Autism Awareness Challenge

April is Autism Awareness Month and Page Turners Blog has started a great challenge for readers for this month starting on April 1st. I am a little behind on getting my post up but I am very excited about this challenge. I have read many of the most well known books about characters or individuals with autism such as Rules by Cynthia Lord which is one of my all time favorites and Jodi Picoult’s most recent House Rules. I have also read Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Aspergers by John Elder Robison and Born on a Blue Day by Daniel Tammet. Books about mental illness and other disorders intrigue me for many reasons…one of the most personal being that I myself suffer from Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. That being said I can often relate to the anxiety and ritual that is often part of life with Aspergers. Therefore I read to learn and even to relate in some ways. I hope this month this challenge will encourage others to seek out a book that they might not have otherwise read about Autism or any other disorder on the Autism Spectrum. All you have to do for this challenge is read a book! How hard can it be? For more information or book suggestions, head over to Page Turners Blog. I myself am going to read All Cats Have Aspergers by Kathy Hoopmann and Daniel Isn’t Talking by Marti Leimbach.

2 Comments

Filed under Challenges

2 responses to “Autism Awareness Challenge

  1. I just finished Rules and loved it. Captures the experience of being the sibling of an autistic child perfectly, which is something I haven’t seen before in kids lit.

  2. stilettostorytime

    I know it blew me away…I actually listened to the CD version and the narration is just amazing. I highly recommend it. I think that book is one of a kind!

Let's Talk....

