Beach Bound Books Giveaway

There is something about going to the beach in the summer that makes you need to find the perfect book to take along with you as you walk into the sand….and there’s something about summer when you’re a teen that makes the beach and that perfect summer romance seem only a breath away. And so two perfect books for this summer’s reading are no doubt: Moonglass by Jessi Kirby and We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han. Read below to see if one might be the summer “it” book for you and enter for a chance to win both.

Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

When Anna was little, she and her mother used to search for sea glass, but since they looked at night, they called it moonglass.

 Now, ten years after her mother’s mysterious death, her father is working as head lifeguard on the same beach where her mother grew up and her parents first met and fell in love. Reluctant to get close to anyone (including her father) and not pleased about having to start at a new school, Anna begins to spend more time alone, running the length of the beach and wondering about who her mother really was. After meeting a lifeguard named Tyler, she slowly lets her guard down and together they start exploring the abandoned houses that dot the beach.

 But when learning more about her mother’s past leads to a painful discovery, Anna must reconcile her desire for solitude with ultimately accepting the love of her family and friends. Moonglass is a dazzling debut from an undeniable talent.”

We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han

“Jenny Han’s bestselling trilogy, which includes The Summer I Turned Pretty and It’s Not Summer Without You, concludes with an impossible choice in We’ll Always Have Summer.

Belly has only ever been in love with two boys, both with the last name Fisher. And after being with Jeremiah for the last two years, she’s almost positive he is her soul mate. Almost. Conrad has not gotten over the mistake he made when he let Belly go even as Jeremiah has always known that Belly is the girl for him. So when Belly and Jeremiah decide to make things forever, Conrad realizes that it’s now or never–tell Belly he loves her, or lose her for good. Belly will have to confront her feelings for Jeremiah and Conrad and face a truth she has possibly always known: she will have to break one of their hearts.”

Beach Bound Books Giveaway

One very lucky Stiletto Storytime reader is going to win a copy of both these great books nestled together inside a great beach tote…what a way to start off the summer! Wanna be that winner? To enter simply leave a comment below sharing your favorite “summer reads” of the past. Is there one that really sticks out for you? I would love some new titles for my summer reading list.

Giveaway ends midnight EST May 30, 2011. US and Canada addresses only please. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

sea shell divider

56 Comments

Filed under Books for Girls, Contests, New Books, Reading Fun, Young Adult Books

56 responses to “Beach Bound Books Giveaway

  1. I follow you on FB and Twitter (Mindy J and fangedmom73)

    I WOULD love to win Moonglass. Sounds like a beautiful book to read. I don’t know if I really have a favorite Summer reading. I read all year long so Summer is not that different for me. Do I have a huge pile of books to read this summer, HECK YEAH and I am so glad about it.

    Thank you for the chance to win!
    Mindy
    boo2bosh(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Colleen Turner

    There is nothing better than laying on the beach with a great book in your hand! I live in Florida so it is a particular favorite of mine🙂. Some of my most favorite beach reads would be The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen, anything by Jodi Picoult and the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella!

  3. Colleen Turner

    I am an email subscriber and follower of your blog (Colleen Turner).

  4. I love all the Jen Lancaster books – they are great easy summer reads.
    I am a follower of the blog.

  5. Ahhh, thanks for this amazingly generous giveaway. I mean, one reads all the time, but the sunshine and the incessant urge to read with your toes in the sand all make Summer the PERFECT season to get lost in a book. I have a HUGE list for you, so bear with me. I cannot guarantee that I read all these on a beach,or even in the summer, but I think they’d make for great beach reads:

    1) Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews – Set to debut soon on June 7th,I found this book to be a great summery read full of great characters, exploring different angles on life, friendship, romance and a little bit of mystery & intrigue.

    2) The Forty Rules of Love: A Novel of Rumi by Elif Shafak -If you’re someone who enjoys philosophy or poetry (or someone like me who enjoys both), this book is sure to find it’s way into your heart. Full of lilting prose, romance; it is a novel of growth, lessons learned in life, love and self-discovery. A MUST-READ!

    3) The Help by Kathryn Stockett – This book was a delight to read. Although it deals with race-relations, racism etc – to me, the book really speaks mostly about the dynamics between women. How the maid-mistress relationship is more friendship based than one would think. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down.

    4) The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd – By the same author who wrote “The Secret Life of Bees”, this book kept the reader guessing as to what would happen, all the while you felt like you were yourself vacationing/living life on the shores of some Southern island with the characters.

    5) The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows – This book takes place mostly in the form of correspondence, which is a mode of writing I really love. Plus, situated mostly on Guernsey from amongst the Channel Islands, this literary society is sure to touch your heart, give you hope, inspire you, leave you in awe at the strength and goodness of some people, and our whimsical heroine Juliet will steal your heart.

