Book Birthday: Skipping a Beat by Sarah Pekkanen

Welcome to my very first “Book Birthday” here at Stiletto Storytime. This is the beginning of what I hope to be a regular event in which I will spotlight a new release on it’s publication date or “Book Birthday”.  Each “Book Birthday” will also include my honest review of the book and a chance to win a copy of the new release. Sound good? Well without further ado…here is our first “Book Birthday” on Stiletto Storytime….

Happy Book Birthday to Sarah Pekkanen’s Skipping a Beat!

Not many individuals get a second chance at life. Julia Dunhill is thankful when her husband survives a very close brush with death but as life after the incident continues she soon finds her marriage may never be the same.

While Julia and Michael have been together for years recently their marriage has begun to change in ways neither could ever have predicted. It seems as their star was rising financially and socially, their relationship was deteriorating before their very eyes. When Julie looks around she sees all the trappings of wealth and luxury that Michael’s multi-million dollar beverage company have afforded them but she also sees very little of her husband. In the last few years they have grown apart as business and everyday demands became the focus of their days. But all this changes dramatically when Michael suffers cardiac arrest in the middle of a board meeting and sees a glimpse of the other side.

The recovered Michael is a new man. A man who wants to give away his fortune, their home and all the things he worked so tirelessly for.  While appreciative her husband survived, Julie cannot imagine what could make him take such drastic measures. How will they live if Michael gives away their home and all their savings? What will they do with themselves at this point in their lives if they must start from scratch? Beyond the financial situation Julia must also finally be honest and admit that perhaps their marriage was over long ago.

In a work that mirrors real life in its complexity and scope, Skipping a Beat is novel of mesmerizing quality and unique depth rarely seen in modern commercial fiction.  Exploring friendship, marriage and the multitude of emotions individuals in relationships experience as they travel the road of life together, Pekkanen creates characters that connect with readers beyond the page. The intensity of the characters in Skipping a Beat and engaging plot speak to Pekkanen’s growth as a writer since her debut novel: The Opposite of Me. Fans of the writer and new readers alike will find themselves entranced by this latest work and waiting eagerly for the next.

Book Giveaway

Thanks to the always generous Sarah Pekkanen one lucky reader of Stiletto Storytime will win their very own copy of Skipping a Beat. Giveaway ends midnight EST March 1, 2011. US and Canada address only please. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply leave a comment below letting my know what “Book Birthday” you are looking forward to in the near future. What new release are you eagerly anticipating? Any pre-order worthy books coming up for you?

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower Author Sarah Pekkanen on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this “Book Birthday” Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

34 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Book Birthday, Chick Lit, Contests, New Books

34 responses to “Book Birthday: Skipping a Beat by Sarah Pekkanen

  1. rhonda

    what fun,please enter my name!!

  2. Sounds like a terrific book! Sign me up!

  3. Mona Garg

    I am eagerly looking forward to SING YOU HOME by Jodie Picoult, one of my favorite authors.

  4. Mona Garg

    Email subscriber

  5. Mona Garg

    Twitter follower of Stiletto(@Kulmona)

  6. Mona Garg

    Twitter follower of Sarah(@Kulmona)

  7. KellyL

    This book sounds wonderful! I can’t wait to read it. I am also eagerly awaiting the newest Ellery Adams’ release… A Killer Cliche’!

  8. Would love to win this!!!
    I follow your blog by email and
    follow you
    and Sarah on Twitter.

    I am waiting for the book TOYS to be released by James Patterson!

    Great idea about Birthday will tweet about it now!!

    Dollycas
    dollycas79 at gmail dot com

  9. ehsquared

    This sounds amazing! I am really looking forward to Two Kisses for Maddy: A Memior of Loss & Love by Matthew Logelin. I have been reading his blog forever, and am definitely ready to read the book.

  10. I haven’t heard of this author or either of these books. Sometimes when a love disappears, the marriage can be endured if there are comforts of money, but take that out of the equation and . . .

  11. I’ve heard a lot about this book and would love to enter. I follow you on Twitter as well.

    Thank you!

  12. I am an email subscriber to your blog.

    I follow Stiletto Storytime on twitter @Bookworm_Lisa
    I follow Sara on twitter as well.

    I am looking forward to “Awaken” by Katie Kacvinksky coming out in May 2011

  13. I’m eager for What happened to goodbye by Sarah Dessen to be released.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  14. I loved this book too and cried a couple times as I read it. No need to enter me.

    • stilettostorytime

      Wasn’t it great? I have yet to find a book blogger who has read it and not enjoyed it! I may have had a few tears as well.😉

  15. I’m looking forward to “Best Staged Plans” by Claire Cook, due out in June.

    I follow Stiletto Storytime via email

    I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter: bfaos

    I follow Author Sarah Pekkanen on Twitter: bfaos

    Tweet:
    http://twitter.com/#!/bfaos/status/40167845845413888

    ellie.bfaos(@)gmail(.)com

  16. debbie

    I am looking forward to starting early, took my dog coming out next month.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  17. I love the idea of this feature!

    I would love to win Skipping a Beat. I am a subscriber of Stiletto Storytime and follower (@booksnyc) on Twitter. I also follow Sarah Pekkanen on twitter.

    Thanks again for hosting this giveaway! Booksncity (at) gmail (dot) com

  18. YWLiang

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    I’m eagerly waiting for Maggie Stiefvater’s Forever coming out in July!🙂

    Email: yiliang0124[at]hotmail.com

  19. YWLiang

    I follow Stiletto Storytime (email subscriber)!

    Email: yiliang0124[at]hotmail.com

  20. YWLiang

    I’m a follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (YWenLiang)!

    Email: yiliang0124[at]hotmail.com

  21. YWLiang

    I’m a follower of Author Sarah Pekkanen on Twitter (YWenLiang)!

    Email: yiliang0124[at]hotmail.com

  22. I’d love to win this book! I’m now an RSS subscriber of your blog, I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter, and I also follow Sarah Pekkanen on Twitter.

    My email address is aj2185@gmail.com

    I’m looking forward to Brunonia Barry’s third novel (untitled?) She mentions it here: http://writerunboxed.com/2011/02/10/writing-the-question/#more-7263

  23. I would love to win Skipping A Beat, thanks! for the giveaway.

  24. Alicia Caldwell

    Ooo, Looks like a great book.

    I am a blog follower, twitter follower of Stiletto as well as author Sarah.

    I tweeted about it here: http://twitter.com/#!/aliciacald

  25. I am looking forward to The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss.

    I am a blog follower via email, and a twitter follower of Stiletto and Sarah Pekkanen.

    Thanks for the chance to win Skipping A Beat.

  26. I am a follower of this blog and follow both of you on twitter. Really looking forward to reading the third book in The Summer I Turned Pretty Series by Jenny Han titled We’ll Always Have Summer!

  27. Thank you again for this wonderful review! xoxo

  28. ehsquared

    I am a follower of your blog through Google Reader!

  29. I am currently following you and Sarah on twitter (neri0724). I love these kind of books because they are so realistic and deal with everyday issues. I would love to read this book. I am anxiously waiting the release of My one and only by Kristan Higgins.

    Neri0724@gmail.com

  30. stilettostorytime

    A very big congratulations to Mona Garg! Winner of her very own copy of “Skipping a Beat”. Please check back for more Book Birthdays and Good Luck in the future. Happy Reading from Stiletto Storytime.

  31. Congrats Mona – and thank you everyone for commenting and following! xo, Sarah

  32. Sounds fantastic. I can not wait to read my copy! Great review🙂
    (not an entry)

Let's Talk....

