Halloween Read-A-Thon

https://i1.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/_m9ILMoAGwQ8/TKDWlcYnnQI/AAAAAAAAASg/_3Hd2jMm_Cg/s1600/readathon1.jpg It’s Read-A-Thon time again! But this time it’s a special Halloween edition sponsored by Young Adult Books Reviewed! I am really excited about this one for a few reasons. It’s Halloween themed so I get to read some great new and old spooky stuff just in time for the Halloween season. It’s also a whole weekend so I can stretch it out for maximum reading & sleeping time! And it’s nice for those of us who have “little monsters” because it’s not on Halloween night when we have other festivities to attend to.

So what is my first book of Halloween Read-A-Thon? Well I thought I would start https://i0.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/_GzwY99JOSYQ/TJfBEecUrtI/AAAAAAAAAxw/Y2-G28J_eak/s1600/100.jpgwith Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin. I have few others planned for this Read-A-Thon as well but would love some suggestions. I want a nice mix of new releases and old classics. Also you know I love to read for all age groups!  What is your favorite Halloween/Scary book?

Read-A-Thon Reads

  • Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin
  • The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
  • The Radleys by Matt Haig
  • Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin

Read-A-Thon Mini-Challenge: My Spookiest Read

http://shereadsnovels.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/the-monk.jpgI don’t really have a book that has truly frightened me. That was why I asked for some good suggestions for this reading challenge. If I had to pick a favorite “scary” book however it would be The Monk by Matthew Lewis. I am a big classical literature fan and also a lover of gothic. This book is a classic for all gothic lovers and often overlooked.

“Ambrosio, the worthy superior of the Capuchins of Madrid, falls to the temptations of Matilda, a fiend-inspired wanton who, disguised as a boy, has entered his monastery as a novice. Ambrosio then falls in love with one of his penitents and finally kills her in order to escape detection. However, he is discovered, tortured by the Inquisition and sentenced to death. Although extravagant in its mixture of the supernatural, the terrible, and the indecent, the book contains scenes of great effect. The novel is a prime example of 18th century Gothic, written partly in response to “Walpole” and “Radcliffe” and enjoyed a considerable contemporary vogue.”

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Events, New Books, Paranormal, Young Adult Books

6 responses to “Halloween Read-A-Thon

  1. the scariest book I’ve ever read is House of Leaves my Mark Danielewski. I had to sleep with the light on for 2 days, it was awful but so worth it!

  2. stilettostorytime

    Oh my goodness…I have not heard of that one…may have to see if I can get it from the library on Saturday for this read-a-thon. I don’t think I have ever really read a book that actually scared me so I am excited!

  3. Good luck with the readathon, Courtney. I hope you get lots read, even if you have to hide under the blankets!

  4. Ava

    Oh I’m doing this too! I hope you enjoy The Body Finder- it’s a great book. I have never heard of The Monk but it definitely sounds creepy.

  5. I will have to check out The Monk! Sounds like a great gothic tale.

  6. Hi. I just wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog and see what you were reading for the read-a-thon. I haven’t gotten a chance to read Low Red Moon yet but I loved The Body Finder and can’t wait for its sequel, Desires of the Dead.

Let's Talk....

