Dystopian Challenge 2010: Wrap-Up & Contest

This year I participated in Parajunkee’s Dystopian 2010 Challenge and I must say it was one of the best challenges I have completed in quite awhile. It was challenging and yet fun since there were so many new books and classics to choose from in the dystopian genre. I found myself constantly enlightened and filling up my book journal with quotes.

For fun as I wrap up to this challenge I thought it might be nice to share some of my favorite quotes from my reading for this challenge. For extra fun…I am going to give the quote but not the book…see how many you can match up to their respective books. My list of books read is below so you have the list to choose from. The person who can match up the most (random generator will choose if there are multiple dystopian geniuses) will win a special little something from Stiletto Storytime! You can also get extra entries by sharing your favorite dystopian quotes that I might not have mentioned! Contest ends at midnight on August 31, 2010. There will be one prize for US/ Canada residents and another (virtual prize) for any international winners. Have fun and please no “googling” for answers! Good luck to all!

My Favorite Quotes from Dystopian Books:

Quote #1:Past events, it is argued, have no objective existence, but survive only in written records and in human memories. The past is whatever the records and the memories agree upon. And since the party is in full control of all records, and in equally full control of the minds of its members, it follows that the past is whatever the party chooses to make it.” -1984

Quote #2: “Last night I thought about all that kerosene I’ve used in the past ten years. And I thought about books. And for the first time I realized that a man was behind each one of the books. A man had to think them up. A man had to take a long time to put them down on paper. And I’d never thought that before.” -Fahrenheit 451

Quote #3: ” The best books, he perceived, are those that tell you what you already know.” -1984

Quote #4: ” A different life. That was what happened, she knew, when a person had a baby. This strange new being grew inside you and by the time it was all over, you were someone different too.” -The Passage

Quote #5: “People were excited when they first came out with the feeds. It was all da da da, this big educational thing, da da da, your child will have the advantage, encyclopedias at their fingertips, closer than their fingertips, etc. That’s the great thing about the feed- that you can be super smart without ever working. Everyone is super smart now. You can look things up automatic, like science and history, like you want to know which battles of the Civil War George Washington fought in and shit.” -Feed

Quote #6: “Everyone belongs to everyone else.” -Brave New World

Quote #7: “An eighth grade girl was taken today.” -The Limit

Quote #8: Images flash through my mind: the spear piercing Rue’s body in the arena, Gale hanging senseless from the whipping post, the corpse littered wasteland of my home. And for what? For what?” -Mockingjay

Quote #9: “Winston stopped reading, chiefly to appreciate the fact that he was reading, in comfort and safety.” -1984

Quote #10: “Mothers and fathers, brothers and sisters. But there were also husbands, wives, lovers. There were also monogamy and romance. Though you probably don’t know what those are, said Mustopha Mond.  They shook their heads.” -Brave New World

Dystopian Challenge 2010

Dates: Jan 1 2010 to Aug 24 2010

  • Level 1 – Experimental – 5 books
  • Level 2 – Addict – 10 books
  • Level 3 – Junkee – 20 books

1.) The Sky Inside by Clare B. Dunkle

2.)The Walls Have Eyes by Clare B. Dunkle

3.)Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony

4.) Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

5.) The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer

6.) This World We Live In by Susan Beth Pfeffer

7.) The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

8.) The Passage by Justin Cronin

9.) Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien

10.) Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

11.) Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

12.) Veracity by Laura Bynum

13.) Jennifer Government by Max Barry

14.) Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

15.) The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

16.) 1984 by George Orwell

17.) The Limit by Kristen Landon

18.) Feed by M.T. Anderson

19.) Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

20.) Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Thanks again to Parajunkee for such a wonderful challenge!

10 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Challenges, Contests, Dystopian, Young Adult Books

10 responses to “Dystopian Challenge 2010: Wrap-Up & Contest

  1. Great wrap up post! Congrats on a job well done!

  2. Well done for finishing the challenge! I also thought it was a great challenge. We only shared 3 books so without Googling, I don’t stand a chance at the competition, but I will have a try anyway.

    Shall I send the answers to you rather than share here in the comments? That way, everyone has a fair chance.

  3. #1=#16
    #2=#14
    #5=#18
    #7=#17
    #8=#20
    #10=#19

    These are all that I know offhand. Thanks for this fun little giveaway! I’ve loved reading all sorts of dystopian books this year–I’m a huge fan!

  4. I am so bummed I just found this challenge. The dystopian genre is one of my favorites. I’ll definitely be checking out the titles on this list that I haven’t read yet.

  5. Extra quote…..
    “But collective thinking is usually short-lived. We’re fickle, stupid beings with poor memories and a great gift for self-destruction.”
    — Suzanne Collins (Mockingjay)

    Matching..
    1. 1984
    2. Fahrenheit 451
    3.
    4. The Passage
    5. Feed
    6. Brave New World
    7.
    8. Mockingjay
    9. 1984
    10. Brave New World

    And the rest, I have NO idea!!

  6. 1)
    2) Fahrenheit 451
    3)
    4)
    5)
    6)
    7)
    8) Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
    9)
    10)

    yeesh, that’s all I think I know. Well, that wasn’t good at all haha but this was fun!

  7. I’m not sure if these are right or wrong and it doesn’t hurt to guess!
    1 and 16(?)
    2 and 14
    3 and 10
    4 and 8 (?)
    5 and 18
    6 and 12
    7 and 17
    8 and 20
    9 and 15
    10 and 19

  8. April

    Hmmm I love dystopian books :) I haven’t read that many though, so we’ll see how this turns out…
    1. 1984
    8. Mockingjay
    yeah, thats all I know.

  9. stilettostorytime

    Congrats to Angelique from “Vampires and Tofu” for getting 8 out of 10 of the dystopian quotes correct! This is her second win on Stiletto Storytime this week! Since I know she loves vampires…she will be receiving a signed bookplate from Jeaniene Frost and a bookmark for the upcoming Kalayna Price book “Grave Witch”. Congrats again Angelique…you know your dystopian!

Let's Talk....

