Snippets on a Sunday

https://stilettostorytime.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/banned_book_button-709523.gif?w=218

Another week has passed and another week begins..but this coming week is not just any week. It’s Banned Books Week! Make sure to celebrate by reading a banned book…and also check out some of the interesting information below concerning banned books in general. What is your favorite banned book? Which will you choose to read if you are celebrating this week? I would love to read a new banned book this coming week. One I have never read before…if you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments. If I have not read it, I will begin a list for readers to choose from. Midnight Wednesday, September 29th, I will tally the votes and suggestions and begin reading my “banned” book chosen by you! I can’t wait to see what you all have in store! Make it a good one…here are some other interesting links for Banned Books Week:

Banned Books for Voting

  • Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Greene
  • I Never Promised You a Rose Garden by Joanna Greenberg
  • Unwind by Neal Shusterman
  • Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

In other news I have been reading pretty heavily this past week due to the fact that I had an emergency surgery recently. Thanks to everyone for all the well wishes, kind thoughts and prayers. I did want to highlight some of the books I have read these past few weeks, each is fantastic in its own way and I want to recommend each of them even if I am not quite feeling well enough to write full reviews at this time.

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41IsU2q%2Bh1L._SL500_.jpg

Color Blind by Precious Williams

“‘Where are you from?’ is a question I always find hard to answer. 1971: an ad in Nursery World. Private foster parents required for a three-month-old baby – me. The lucky applicant is a 57-year-old white woman who has adored ‘coloured’ children ever since reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin and falling in love with the character Topsy… My mother arrives, a haughty Nigerian woman in a convertible with a Moses basket on the seat beside her, setting the net curtains in this all-white council estate twitching. And though  my privileged mother claims the whole place makes her skin crawl, she returns to London with an empty basket beside her, choosing this home for me because, unusually for the estate, my new foster mother talks proper, and I’ll need a posh white accent for the bright future I have ahead of me.

I’ll cling onto that idea – that I’ve a bright future ahead of me – even though there’s nothing in my upbringing to warrant it. Even though my mother’s love consists of long absences, confusing behaviour and dauntingly high expectations. Even though my foster mother’s love is overwhelming and suffocating. Even though, from infancy,  I seem to be a magnet for abusive sexual attention from  men I barely know. Even though the authorities have no idea where to put me or where I belong, and nor, really, do I. Precious is the story of growing up black in a white community, of struggling to find an identity that fits mid conflicting messages, of deciphering a childhood full of secrets and dysfunction.”

Color Blind is a memoir of brutal honesty, often unspeakably painful and yet searingly beautiful all at once. It is the story of a child not wanted by some and perhaps wanted for the wrong reason by others. It is the story of her life and the woman she grew to be despite all the pain that surrounded her. Heartbreaking and sad while also being incredibly brave and compelling. Precious Williams has created a work that shines in its honesty and truth.  Williams has truly laid bare her soul in this work and one can feel it from the first page to the very last. Color Blind is a story not just about race but about love, suffering and in the end the journey to heal that one must take alone in order to come to terms with the past and become strong in the future. It was a wonderful book that could really provide strength and hope for others who have suffered similarly but may still be in the process of healing and unable to speak out as Precious has done. A wonderful true story that should not be missed or ignored.

https://i0.wp.com/www.trashionista.com/iheartnewyorkusa.JPG I Heart New York by Lindsey Kelk

“Angela Clark is in love—with the most fabulous city in the world!

When Angela catches her boyfriend with another woman at her best friend’s wedding, she’s heartbroken and desperate to run away. With little more than a crumpled bridesmaid dress, a pair of Louboutins, and her passport in hand, Angela decides to jump on a plane for . . . NYC!

Settling into a cute hotel and quickly bonding with benevolent concierge Jenny—a chatterbox Oprah wannabe with room for a new best friend—Angela heads out for a New York makeover, some serious retail therapy, and a whirlwind tour of the city. Before she knows it, she’s dating two sexy guys and blogging about her Big Apple escapades for a real fashion magazine. But while it’s one thing telling readers about your romantic dilemmas, it’s another working them out for yourself. Angela has fallen head over heels for the city that never sleeps, but does she heart New York more than home?”

I Heart New York was just what the doctor ordered. A big cup of chick lit that was laugh out loud funny and yet well written and lovable all at the same time.  I simply dove in and didn’t resurface until the last page. Originally a UK book, I am so glad that Harper has brought this one to the US. It’s sure to be a hit among you and your girlfriends as you travel along with Angela and watch her make the mistakes we all have but ultimately do the things we all wish we could…like jump up and leave Mr. Wrong and board a flight to the city of our dreams…and make it! It’s a winner all around and such a fun book to boot!

8 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Banned Books, Chick Lit, Events, New Books

8 responses to “Snippets on a Sunday

  1. I re-read Summer of My German Soldier for banned books week. I loved it in high school, couldn’t fathom why it would ever be challenged.

  2. stilettostorytime

    Ashley,
    I have not read that one so it goes on the list! I am excited to see what others recommend and vote for! Thanks for voting!

    Courtney

    Banned Books:
    * “Summer of my German Soldier”

  3. Schuyler Esperanza

    I just read UNWIND, and it was fantastic. I had no idea it was a challenged/banned title until the other day–the story just sounded good to me. Sci-fi mixed with ethics, philosophy, religion, and so many other issues. It’s a unique read. I highly recommend it.

  4. Hope you feel completely OK soon!

    I’ll be reading Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut as my banned book this week.

  5. OK, we’re voting: I’m choosing Cat’s Cradle, obviously, as I suggested it and I would love to have someone else read it with me.

  6. Joni

    It’s been a long time since I read I never promised you a rose garden, but I remember it being quite intriguing. However, my vote goes with Unwind. I read that this year, and it’s quite a powerful book.

  7. stilettostorytime

    And the winner is…Unwind by Neal Shusterman! Thanks to everyone who voted and look out for my review coming on Saturday for the last day of Banned Books Week!

    Courtney

Let's Talk....