    6) Under The Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes – The movie may have made it seem like a frivolous self-pitying excursion, but the book has more substance. It just chronicles the struggles of one woman, from day to day, to rebuild herself.

    7) Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys – You know what great authors do? Continue in the legacy of other great authors creating legacies of their own. This is one such book. Written almost as a prequel to Charlotte Bronte’s “Jane Eyre”, Jean Rhys basically answered the mystery of the first wife of Mr. Rochester. Set in the beautiful West Indies, this book is SURE to suck you right into the story, making you feel like you’re experiencing the culture and natural beauty of the island!

    8) Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami – This wonderful novel is like being in a dream-like state, as it switches between the sleeping and waking world. An immensely interesting novel, this book has characters that you’ll remember long after you’re done with the book itself.

    9) Nevet Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro – This book is a GEM as it comes to characterization, unbelievably poignant in its depiction, and explores the intricacies of friendships and relationships very well. You’ll be pining away to find out what really lies behind Hailsham’s nurturing facade!

    10) The Sex Lives of Cannibals: Adrift in the Equatorial Pacific
    by J. Maarten Troost – Maarten Troost moves to a Pacific Island in Kiribati, and realizes what you imagine living on an island is like, is not how it really is. This book is hilarious, and I mentioned it towards the end, not because it is my least favorite, but because it was (to me) the most humor filled, and oddly the most memorable as a book I ACTUALLY read on the beach.

    11) The Bird Sisters by Rebecca Rasmussen – I recently read this book, and although it is not necessarily a beach read, it is a beautiful book telling an incredibly touching, heart-rending story. A must-read, in my opinion. One of the BEST of this year.

    Also, I would recommend ANYTHING by Jodi Picoult, her books are always memorable, although they really make you think. Also, as for me, I’m really looking forward to: “The Violets of March” by Sarah Jio, “The Swimming Pool” by Holly LeCraw, “The Little Women Letters” by Gabrielle Donnelly, “The Midwife’s Confession” by Diane Chamberlaine, and “The Lake” by Banana Yoshimoto. Hope the list helps…Have an AWESOME summer!😀

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

    • stilettostorytime

      WOW- Thanks for all the recommendations Hira!

      • You are very, very welcome. I just hope that they were useful. I am sure you could find their summaries on Goodreads or Amazon – I just thought I ought to give you reasons why I thought they’d make good reads! Books are SO exciting to me, even making lists and preparing to read them is exciting – I know, big bookworm here *facepalm*. Enjoy…and let me know what you think if you decide to read any of them!🙂

  6. I’m a confirmed email subscriber/follower of Stiletto Storytime.

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

  7. I’m a Twitter follower of Stiletto Storytime.

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

  8. Mona Garg

    Thanks for the great giveaway🙂
    I read all year round and the genre tends to change according to my mood rather than the season.

    Some of Danielle Steel’s latest stick out for me:
    . MATTERS OF THE HEART
    . BIG GIRL

  9. Mona Garg

    Email subscriber

  10. Mona Garg

    Twitter follower(@Kulmona)

  11. Hi There,
    You know I am having a hard time coming up with just one book to recommend…I have read so many…but I do remember saving Isle Of Palms by Dorothea Benton Frank to read while I was visiting that area and that made the book very special indeed! Pinkim fromTrulySimplyPink

  12. I am a follower, I subscribe…Pinkim from TrulySimplyPink

  13. I also follow you on twitter under the name Pinkim95

  14. The Thorn Birds by Colleen MacCullough.

  15. Alicia Caldwell

    I don’t specifically remember a book I’ve read during the summer, but I did read one this past winter that would be a great beach read. The Duff by Kody Keplinger.

    I am a Stilletto email subscriber and Twitter follower.

  16. I am an email subscriber and twitter follower.

    The “beach read” that really sticks with me almost ten years after reading it is Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews (which was also the first chick lit I have ever read).

    rickimc[at]aol[dot]com

  17. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh. This novel has many scenes on and around the beach and I highly recommend it! Brideshead is one of my favorite all-time books!

  18. Awesome giveaway! These books sound fantastic. Thanks so much!

  19. I’m a Twitter follower:

    @ReadingFever

  20. 1.Girl with a Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
    2. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
    3.The Bone Collector by Jeffery Deaver
    4.And then there were none by Agatha Christie

    I follow on twitter and this blog

    • stilettostorytime

      Sheilagh- I completely adore “Rebecca” and fully intend on working it into my summer reading this year! I also LOVE to read “Valley of the Dolls” in the summer as well. Great choices.

