All Things Austen

Though by my own admittance I have neglected my blogging responsibilities (a new addition to the familial unit will do that to anyone even a devoted Janeite), I have been diligent in my following of all things Austen. And lately I have been very excited about a number of things….Sunday will be the premiere of the new Emma on Masterpiece Classic! I have told my husband that I am reserving babysitting from him and the bedroom TV for this occasion. While I have Return to Cranford sitting on the DVR and waiting, I cannot abide the thought of not catching Emma as it premieres. Also I am so excited about the Emma Twitter Party! Please do come, it’s so nice when those of like mind and passion get together (those of us who adore Austen and will do things like reserve our own bedroom for Materpiece Classic two weeks in advance with our most comfy jammies and laptop of course).

Also I have recently read some very nice Austen inspired works…I am currently devouring Lady Vernon and Her Daughter by Jane Rubino and Caitlen Rubino-Bradway which is a novel of Lady Susan. I especially enjoy how the authors have kept to Jane’s wit and style while also including the epistolary style which she wrote the original Lady Susan in. I simply cannot put it down at this point and hope to finish it within the day if Sir William (my 11 month old) permits.  Also on my nightstand: Jane Bites Back by Michael Thomas Ford and in the future Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart by Beth Patillohmmm we shall see. I have no problem with Austen inspired works as long as Austen herself and her work are given respect in some measure and it is obvious that the author has at least some type of devotion to her work and her style of writing (or has at least read her works). For instance I did so enjoy Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange recently.  So again we shall see… For reviews of many of these books check out Austenprose who is so diligent in her devotion to everything Austen. I only wish I could be so up to date, fortunately I have her elegant blog to keep me company and give me my regular dose of Austen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic Literature, Jane Austen, Masterpiece Theatre

Let's Talk....

