Review: The Last Wife of Henry VIII

Catherine Parr watched as the first five wives of Henry VIII met with horrendous ends, from beheadings to exile each made somewhat elaborate exits from their royal throne. Now she finds herself the object of his royal affection while she is in love with another. While many works of both fiction and non-fiction have been written on the famous wives of Henry VIII, Catherine Parr is often left behind since she was his last and did not die tragically by his orders. However Erickson provides an in-depth and riveting look into the life of Queen Catherine including her many marriages before her royal union and her service under Queen Catherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn. This novel presents an intriguing glimpse into the history of England and the heart of a Queen. I for one found her character to be very interesting because of the full life she led before her marriage to a King and for her being Henry’s last wife. She saw him through to the end when as we all know he was really quite unattractive in both personality and physical health. For historical fiction I always find Carolly Erickson to be a reliable source for an enjoyable if easy read and this work fits that category. However I was more intrigued by it than some of her others simply because I didn’t know as much about Catherine Parr, I think this is the case with most individuals. I read this work as part of The Tudor Mania Challenge at The Burton Review.

Tudor Mania Challenge

4 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, historical fiction

4 responses to “Review: The Last Wife of Henry VIII

  1. I haven’t read many tudor related historical fiction, and most of what I’ve read was focused on Elizabeth I, so I think I might enjoy this. I love that this wasn’t another book about Boleyn, but the last wife.

  2. Thanks for the wonderful review! This book is on my TBR. I was getting a bit tired by reading so many books on the Tudors but I have had a break and getting interested again. I knew I would. LOL!

  3. Thanks for joining the challenge! Grat review, I haven’t read this one yet but I am more intrigued knowing that we go into her life pre-Henry VIII.

  4. I loved this book! I had worn myself out on reading books focused on his first 2 wives, so this one was quite ‘refreshing’. Good Review!

Let's Talk....