  21. jwitt33

    Okay, this is going to sound really strange, but my favorite memory is visiting family in Virginia Beach when I was young and borrowing my cousin’s book The Stand, by Stephen King! We used to scare each other reading out loud and while it is not a typical summer read, it is my best summer read memory, so dang it all, I’m adding it to your list! lol Thanks for yet another great giveaway🙂
    jwitt33@live.com
    Julie Witt

  22. jwitt33

    I forgot: I follow you by email and twitter🙂
    jwitt33@live.com
    Julie Witt

  23. tracy

    Thanks for the giveaway, love jenny han so muchh, so i’d say the summer trilogy is my fav summer read.

    • stilettostorytime

      Tracy- I really like Jenny Han as well…have you read “Shug”. I loved it and the audiobook version is great!

  24. Definitely anything from Sarah Dessen
    Thanks!
    mcrs_venin(at)hotmail(dot)com

  25. Brittany Gale

    My favourite summer read has been the same since high school. Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  26. Brittany Gale

    I follow via RSS and E-mail subscription

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  27. Brittany Gale

    I follow via Twitter
    @quixoticweetzie

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  28. Great giveaway, I follower on Twitter.

    Fav summer read would have to be anything by Janet Evonovich, her books are so light and fun and great fast reads.

  29. joleneallcock

    Great giveaway and thanks for the chance to win. I tend to read a lot more durning the summer than I do any other time of the year since I have more free time on my hands without having to drive the kids to and from school and they sleep in which leaves me an extra hour of book time in the morning. Some memorable books I found last summer were Janet Evanovich Stephanie Plum series and that’s all that is standing out in my mind. I remember I read a lot, I’d have to go back and look them up. OOOOhhh, I also discovered the Bobbie Faye series by Toni Mcgee Causey, love love love those books!!!!

    Follower
    follower on twitter-@joleneallcock

    june111(at)att(dot)net

  30. I generally read more chick lit books during the summer. A few favorites are: Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah, The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen, Get Lucky by Katherine Center, and both Something Borrowed and Something Blue by Emily Giffin (actually all of her novels!). Meg Cabot also comes to mind – The Princess Diaries and series, The Boy series and Queen of Babble trilogy. This summer I think I’m going to mix it up by reading more cozy mysteries. I discovered A LOT of new series and I’m anxious to read them.

    I follow you on Twitter and subscribe to your blog via Google Reader. Thanks for the giveaway!

  31. stilettostorytime

    Shonda- You just mentioned some of my fav reads…Have you read “Insatiable” by Meg Cabot? Check out my review…it would be a fun summer read!

  32. Amanda M.

    Sarah Dessen’s books come to mind…
    also, I am a gfc follower:)
    amercnchic[at]aol[dot]com
    thanks!

  33. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen.

    marynellie8 at yahoo dot com

  34. Michelle C

    I’ve always enjoyed Jennifer Weiner’s books… Thanks for the chance to win!
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  35. Michelle C

    Following you on twitter as mrsmchappell
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  36. Michelle C

    Subscribed via RSS feed {Google Reader}.
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  37. I am a twitter follower as @MPTsCityofBooks

    My favourite summer read would be The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han:)

    goldie-mail(AT)web(DOT)de

  38. Jenn D

    The time traveler’s wife is a great one as well as the Stephanie Plum mysteries which are always great fun reads and seem like they would be perfect to read on a beach although I have not read them there.

  39. One of my favorite summer reads was when I got started with the Dark Hunter books by Sherrilyn Kenyon at the beginning of one summer. I loved Fantasy Love and Night Pleasures!

    crystalfulcher(at)ec.rr.com

  40. Jo

    Sarah Dessen books have always been lighthearted and enjoyable🙂

    jo.tee35 AT gmail DOT com

  41. My fave summer reads have been: Summer Boys by Hailey Abbott, Sarah Dessen novels, Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, Jenny Han’s Summer series, She’s So Dead to Us by Kieran Scott series, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series. I love summer reads! They are so magical. Especially beach reads.

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    I follow on twitter too. (@teenbookguide)

    teenbookguide@hotmail.com

  42. Kris

    My favorite summer reads have been books by Tamora Pierce and Sarah Dessen🙂

    Kris
    elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

  43. Kris

    Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime: email subscribe with email below

    Kris
    elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

  44. Kris

    Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter: SummersKris

    Kris
    elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

  45. latisha depoortere

    Thank you so much for the great giveaway! I read all the time don’t no any summer reads really. I read my favorites I love Richelle Meads books her Vampire Academy is my favorite! Im reading Angelfire now and love it🙂
    Im a GFC follower/latishajean
    Im s Twitter follower/latishajean
    tishajean@ charter.net

  46. stilettostorytime

    And it’s that time again….time to announce the winner of a tote of books perfect for summer…and the winner is Shonda of “Me, My Book and the Couch”! Congrats Shonda! And to everyone thanks for entering and visiting Stiletto Storytime!

  47. brendajean

    I have loved Entwined by Heather Dixon and My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison.
    I am a follower:)

    bchild5(at)aol(dot)com

Let's Talk....

