Review & Giveaway: Babyberry Pie by Heather Vogel Frederick

https://i1.wp.com/www.ci.oswego.or.us/library/youth/literacy/images/babyberrypie.gif “Take one wiggly baby, scrubbed clean. Add sugar to his nose and toes. Tuck him into a warm pie crust. Don’t forget a kiss good night! That’s the perfect recipe for a babyberry pie- and a peaceful bedtime. (Just don’t let that little giggleberry wiggle away!)”

Babyberry Pie is a delightful picture book that’s just perfect as that special way to help say goodnight. A playful rhyme to share one-on-one with your little one or to read aloud to a group, it’s lullaby rhythm makes it a winner either way.  As we ready baby for bed…we go through the normal motions of bath time and tucking in…however we are also making baby into a pie. This tale pairs a sweet rhyme with perfectly matched illustrations from Amy Schwartz to create a great bedtime read. While my little man does not sit still for much, he did sit still through all of Babyberry Pie. He especially enjoyed the part where baby gets sugared from his head to his toes!

As a librarian I can’t help but think about what a great addition this book would be to any storytime collection. Perfect for a “bedtime” themed storytime or even lap sit. The easy rhythm and theme will make it a much used treasure.

Also remember to keep a watch out for Hide and Squeak coming in February of 2011 from Heather Vogel Frederick and C.F. Payne.

Book Giveaway

One lucky Stiletto Storytime reader will receive their own copy of Babyberry Pie from the delightful Heather Vogel Frederick herself. To enter simply leave a comment below sharing your favorite bedtime picture book. US/Canada addresses only. Giveaway ends at midnight on January 5, 2011. Good luck and happy reading to all.

13 Comments

Filed under Children's Literature, Children's Picture Books, Heather Vogel Frederick, New Books

13 responses to “Review & Giveaway: Babyberry Pie by Heather Vogel Frederick

  1. My favorite picture book with my first son was/is Head to Toe by Eric Carle. Brady loved mimicking each animal. We had to read it EVERY day/night. I’ve just started reading it to my second boy and he loves it too. Definitely going into the memory box if it doesn’t fall apart first.

    • stilettostorytime

      We love “Head to Toe” as well…it’s a book that just makes that connection with kids…they just love it.

  2. nik

    I love anything by Graeme Base…gorgeous illustrations! My current favorite is The Legend of the Golden Snail .

  3. Jan Sasser

    Each of my seven children had their own favorite books, but I must say that Bedtime for Frances was probably my favorite. I was motivating, too.🙂

  4. Renee Richardson

    My son and I love Firehouse by Mark Teague. Thanks for the great giveaway and Happy New Year🙂

    mrsjohnson1982 at yahoo dot com

  5. Tanya

    We love Goodnight Moon

  6. My niece’s sons would love this, thx for the give-a-way

  7. My favorite to read to my son is “I’ll love you forever” by Robert Munsch. Wonderful (and very true) pictures, and a great poem that is repeated through the book. Ill admit, I cried🙂

    (Missmarsee@gmail.com)

  8. Marci J

    Thanks for the chance! I have always loved The Little Engine that Could – such great pictures and story.

  9. stilettostorytime

    Christina- “I’ll love you forever” is a personal favorite…my mom read that to me and it is also the first book she bought my son.

  10. stilettostorytime

    Congratulations to….Cristina! She has just snagged a copy of “Babyberry Pie” from author Heather Vogel Frederick!

Let's Talk....

