The Luxe: A Luxurious End

Well it has happened….Anna Godbersen’s Luxe series has come to an end. And I must say it was a most luxurious one. Splendor completes the series that so many of us have eagerly followed. I have to say that while loves I wanted to be together in the beginning books were not in the end…I was very satisfied with the closing book and how our beloved ladies fared as they made their way into adulthood. Godbersen was so adept at changing situations to make each book so different and unexpected. Sometimes plots may have seemed highly improbable but Luxe captured a loyal following within it’s readers who have always been hungry for more. Splendor in itself, I found to be one of my favorites of the four novels. I enjoyed seeing the maturity some of the characters had gained and the true nature of others revealed.  I would have liked a longer ending, it seemed a but rushed and hurried but I was happy with what was chosen and agree that the series had come to it’s conclusion. So often authors don’t realize that and can make a series weak by continuing when the story has truly already ended. One wonders what will be next for Anna Godbersen? Exciting to think about…. but for right now you can possibly win a collection of your own Luxe series novels.

Another spectacular aspect of this series of course was the cover choice. The dresses of The Luxe were almost as highly anticipated as the books themselves. They jumped off the shelves and had some of the best shelf appeal I have ever seen. From the beautiful light pinkish rose creation on Luxe, to the crimson gown from Rumors, the white dress with red flower trim in Envy and finally the lavender sensation of Splendor. Each dress was magnificent and gave the reader even more imagination into the world of The Luxe. But which dress was your favorite? I would love to know….Comment and let’s see whose dress wins as the most luxurious of them all…..I’ll keep mum on my fav until we get a few comments going!

8 Comments

Filed under Girly Books, historical fiction, The Luxe, Young Adult Books

8 responses to “The Luxe: A Luxurious End

  1. stilettostorytime

    Okay I will give my vote…I loved the first pink gown in “Luxe”. It was such an original cover and grabbed my attention. I loved how the dress cascaded from one side of the cover to the next. It was the first and has remained my favorite!

  2. Luxelover3

    While I enjoyed the glamour of the first dress the simple grandeur of the 4th books lavender confection really caught my eye and is hands down my favorite.

  3. Anna Godbersen has a new series coming out in November 2010 — Bright Young Things. Should be good! She talks about it here: http://veronikaasks.wordpress.com/2009/12/18/anna-godbersen/

  4. stilettostorytime

    I know…I’m pretty excited about it and am trying to get a review copy once they are available….I am also really excited for Libba Bray’s next series too!

  5. alaina

    My favorite dress is the one featured on The Luxe book, but my favorite color is the dress featured on the Splendor book. I totally love the lavender color. I do also like the red dress as well . . . . .

  6. Ashley

    I like all the dresses, but the white with the red down the back is my favorite. I wish there was more books to come!

Let's Talk....

