Manic Monday

https://i1.wp.com/www.timowuerz.com/gallery/logos/manicmonday.jpg Well after a little over a week from having my sinus/deviated septum surgery I am finally feeling well enough to get back into the groove. It’s a good thing too since I have lots of odds and ends and news to spread!

First things first It’s Audiobook Week at Devourer of Books. She’s got some great events, prizes and audiobook posts coming up so don’t miss out! I think audiobooks often get lost in space when books are talked about, we kind of see them only as an extenuation of the actual print book when they are in reality much more. For this reason I’m glad that a light is put upon them in their own right this week and month. I myself have a relatively good but somewhat neglected standing with audiobooks.

First Audiobook Experience: My first ever memory and one I cherish to this day is around fifth grade when our class would go to the school library. We had a free period where we could do whatever we wanted and me already a “classics” fan always chose to listen to the Edgar Allen Poe stories on tape. There was something about that sinister voice reading those tales through those gigantic headphones in my small carrel that made them new to me and I liked it! I remember that as one of my favorite things about all of elementary school. It was my first real experience of having the perfect voice teamed up to the words in a book.

Favorite Audiobooks: Some of my favorite audiobooks are those of books by Jodi Picoult. I really enjoyed Nineteen Minutes and The Tenth Circle. I have always adored the Harry Potter audiobooks and have listened to them multiple times. Other favorites include Rules by Cynthia Lord and The Witches by Roald Dahl. I also really enjoyed the audiobooks for Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle series as well. As you can see my taste in audiobooks is varied much like my reading habits. To me it is all about the magic of a great story being matched with the perfect voice.  I personally think  the narrator can make or break an audiobook and I also prefer only one narrator if possible.

When, Where and Why Not As Much?: I used to listen to audiobooks in the car for almost any long car trip (much to my husband’s dismay) and for commuting back and forth to work when I was a librarian. I loved how it allowed me to get some reading done while driving and to also up my reading quota. However since becoming a SAHM…I don’t commute and really don’t spend too much time in the car. So my audiobook intake has dropped quite a bit.  I am not one of those who can just sit and listen…I would rather read if I can.  I also cannot work out and listen…just not the right pace for me. The car seems to be my ideal spot and I hope to get back to listening once again!

Another great initiative I want to share is The Book Bloggers for Nashville Schools Program. As we all know Nashville was devastated by flooding and many schools and libraries are desperately in need of books. I myself am a born Tennessean so this hits very close to home, I am originally from Clarksville which as we say in the South “is just down the road a piece”.  To learn more about the program please go to Reader with a Capital “R”. The initiative is called A Dry Read: New Books for Nashville and I hope you will all see if you can help in any way! We as Book Bloggers are in special position to be able to spread the word and make things happen! Let’s do it! Here is some additional information on the devastation and what efforts are being made to get things done! I hope we can all contribute in some small way and make a big impact. Please help spread the word if you can. Thanks to Rebeccca at Reader with a Capital “R” and Janicu’s Book Blog for all the information to pass along.

*In addition I have a giveaway announcement. Teresa of Teresa’s Reading Corner is the winner of the giveaway for the book “The Starlet” by Mary McNamara! Happy Beach Reading with that one Teresa! Congrats again! That’s all I have for today’s Manic Monday. Look for further posts in the next few weeks with some new features inspired by my trip to Book Blogger Convention 2010 and possibly soon Stiletto Storytime’s first ever sponsored Reading Challenge. I promise it’s different than most out there and I am very excited about it. Stay tuned!

12 Comments

Filed under Audiobooks, Book Blogs, Events

12 responses to “Manic Monday

  1. Okay, you just made me realize that I TOTALLY FORGOT my audiobook experience as a young child (2 1/2 – 3?). My parents went to Europe and left me with family and left bribes of a book/tape set so I would be good. I loved listening while following along.

    • stilettostorytime

      It was odd…when I thought about it. That one moment just came to me even though then they were not considered audiobooks. And the whole concept for audiobooks for adults was not even done, I don’t think other than for those with disabilities….I just remember those Poe tapes so well. Book/tape sets always rocked when you were a kid but I used to get frustrated they wouldn’t read faster! =)

  2. I love audiobooks for car trips too. I got one for a trip my husband and I were taking with our nephew. Our nephew’s an adult, but I was still embarrassed by the love scenes in the book. LOL

    • stilettostorytime

      That’s too funny! My husband usually gets annoyed with me because it’s Harry Potter or something by Roald Dahl…

  3. For some reason I can’t even listen to an audiobook while driving, so I get my listening time in while doing housework. Laundry is a biggie. I love the idea of listening to something by Roald Dahl. I’ll have to give it a try.

  4. I use audio in the car a lot and also in the bathroom as I get ready each morning.

    • stilettostorytime

      That’s a great idea to use it getting ready unfortunately with a one year old…I never know when that is going to happen and usually it’s as fast as humanly possible! But maybe in a year or two…

  5. Pingback: A Dry Read Is Shaping Up! « Reader with a capital "R": Rebecca Brothers

  6. I’m so glad that you are feeling better!

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks Teddy! I am still not at 100% percent but glad to have it over with! Feeling a little better everyday!

  7. i love to listen on audiobooks while travelling on a bus, i could learn a lot from it while travelling `~:

Let's Talk....

