The Lion and the Mouse

The 2010 Caldecott Award Winner: The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

One of my favorite stories as a child was the Aesop Fable of The Lion and the Mouse. I had a collection of stories in one book and I remember it was always my favorite. Pinkney’s picture book version would have been my favorite had it been around when I was a child. While my version had words and some scantily drawn illustrations, Pinkney proves you do not need words to tell a captivating and beautiful story. This illustrative version is classic and yet unique all in one. I loved the juxtaposition of the two animals on the two sides of the cover but more than anything I loved how Pinkney made them both providers for their families which showed it yet another way how in helping each other…they helped more than just themselves. It’s amazing what he has accomplished with a palette of such select colors, the expressions and depth are just amazing. If you have not seen it yet, you must pick it up! A simple story now set to some amazing illustrations…not to be missed and truly deserving of this year’s Caldecott!

Leave a comment

Filed under Award Winners, Children's Literature, Children's Picture Books

Let's Talk....

