Review: Take a Chance on Me by Jill Mansell

https://i2.wp.com/img1.fantasticfiction.co.uk/images/n64/n320181.jpgEven in a small town the drama is larger than life…

“Cleo Quinn doesn’t have the greatest track record when it comes to men, but now Will’s come along. Handsome and attentive, he could be her Mr Right. Things are definitely looking up for Cleo… apart from one small problem with a rather large ego. Johnny LaVenture, sculptor extraordinaire and her personal childhood nemesis, is back in Channing’s Hill and tormenting her as if he’d never been away.

Meanwhile Cleo’s sister Abbie has a problem of her own-husband Tom has become distant and withdrawn, and she’s determined to find out why. But will the shocking truth mean the end of their idyllically happy marriage?

The sisters are about to discover that the past can come back to haunt you, and that love can flourish in the unlikeliest of places…”

I love British literature and I love chick lit. When the two come together I am a happy girl! Take a Chance on Me is the perfect combination…think a little Bridget Jones with the twist of some rather serious issues such as infertility, adultery and the never ending search for love (okay- so the last one can be some fun too). Cleo, our main character is an absolutely loveable protagonist who will make any reader root for her. In the end this becomes a book you simply cannot put down from beginning to end. This is my first Jill Mansell novel and have to say that I really fell in love with it. The characters were well written and the book abounds with great sub-plots and supporting characters that work seamlessly into the story.  It was a really fun read that kept me guessing and hoping right until the very end. It’s hard to give away anything without giving too much but this is a definite must read for lovers of a good story told well. Sometimes it can be so nice to just cuddle up with a good book and relax…Take a Chance on Me is a great candidate for any relaxing day of reading.

https://i2.wp.com/www.starchefs.com/product_education/hobart/slicer/images/johnny_iuzzini.jpg

*As a side note normally characters don’t take on any physical descriptions in my head that are this distinct….And it may be that I have been watching too much Top Chef: Just Desserts but I swear Johnny LaVenture looks just like Chef Jimmy Iuzzini in my head! Anyone else ever had that happen?

6 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Chick Lit, Girly Books, New Books

6 responses to “Review: Take a Chance on Me by Jill Mansell

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review: Take a Chance on Me by Jill Mansell « Stiletto Storytime -- Topsy.com

  2. Jill Mansell

    Hi Courtney, and thanks so much for the fab review! It’s always so lovely when a blogger reads me for the first time and really likes my writing. Your kind words have made my day. After writing the book, I had to buy myself a wire sculpture. When I finish my current one I may have to buy another. I’ve fallen in love with them now!
    And I also like the way you think Johnny looks…
    Love
    Jill xx

    • stilettostorytime

      Thank you so much Jill! I simply adored the book and making your day makes mine because the book gave me two wonderful days of reading! It takes quite a lot to make me imagine a character that well so well done on creating a character as distinct as Johnny! Good luck on the wire sculptures…I would end up like Johnny with blood all over me! =)

  3. Jill Mansell’s books are so much fun! I need to get hold of this one.

    • stilettostorytime

      You will love it! I could not put it down…Johnny and Cleo are both such great characters…makes me want to be British!

  4. amanda smith

    i love jill mansell books. haven’t yet read the latest one but cant wait to get my hands on it. i think solo and making your mind up are my favs so far.

Let's Talk....

