Tunnels

I just finished Tunnels by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams last night. Initially I was afraid I would not enjoy this one but once I picked it up I was hooked. While Publishers Weekly did not give the book a great review, I have to say that I really enjoyed not only the concept but how in depth and detailed the work got.  It did in some ways remind me of The Books of Ember series but it was on a higher reading level and it also went into much more detail, sometimes I think it may have gotten a little too carried away on some issues such as alcohol and religion. Therefore I would probably recommend it for 12+. But it would be a great series for older kids who enjoyed The Books of Ember series and are looking for something similar. There are now three in the series. First comes Tunnels, then Deeper and next is Freefall. However since this is a UK book, in the US we can only currently get the first two. I will definetly be looking forward to the next few books and I think lots of kids will as well. This would be a great summer read for an adventurous boy! Or any readers of fantasy for that matter. However I think it is more suited for kids that really enjoy reading due to vocabulary level and length. I even had to think about some of the words! It would be a challenge for the reluctant reader. All in all though a great read and will keep you guessing til the next book! Below is a summary of Tunnels:

“14-year-old Will Burrows has little in common with his strange, dysfunctional family. In fact, the only bond he shares with his eccentric father is a passion for archaeological excavation. So when Dad mysteriously vanishes, Will is compelled to dig up the truth behind his disappearance. He unearths the unbelievable: a secret subterranean society. “The Colony” has existed unchanged for a century, but it’s no benign time capsule of a bygone era–because the Colony is ruled by a cultlike overclass, the Styx. Before long–before he can find his father–Will is their prisoner….”

2 Comments

Filed under Children's Literature

2 responses to “Tunnels

  1. I have a friend who HATES Tunnels. In fact, I had quite a few people who did not like this book. I am still not brave enough to read it. I am glad to hear a different perspective about this book. Maybe I will pick it up!🙂

  2. stilettostorytime

    You know I had mixed feelings about it but all in all, it did keep my attention and make me want to keep reading! I can see how some may not like it though. I especially had some issues with some of the material and the age group it was geared towards. Let me know what you think if you get a chance to read it!

Let's Talk....

