Sweet Valley Confidential in 2011

https://i1.wp.com/www.universitychic.com/files/imagecache/blog_image_400/files/Sweet_Valley_High_2.jpg“Now with this striking new adult novel from author and creator Francine Pascal, millions of devoted fans can finally return to the idyllic Sweet Valley, home of the phenomenally successful book series and franchise. Iconic and beloved identical twins Jessica and Elizabeth Wakefield are back and all grown up, dealing with the complicated adult world of love, careers, betrayal, and sisterhood. “

That’s right…they’re back!  With over 500 titles, the Sweet Valley series captivated so many of us in our youth and teen years. And now it’s going to move with us into adulthood with Pascal’s latest Sweet Valley Confidential set to come out March of 2011. Also there is talk of a screenplay by Diablo Cody….of Juno fame about the twins in their high school years. Flashbacks indeed….

I was a reader of Sweet Valley High in my grade school years…I think all my favorite barbies were coincidentally also named Jessica and blonde (although I was not and never have been). Even though in reality I think I myself was more of a mix of the two characters. I know a lot of girls probably identified with one twin over the other…and I am interested to know why but we will get to that in a bit!

I’m interested to see where life has led the twins and am really excited to see this series brought back not on the YA level but on the adult level for its original fans. So often we see popular titles brought back for their original age audience but not the individuals who actually once fell in love with them or were addicted to the series. I think it’s wonderful that this series chose a different path. A path that means our favorite characters are now at the same place in life as us. Won’t it be interesting to see what has happened?

I still have a few SVH books in my personal library and I am not gonna lie, every time I see one at a book sale or used book store…I want to buy it. There’s something about the books of our childhood that stay with us, they become part of who we become and who we were.  They make us feel young again just seeing the covers. I for one can’t wait until March to find out what has happened to the Wakefield twins!

If you also cannot wait  sign up and get a sneak peek at the first chapter!

Also follow on Twitter and Facebook for all the latest updates and giveaways!

And here at Stiletto Storytime I have been lucky enough to be able to provide my readers with a chance to get in on Sweet Valley Confidential now and later when the book is released!  One lucky winner will receive a copy of the book when it is released in March 2011. The second will receive a Sweet Valley T-shirt now! US and Canadian entries only. Please leave your e-mail address. Winner to be chosen by random number generator. Giveaway ends September 1, 2010 at midnight. You need not be a follower to enter. However..

+3 Entries for subscribing to or Following Stiletto Storytime

+5 Entries for writing a blog post about this giveaway and your answer to the question below -leave link in comment

+1 Entry for every tweet about this giveaway ( one per day) – leave link in comment

To enter just leave me a comment about which character you related to the most and why?

https://i1.wp.com/images03.olx.com.ph/ui/7/94/82/1278936292_36689282_1-Pictures-of--SWEET-VALLEY-HIGH-for-sale-1278936292.jpg

Were you a Jessica or an Elizabeth?

36 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Chick Lit, Contests, Girly Books, New Books

36 responses to “Sweet Valley Confidential in 2011

  1. I was Elizabeth. No doubt about it. I am so excited to read this. I was a huge SVH fan. Unfortunately I don’t know the status of my personal collection. It might be long gone by now. It was pretty extensive. Please count me in!

    I am a follower.

  2. Wow! I would love this book–how fun would it be to catch up with Jessica and Elizabeth after all these years!

    I was Elizabeth, and still am. I never really wanted to be Jessica! I wonder how many hours I spent reading SVH?

    ~Melissa
    http://www.squeakycleanreads.com

  3. Abby

    I wanted to be a Lila, but in reality I was more of an Elizabeth. Having gone back and read a few though, I realize that I had some of Liz’s ideals, but I wasn’t near as judgmental and annoying as she🙂

  4. stilettostorytime

    Thanks Abby…please come back if you can and leave your e-mail so I can contact you in case you are a winner!

  5. LR

    I thought I was a Jessica when I was younger, but as I’ve grown up, I think I’ve turned into more of an Eliabeth! I’m super excited to read this new book!🙂

  6. I am definitely an Elizabeth. Jessica always bothered me because she took chances that I never would have taken. I could never understand why Elizabeth let Jessica get away with some of the stuff she did!

    I’m a follower and tweeted! https://twitter.com/whatsheread/status/21534464575

    jmchshannon at gmail dot com

  7. I havent read these books yet but i am going to. Please enter me
    Lora1967
    chaarmedone1512@aol.com

  8. Back away people….this one’s all mine🙂

    I read so many of these books in boarding school. A lot of the girls I knew read em and whenever I ran out of books to read, I’d borrow one and devour it overnight.

    Being a big burly man, I hope i’m not too much like the SVH ladies. I did always like Jessica though.

  9. I think I was an Elizabeth….but I wanted to be a Jessica!

    I read and re-read these books over and over again as a kid. And I will admit that I have bought more than one lonely copy at used bookstores as an adult.

  10. I tweeted about it! =)

  11. +3 Entries for subscribing to or Following Stiletto Storytime
    I Love LIZ! And I always wanted my own “Todd”, he seemed to be the dreamiest brown-eyed boyfriend ever!
    I have at least 45 of these books still.. from my tween years. Which makes me feel very old, but I do want to read the new one too! Awesome!

