Once Upon A Time Challenge IV: The End

Once Upon a Time Reading Challenge IV

The Challenge: “Read at least 5 books that fit somewhere within the Once Upon a Time IV criteria. They might all be fantasy, or folklore, or fairy tales, or mythology…or your five books might be a combination from the four genres AND top it off with a June reading of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream OR a viewing of one of the many theatrical versions of the play. Love the story, love the films, love the idea of that magical night of the year and so this is my chance to promote the reading of this farcical love story.” -Stainless Steel Droppings

( March 21, 2010 – June 20, 2010)

My Challenge Results:

1.) Nice Girls Don’t Live Forever by Molly Harper (Fantasy/Folklore)

2.) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (Fantasy/Folklore)

3.) Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey (Fantasy/Folklore)

4.) Dracula by Bram Stoker (Folklore)

5.) My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares (Fantasy/Contemporary Fiction)

*William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream*

I feel like this year I took “Fantasy and Fairy Tale” in a different directions than I have in the past. With such a plethora of books out right now dealing with the supernatural in terms of vampires and werewovles and the occasional children’s librarian turned vampire thrown in…I found a few of those books making it into my challenge pile. Which in truth makes sense since we all know Fairy Tales in actuality are quite dark. My very last book was also a stretch of a different type for this challenge.

One might look at the title and think how in the world could Ann Brashares’ My Name is Memory fit this challenge. But in my mind it fit it perfectly. It was fairy tale of sorts that spanned enormous amounts of time and played with idea of memory and re-incarnation in very fanciful and yet brutal ways. I found it the perfect book to round out this challenge. In closing getting to re-read some Shakespeare was much needed. I need to do it more, it’s like a soothing cup of tea before bed and something I greatly miss. All in all a great challenge this year and I look forward to it next year.

-Thanks to Carl V at Stainless Steel Droppings as always for being a great host.

1 Comment

Filed under Adult Books, Book Blogs, Challenges, Classic Literature

One response to “Once Upon A Time Challenge IV: The End

  1. Congratulations on a job well done!

Let's Talk....

