Review & Giveaway: Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg

“Lizzie Bennet, who attends Longbourn Academy on scholarship, isn’t exactly interested in designer dresses and expensive shoes, but her best friend, Jane, might be—especially now that Charles Bingley is back from a semester in London. Lizzie is happy about her friend’s burgeoning romance, but less than impressed by Will Darcy, a pompous jerk who looks down on the middle class. So imagine Lizzie’s surprise when Will asks her to the prom! Will Lizzie’s pride and Will’s prejudice keep them apart? Or are they a prom couple in the making? From Elizabeth Eulberg comes a very funny, completely stylish prom season delight of Jane Austen proportions.”

Confession: I’m slightly finicky about my Austen-inspired books. I adore that they represent new windows into experiencing Jane Austen again and again but I get dare I say…protective of her at times. A work or series too racy (Miss. Austen would blush profusely over many) or deviating vastly from Austen’s characterization means I’m usually not going to enjoy it. However I’ve noticed the odes to Austen that I like the most seem to take a general Jane Austen related theme (be it a particular book, character or even the author herself) and make them over into something modern, inventive or even sometimes fantastical. I have my personal favorites but I have to admit it takes a keen eye and a good grasp of Jane Austen in an Austenish work for me to even get a few chapters in.

Prom and Prejudice is one that I not only got into but I simply could not put it down. I believe I finished the book in the span of a few hours. It’s the perfect modern young adult book to excite readers with fun and readable literature while also drawing on a true masterpiece. One of my favorite attributes of this book in particular is the care given to the somewhat lesser known figures such as Charles Bingley, Carolina Bingley, Lydia Bennet and the wicked Wickham. Eulberg works them seamlessly into her work in a novel based on modern day and yet they remain completely recognizable and often quite hilarious. Readers of Austen will enjoy making connections in all of the ways both big and small that Eulberg draws on Pride and Prejudice to create Prom and Prejudice but the book is also great because it can stand on it’s own as well drawing in teen readers who might have never known Darcy otherwise. And what is life without Darcy worth anyway?

Think you might like Prom and Prejudice? Check out the Book Trailer or learn more about author Elizabeth Eulberg.

Book Giveaway

Two lucky Stiletto Storytime readers will receive their own copy of Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg to enjoy. It’s perfect to enjoy yourself or give to that young adult in your life who you just know will love it. To enter simply leave a comment below sharing your favorite Jane Austen related/inspired book or if you have never read one tell us why you would like to give this one a try. US/Canada addresses only please. Giveaway ends at midnight on January 25, 2011. Good luck and happy reading to all.

36 Comments

Filed under Books for Girls, Contests, Girly Books, Jane Austen, Young Adult Books

36 responses to “Review & Giveaway: Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg

  1. My favorite Jane Austen book is Pride and Prejudice – Also love Emma and S&S!
    Thanks for the chance!

  2. I haven’t read any yet but I have Jane by April Lindner on my shelf and from everything that I have read about it, I think its going to be a favorite!

    Katie

  3. I haven’t read a Jane Austen inspired book yet, but I’ve heard great things about this one. My favorite Jane Austen book is Sense and Sensibility.

  4. Of course I love Pride and Prejudice like every other girl out there. Mr. Darcy is the Mac Daddy of sexy book boys!🙂

    Thanks for doing the giveaway!

  5. Tressa

    I’ve loved every Austen book I’ve read. I’ve read one inspired by her and didn’t like it (too racy and didn’t have the Austen conversation), but I did like Austenland by Shannon Hale, even though it is totally not serious – it was a fun read and perfect for me when I needed romance in my life due to never seeing my husband while he was working full-time and in law school.

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review & Giveaway: Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg | Stiletto Storytime -- Topsy.com

  7. Germaine Dulac

    I love Pride and Prejudice, of course, but it’s not my favorite of Jane Austen’s novels. That would be Persuasion, which is just so awesome every time I read it. I adore Darcy, but Frederick Wentworth is my true love! And Ann Elliott is such a great heroine–older, more mature, less concerned with what her family thinks. Ah, I want to go re-read it right now!! Or maybe just watch the movie again. 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  8. My favorite has always been Pride & Prejudice

  9. Kate Hensel

    I haven’t read an inspired book yet, but I love Pride and Prejudice. It would be cool to see the characters set into contemporary society.

  10. Ricki

    I have so far only read comic book and zombie forms of Austen, although I just started the real Pride & Prejudice. However, my favorite Austen-inspired pair of books are Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict by Laura Viera Rigler.
    rickimc[at]aol[dot]com

  11. Pingback: Divirama | Best Dictionary Shop

  12. Alicia

    I loved Pride and Prejudice, so can’t wait to read Prom and Prejudice. And as for Jane Austen inspired books…aren’t they are inspired in some way by Jane Austen? I mean she’s what we all started reading, it seems. So I can’t really say what my favorite one is, since I love all books.

    aliciacald (at) gmail (dot) com

  13. I think my favorite Jane Austen inspired book is Pemberley Ranch by Jack Caldwell. Elizabeth and Darcy are transported to Post Civil War Texas in this one…

    Please enter me in the giveaway.

    justpeachy36@yahoo.com

  14. I read Pride & Prejudice many many years ago so I think I would need to read it again to give you a favorite on it. Apparently my Jane Austen is a little rusty. I have heard so many great things about this book! I would love to win it! Thanks!!!

