The Perfect Excuse: Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge

Okay, so I have already read the entire Sookie Stackhouse series…in fact I did so in two weeks. However I feel this challenge presents the perfect excuse to re-read the entire series which I have been meaning to do anyway. It’s such a guilty pleasure. For those of you who don’t know the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris is the origin of HBO’s beloved True Blood. Yes, it’s based off  books…for those non-readers who are in denial that everything fantastic starts with a book for the most part.  This challenge is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is pretty straightforward.  Between July 1, 2009, and June 30, 2010, catch up on Charlaine Harris’s Southern Vampire series….really there is no excuse…this challenge lasts an entire year and although I am joining late…you will go through these like crazy…almost in a frenzy…..

The Books:

Dead Until Dark
Living Dead in Dallas
Club Dead
Dead to the World
Dead as a Doornail
Definitely Dead
All Together Dead
From Dead to Worse
Dead and Gone


Now once you are done with that and nice and hooked. You can then check out Charlaine Harris’ other series that I love starring a character named Harper Connelly.  And in May 2010 we will be “bitten” with the next Sookie Stackhouse book Dead in the Family. There are also numerous volumes of Sookie Stackhouse short stories and a new book with such will also come out in August 2010. So happy reading ya’ll!

2 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Challenges, Charlaine Harris

2 responses to “The Perfect Excuse: Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge

  1. I’ve heard these books are a good, easy read. Someday….someday….I think I’ll read them. Do you watch True Blood? I might have to rent previous seasons from Netflixs.

  2. stilettostorytime

    Well…I originally heard about the books from a friend who loved True Blood…we did not have HBO. I started reading the books and read them all in two weeks while I watched the first season through Netflix. Then I broke down and we got HBO and I got caught up on Season 2 on demand then had to wait for weekly episodes like everyone else (oh the horror!). The I moved in Harris’ other series….it was an addiction for about a month. I am ready to re-read for the challenge and also ready for Season 3 of True Blood!

Let's Talk....