  12. Great contest! So excited to see what’s up with these great characters….
    I always related more to Elizabeth and her bookish/studious nature, though I did always have that wish of being a Jessica. *SIGH* Cie la vie….

    +3 – I follow! (GRgenius)
    +1 – tweet tweet – http://twitter.com/GRgenius/status/21925250256

    Thanks for the chance…and happy reading!

    grgenius(at)gmail(dot)com

  13. i love sweet valley!! I read all the books, and I was definitely Jessica! Would love to win!
    samantha@chicklitplus.com

  14. I was definitely Elizabeth. I was always into reading and was more mellow.

    Blogged about it here:
    http://chicklitcentraltheblog.blogspot.com/2010/08/winning-wednesday-august-25th.html

    Added your blog to my google reader.

    Thanks!
    mbamster0720 at gmail dot com

  15. I loved SVH and am so excited about this new book. I’m definitely an Elizabeth, not daring enough to be a Jessica.

    carolsnotebook at yahoo dot ocm

  16. I grew up with these ladies, and am glad that they are making a come-back, only this time for grown-ups!

    I related the most to Elizabeth, but a part of me always wished that I was more like Jessica (who wouldn’t want to be popular, beautiful, and cool?)

    jonitathebookchick(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. karenk

    i was ‘elizabeth’

  18. karenk

    i’m an email subscriber🙂

  19. Victoria Goldstein

    I definitely identified with Elizabeth. I’m a book worm myself and like to play it safe.

    yellow.gin@gmail.com

  20. Jennifer

    I’d say Elizabeth. While I wasn’t quite that straight laced (was anybody, really?) I was definately more like her than Jessica.

    I like reading and writing, and was (and still am!) more interested in a serious relationship than little flings, as well as tried to do well in school (and succeeded, except for math!).

    There were times when I wished that I could be more like Jessica and have her confidence, but she was too wild for me (especially in the early SVH books, and then she toned down just a bit).

  21. Sarah

    I was an Elizabeth though I desperately wanted to be a Jessica.

  22. Christen K

    I was such a fan of the series!! I think I must have read all of them…and they are still at my parent’s house.
    I think I am more of an Elizabeth, but I got my Todd at 25 and not at 12!

  23. Lysa

    I was more of an Elizabeth, but i wanted to be a Jessica. Now that i’m older i’m happy to be an Elizabeth.

  24. I definitely related more to Elizabeth. I loved reading, still do…! And I always tried to do the right thing.🙂 Yet, my favorite was Lila lol

    adelyn.xx[at]gmail[dot]com

  25. I tweeted about the contest as well.😀
    Here’s the link to my tweet:

    adelyn.xx[at]gmail[dot]com

  26. Honestly, I think I’m more of an Elizabeth, but I’ve always liked Jessica better! She’s way more fun!

    I blogged about the new book and this contest on my new blog- please check it out!

    http://popparade.wordpress.com/

  27. Michele Willis

    I followed Jessica and Elizabeth through middle school, high school and college. They and their friends went through the some of the same things I did. I can definately relate to Elizabeth. Like her, I was (and still am) serious, sesitive and sort of goody-goody. However, I always admired Jessica’s style and spirit. I am so excited that they are back and that I can continue following their stories!

  28. Elizabeth Roppolo

    i definately related more to elizabeth when i was younger, but i always wished i was more like jessica! lol

  29. Elizabeth Roppolo

    forgot to add my follower and email info in the prior comment…

    i definitely related more to elizabeth when i was younger, but i always wished i was more like jessica lol

    i’m a subscriber (lroppolo@gmail.com)
    i’m a twitter follower (lizropo310)

    thanks!🙂

  30. Dana B

    I loved the entire collection of books, from sweet valley twins, the unicorn club, svh and svc. I really enjoyed the first chapter of the upcoming book (LOADS of plot twists) and I cannot wait to read the rest in March. I was definitely an Elizabeth – rule follower, the smart one, not quite as popular but had a core group of good friends… So excited for the new series!

  31. megan s.

    I was Liz but I wanna be like Jess!! She’s totally awesome!!

  32. I was Jessica!!! I loved SVT, SVH and SVU!! I used to read them all the time, all through the different stage.

    I just subscribed, please enter in me in the giveaway. 🙂

    Thanks!

  33. Nic

    I was Liz, and my sister was Jess. We were only a year apart in age but were as close as twins, even though we had (and still have!) completely opposite personalities.

    I loved Elizabeth because she was responsible. I guess I was a geeky kid!

    (stardestiny [at] bigfoot [dot] com)

  34. Between the twins, I was definitely more Elizabeth growing up, but more like Jessica when I entered my 20s.

    But of all the characters, I probably relate the most to Robin Wilson when she was losing weight, though no guy ever took me to a dance & asked everyone if they wanted to steer the Queen Mary😛

  35. Erica

    Definitely Elizabeth…I worked on the school newspaper, just like her.🙂

  36. stilettostorytime

    A big congrats to Poppie27 and Brigitte who are the winners of the SVC contest! Poppie27 will win a new copy of “Sweet Valley Conficential” when it release in March and Brigittie has won a Sweet Valley T-Shirt! Congrats again and thanks to everyone who entered! Stay tuned here at Stiletto Storytime for more SVC details!

    P.S. Most were Elizabeths! As was almost everyone!!

Let's Talk....

