The Silenced-Review

“In a world filled with sanctions and restrictions, Marena struggles to remember the past: a time before the Zero Tolerance Party murdered her mother and put her father under house arrest. A time before they installed listening devices in every home and forbade citizens to read or write. A time when she was free. In the spirit of her revolutionary mother, Marena forms her own resistance group—the White Rose.This is a chilling dystopian novel that leads readers to question the very essence of their identities. Who do you think you are?”

I have to admit at first I was really drawn to this book. As I started I really thought it would be similar to the Uglies series that I loved. However as my reading progressed I found that there is very little about this work beyond the plot. There is no real detail, no personalities, no feelings formed for the rather blank characters.  I think this might be intentional, a way to show the blankness and non-identity of this imagined time but it also seemed to disinterest me as a reader.  I enjoyed the premise but I wish there could have just been more….to make me invest myself in the story as a reader. I do see a chance for a sequel but I cannot say that I would read it unless I knew it had changed in some way. However if you are intersted in the dystopian type work….this may be a book for you. There is also a nice tie into history with resistance in World War II and the writer’s inspiration which we learn about in the Author’s Note. I felt more feeling and detail in that than much of the book. I have to say it was enough to keep my reading till the end but not necessarily something I would recommend to a fellow reader. I would love to hear if anyone else has read this and their comments?

Leave a comment

Filed under Young Adult Books

Let's Talk....

