~

    Tiffany James
    Armchair Heroines

  11. I’d take a UK trip over BEA any day. Sounds so fun!

    Glad to have found your fun blog. I’ll be back often.

  12. I’m currently in library school. Unless I’m ill or traveling (and don’t have access to the internet), I post a review each and every day. Come learn more about me and my blog.

    • stilettostorytime

      Oh Pussreboots….I have seen you around Twitter forever and have visited a few times. I did not know you are in library school….have a great time. I really enjoyed it. What field are you leaning towards?

  13. Wow – have fun on the trip! I am going to Europe this summer too (my husband is turning 30 – I have a couple years) which is why I’m sitting this year out.

    Have fun this week!

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks Michelle….we will be going in November for my birthday! Have a great time….I think we will be rewarded for our BEA sacrifice!

  14. Lucky girl!! Sounds like an amazing trip you have planned. I’ll try not to shoot evil laser daggers of envy at you with my eyes😉

  15. A Jane Austen Tour of the UK sounds absolutely fabulous – an amazing way to celebrate your 30th. Mine is coming up in a few weeks… ahhhhh!!!! Yes, let’s not mention that! Thanks for stopping by my blog today. Have a great week🙂

  16. A lot of my fellow bloggers are at BEA and I am so jealous. I so wish I could go. I cannot swing going to NYC though. It they would just bring it to Chicago ONCE I would def go. I was CRUSHED because someone told me that it was in chicago next year. I actually cried! So I am arm chairing it with you and mourning my loss of meeting some GREAT authors. *grabs tissues*

Let's Talk....