  15. Chelsea B.

    This sounds so cute. And my favorite is Conquering Mr. Darcy by Abigail Reynolds.

  16. So far my favorite JA related is the P&P Zombies prequel, Dawn of The Dreadfuls

  17. Thank you for the opportunity to win this! My favorite adaption of one of Jane Austen’s novels is Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it; it places a unique twist on Pride and Prejudice, full of romance and wackiness and humor.

  18. I loved Pride and Prejudice, so can’t wait to read Prom and Prejudice. I actually started reading Jane Austen book because of school. so yay for a class that had a book i enjoyed reading🙂

  19. Rahchelle

    I would love to give this book a try because i haven’t attended my prom, so I really like to read how prom life for others to be like. I also liked Pride and Prejudice to thats why.

  20. I have never read a Jane Austen book (HORROR OF ALL HORRORS I KNOW!) lol – I have been wanting to read JANE that was released in 2010! Thanks for this giveaway!

    TaraTagli at gmail dot com

  21. samantha morrison

    Have not read any Jane inspired books yet
    great giveaway
    follow via gfc
    drakebdog@gmail.com

  22. Saba M.

    My favorite has to be Pride & Prejudice! I love me some Mr. Darcy (:
    I can’t wait to read this book!
    Thanks a lot!

    vokalchick@gmail.com

  23. Jane inspired! – i would love to read it.. Pride and Prejudice was one of the few Jane Austen novels I never got around to reading(surprising! since I did read Northanger Abbey as well!) – so maybe can read both Pride and Prejudice and this book together..

  24. Eli

    I’ve read all of Austen’s original works, and quite a few “add-ons” and reinterpretations. My favorite has to be According To Jane by Marilyn Brant.

    The ghost of Jane Austen helps the protagonist through life and love. It’s a very cute YA book!

    Prom and Prejudice looks just as cute, and I’m excited to have the opportunity to win!

    eliweibley(at)gmail(dot)com

  25. I have never read any of her books, but I love historicals especially those featuring strong women
    tbarrettno1 at gmail dot com

  26. My favorite Jane Austen inspired book so far is Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict. Loved the traveling back to the era.
    Thanks for a cool giveaway! I am a Jane Austen fan and am looking forward to reading this novel!

  27. I’ve read a few Austen-inspired books – loved The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, and A Walk with Jane Austen. Of the originals, I do love Pride & Prejudice. Thanks for the chance to win!

  28. I liked The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler because it introduced me to so many Jane Austen books and reminded me of others. Reading through the list of entries, I am surprised at all the Jane Austen inspired books that exist. Must add them ALL to my TBR list. But, I’d love to read Prom and Prejudice along with my teenagers as their prom is just around the corner!

  29. Lacey Hittle

    I haven’t ever read a Jane Austen inspired book, but I would love to try one. I like to read anything and jane Austen is a classic author. It’d be great to see how someone could “twist” a classic to make it their own.

  30. Carla

    I have not read any of her books. But I have heard she is a great Author and would love to start reading her stuff…

  31. So difficult to choose a favorite Jane Austen, but Emma was the first so it will always hold a special place in my heart.

    Thanks for the great contest!

  32. I have not read anything by Jane Austen. I know. Horrbile! I have watched the movies though, does that count?! I think I’d like to start with Northanger Abbey – sounds creepy, yet delightful!

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway🙂
    greadsbooks(at)gmail(dot)com

  33. I’ve read pretty much everything that Jane Austen has written. I love quite a few of them. My favorite would probably be Sense and Sensability, though. But Pride and Pred. is a close second.

  34. Kathy

    I love Emma! One of my most fav books. :]

  35. Carolyn

    I just found an old copy of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility publish dated 1957. It’s in great shape, no torn pages or damage…just the musty smell that always adds to my enjoyment of reading an old classic. It also came with a hard cover to keep it safe from wear and tear but the spine is left open so you can place it on a bookshelf for easy browsing. Since I’ve never read anything from Jane Austen, I’m anxious to carve out some time to do so with the treasure I have found. I am in the process of adding used books to my backyard beauty shop. I would love to add a copy of (and share and read as well)Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg to sit next to Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility copy. I will not sell or share my treasured Jane Austen 1957 copy but do want to share Prom and Prejudice to my teen clients…and save a copy for my daughter as well.

  36. stilettostorytime

    Congrats to Brianna Bruce & Mindy Fangedmom…they have both won copies of “Prom and Prejudice”! Winners were chosen by random number generator. Thanks to everyone for entering and make sure to check back for my giveaways at Stiletto Storytime. Congrats again to the winners and Happy Reading!

Let's Talk....

