Review & Giveaway: Pies & Prejudice by Heather Vogel Frederick

“Right before the start of their freshman year, the mother-daughter book club faces yet another challenge when Emma’s family unexpectedly moves to England. Leave it to the resourceful girls, however, to find a way to continue meeting and discuss a particularly fitting choice, Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

In England, Emma encounters a new queen bee, Annabelle, who sets out to make her life miserable. Back in Massachusetts, meanwhile, Annabelle’s cousins swap homes with Emma’s family and are causing some major distractions. Cassidy clashes with moody Tristan, a modern day Mr. Darcy, while her friends swoon over Tristan’s younger brother Simon. As the year progresses, the girls each discover new talents, and when they cook up a plan to bring Emma home for a visit by holding a bake sale, it grows into a thriving business, Pies & Prejudice. After their sweet scheme looks like it’s going to fall short, though, they’re left wondering if the club will ever all be together again.”

It’s no secret that the The Mother Daughter Book Club series is one of my favorites for girls and now for teens as well since the girls are growing up and so are their book selections.  Best of all they are finally discovering my favorite author: Jane Austen. From the very first book in the series, we saw Austen connections with Emma whose mother just happens to be an Jane Austen loving librarian. She even named her son Darcy (something I tried and my husband nixed by the way). So it was only a matter of time before the girls aged and encountered Jane among other things such as boys and the pressures of starting of high school.

In Pies & Prejudice we get all the things we love about the series and much much more. One of my favorite aspects of the books has always been the girls themselves. Each girl is so unique that almost any reader can identify and connect with a character on a personal level. As the girls have grown older, readers may find themselves connecting with another or multiple characters as well. No matter what there is a girl for each reader to find something in common with. With a great story, fantastic characters and the immersion into the true classic Pride and Prejudice, this book has become my favorite of the series so far. I loved how each chapter began with an Austen quote which connected with the upcoming happenings in that chapter. Austen lovers, teens and mothers will all enjoy this special book.  Read it with The Mother Daughter Book Club Series, read it as a stand alone or even read it along with Pride and Prejudice. No matter what you choose you’ll be glad you did. And don’t forget to share it with all the mothers and daughters in your life.

https://i0.wp.com/www.heathervogelfrederick.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/the-mother-daughter-book-club.jpg https://i1.wp.com/img1.fantasticfiction.co.uk/images/n62/n310829.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/static.letsbuyit.com/filer/images/uk/products/original/213/97/dear-pen-pal-mother-daughter-book-club-hardback-21397205.jpeg https://i0.wp.com/images.amazon.com/images/P/1416974318.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Series Giveaway

Thanks to the fantastic Heather Vogel Frederick two lucky winners will receive a copy of all four books in The Mother Daughter Book Club series by simply leaving a comment below sharing their favorite Austen themed book or series. Remember to leave your e-mail address. US/Canada addresses only. Giveaway ends on December 31, 2010. Merry Christmas & Good Luck to All from Heather Vogel Frederick and Stiletto Storytime.

 

 

 

 

24 Comments

Filed under Books for Girls, Children's Literature, Girly Books, Heather Vogel Frederick, Jane Austen, Middle Grade, New Books, Young Adult Books

24 responses to “Review & Giveaway: Pies & Prejudice by Heather Vogel Frederick

  1. Teresa Garrett

    While I am probably one of the few people, especially a librarian, who have not read any of Austen’s works. I do have a soft spot for the Mother Daughter Book club books. I read the first one and became inspired to revisit Little Women which I had read in elementary school. This lead to several of my students reading MDBC and Little Women. I never got to read the sequels because they stayed checked out and then I moved to my current school where they are not in my library. I would purchase them but funds for books have been frozen. So if I were to win these books first I would read all the ones I haven’t, second I would book talk them like crazy, third I would add the books to my library and fourth I would read all the books read by the girls in The Mother Daughter Book Club!

