A Bit of Me (Me): Your Favorite Word

There are two things you may have noticed about me if you are a somewhat regular reader of Stiletto Storytime. Number one: I generally do not do a lot of what we book bloggers call “memes”.  Memes are basically posts that a lot of bloggers may do…like talking about what they get from the library everyday on a certain day or showing a favorite picture with no words. These are both two very popular memes that I have often thought of doing but the truth is that I know I don’t have time to make that weekly commitment. With a one year old, a household to run and a manuscript with a looming deadline…well it’s hard to just get through the day sane. However There’s a Book has finally got me with ” A Bit of Me (Me)“.

That brings us to the number two thing you may have noticed about me. Number Two: I rarely share intimate details about myself as a person or my family. I just think that these things are mine and should stay that way. However sometimes there is the urge to share especially when my readers share so much of themselves with me. And so I am going to try and do that back with “A Bit of Me (Me)“. This week’s question is a fun one too since it has to do with words which to be honest I consider to be some of my best friends. Word are powerful…they can create, destroy and take you far away from everyday life. So what is my personal favorite word?

ne·far·i·ous

extremely wicked or villainous; iniquitous: a nefarious plot.

Origin” 1595–1605;  < L nefārius  wicked, vile, equiv. to nefās  offense against divine or moral law

I can’t really explain why I love this word except that it’s one of those words that sounds like it’s meaning. It just sounds evil…sinister…bad. I also love that such a seemingly complicated word can mean something so simple. I love using it in a sentence in everyday language and the looks I get when I do. It’s just a word that has always struck me.  Below is an example of what I see in my head when I think of the word as well.http://protoplasm.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/wicked-witch.jpg

What’s your favorite word?

6 Comments

Filed under A Bit of Me (Me), Book Blogs

6 responses to “A Bit of Me (Me): Your Favorite Word

  1. You are too sweet! I feel that same way about all the memes out there. There are so many great ones that I could easily consider doing, but then that would be all my blog is. So, I’m glad you decided to jump in with mine, I really think it’s great getting to know little bits about everyone!

    LOVE your word choice! This has been so much fun! Everyone has such unique words, but I’ve really enjoyed them all. I especially love your illustration by means of the picture of the Wicked Witch from OZ…my favorite movie as a small child! Great choice!

  2. Nefarious definitely is a great word – I think that I’m going to try and use it more frequently, and as The1stdaughter said, I think your illustration of it is pitch perfect.🙂

    Thanks also for checking out my favorite word post and your comment. I’ve responded in length here.

  3. I love nefarious! It has such a devious and sneaky sound to it. So glad you found a meme you wanted to do. I admit I’m not always regular with the ones I do and that’s ok by me.

  4. Pingback: A Bit of Me(Me) - Best of the Best | There's A Book

Let's Talk....

