Playing Catch Up: Hunger Games Series

So much has been going on lately that I have barely posted but I have had my nose stuck in some fantastic fiction! For the past two days I have been reading The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. I had never read The Hunger Games so I was able to read that and then Catching Fire back to back. I loved them both. Such smart ideas and unique writing. So much of her futuristic society went back to basics and yet other parts like the Capitol reminded me of Scott Westerfeld’s work in the Uglies series. I thoroughly enjoyed the books and cannot wait for the next in the series. I love the mix of futuristic technology and natural survival skills. I see the future reverting to one of these two. In some ways I think our separation from nature and inability to survive within true nature may be our downfall like many of the tributes.  All in all some terrific writing and “can’t put it down” reading. Below is a synopsis of the latest book Catching Fire:

“Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.”

Another book that I have recently read on the futuristic society theme was The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. I read this book in about a day. I simply could not put it down. Her fast paced plot and interesting storyline keep you sucked into the story at a non-stop pace. I was intrigued by her idea of the future as a place haunted by the undead due to some sort of virus type illness. Zombie plots abound but this was done in such a new and classic way that I found myself finding beauty, sadness and life in the strangest places with her writing. Absolutely a must read…Ryan is also a native South Carolinian which is always nice. I love to find local authors making a splash in the book world! Below is a synopsis of The Forest of Hands and Teeth:

”  In Mary’s world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future—between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?”

1 Comment

Filed under Scott Westerfeld, Young Adult Books

One response to “Playing Catch Up: Hunger Games Series

  1. heartshapedlies

    I enjoyed reading The Hunger Games though I thought it was a bit of a letdown after all the hype! I can’t really think of what really made it a little less than perfect but it lacked something. I do look forward to reading Catching Fire though! Great review🙂

Let's Talk....