  2. I have been a Jane Austen fan for what seems like forever but at the very least has been 15 years. I love and collect so many Austen themed books that it’s hard to choose my absolute favorite…however, since the Bridget Jones introduced me to the world of Austen themed books, I will nominate those as my favorites. Others on the list include, Mr. Darcy, Vampyre and all of the Diary novels by Amanda Grange.
    There is probably nothing that I enjoy more than reading an Austen themed novel and whether or not I win these books, I will be adding them to my collection.

  3. Maureen

    I would pick According to Jane by Marilyn Brants
    mce1011 AT aol DOT com

  4. debbie

    I haven’t read any yet, but pride and prejudice and zombies is on my TBR list.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  5. Kelli

    What a neat series! I’d love to win this.
    I also like the Jane Austen Book Club. It was a fun read after my first time reading the classic “Persuasion”.

  6. Wanda

    Pride & Prejudice has always been a favourite of mine!
    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. Jodi

    Well, my favorite of the actual Austen books is P & P but for the “inspired by” books I like the Jane Austen Book Club

  8. I think my favorite Austen themed series is by Sharon Lathan. She does such a wonderful job of bringing Austen’s characters to life and letting us know what might have happened after…

    justpeachy36@yahoo.com

  9. Chelsea B.

    I’ve never read an Austen themed book but it looks like I need to! This series looks like lots of fun!

  10. I like the books by Laurie Viera Rigler Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict

  11. Pride @ Prejudice is my all time favorite, thanks!

  12. Jessica

    Ok please don’t thrown anything at me for this but I haven’t read a single Jane Austen novel. I really should do something about that though huh lol

  13. Susanna Pyatt

    I haven’t read many Jane Austen themed books, as I prefer the actual Austen books. That said, my favorite is “Northanger Abbey.” I LOVE gothic literature, and it’s satirizing it! What could be more fun?
    Austen-themed books: I really liked “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls.” It didn’t really have much to do with the actual “Pride and Prejudice,” but it was still hilarious!

  14. lavenderlines

    I love the original Pride and Prejudice, although I have several “Jane” books in my TBR pile including Pride and Prejudice and Zombie and Mr. Darcy Vampire.

    colleenmckie ((at) eastlink {dot}} ca

  15. Shannon Wieneke

    My favorite is Pride and Prejudice. I would love to win this!
    shannonforpeace(at)gmail.com

  16. nik

    The Mother Daughter Book Club series is such a great idea. I wish we’d had it growing up. Thanks for your great blog!

  17. Jan Sasser

    I LOVE Jane Austen! My favorite book is Pride and Prejudice starring Colin Firth. 🙂 Just as Clark Gable is Rhett Butler, Colin Firth is Fitzwilliam Darcy!
    I also want to publicly thank Heather for the MDBC series. My reluctant teen reader not only enjoys the series, but is reading the companion classics also. Yea, Heather!!

  18. Emma

    I love the 4th Mother-Daughter Book Club book, Pies and Prejudice. But Pride and Prejudice tops my list of fave Jane Austen books (or books relating to Jane Austen).

  19. Cortney

    I haven’t read many Jane Austen books, but I do love Emma.
    And this series sounds fabulous!
    Cortney
    CortneyJ143@hotmail.com

  20. Laura H.

    Thanks for the great giveaway! “Pride & Prejudice” is my favorite Jane Austen book.

    BornajhawkATaolDOTcom

  21. This sounds like a gem of a series. I’m a little sad that I missed the deadline to enter the giveaway. I guess I’ll have to get my hands on the book another way.

  22. stilettostorytime

    Congratulations to Aubrey of “Something that Says Something About Something” and Cortney as well! They have both won their very own collection of The Mother Daughter Book Club series from author Heather Vogel Frederick! Thanks to every one who entered and make sure to check out the series even if you did not win…it’s Austen fun not to be missed!

  23. Wow! What an awesome contest! i have always thought this series looks so good!!

    My favorite Austen themed book is Pemberley Ranch, it’s Pride and Prejudice set in post-civil war Texas! I also liked Enthusiasm if you’re in the mood for YA!

    Thank you for the contest!

Let's Talk....

