A Smattering of Stuff

  

 I have been naughty and not posting for some time now. It has been on my list of things to do but something else always seems to need to come first. So here I am but this post maybe be slightly scatterbrained since I have had so much to write about recently. Currently I am absorbed by The Host by Stephenie Meyer.  I had eagerly awaited it’s publication and now I think I can safely say that no one will be disappointed.  I am only about halfway through but it is one not to be put down.  It is a wonderful blend of what makes Stephenie Meyer so great in her young adult books but in a more detailed and adult voice.  Combine that with a wonderful plot reminding me of Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series and I think she has given us a winner.  I will save my review and final judgement for after I have finished.

 

  I am also very behind not just on my reading and blogging but also on my watching TV (what is she doing you might wonder). I have yet to begin Masterpiece’s Cranford and am eagerly awaiting time to do so.  Both People Magazine and Vogue gave it glowing reviews. Anytime something of this genre makes it into mainstream culture it is somewhat exciting. Judi Dench I am sure has nothing to do with it right?  But most reviewers and online sources seem to have enjoyed it and I am excited we might have another modern classic take on Elizabeth Gaskell’s work.

                  

     I have also been busily reading children’s books and have some new favorites for this week and last. Everyone at my branch has fallen in love with Down Girl and Sit. A series by Lucy Nolan, illustrated by Mike Reed. Perfectly delicious early chapter books that even parents will find themselve giggling over.  These are not necessarily new but sometimes you just find something that has been on the shelf that you somehow missed.  Early Chapter books are a difficult field because they need to be simplistic and sometimes the plot and writing suffer but now with this set.

    We have also been chuckling over The Perfect Nest by Catherine Friend, illustrated by John Manders.  A delightful picture book invlolving a hungry cat, and some very humorous animals. When Jack the cat concocts a plan to get some much desired eggs he finds himself with more than he can handle. A sure winner but how can you lose with a duck that cries “Sacre bleu!”. Bright colorful illustrations and a wonderful sense of expression make this one to share.

   And so while it may appear I have not been writing I have been working and keeping my eye on lots of new things. A wild array of things on this post but so are my tastes in some ways. All in all this summer promises to be a great one for reading with lots of new releases so don’t forget to check some out at your local library or book store.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult Books, Children's Literature, Children's Picture Books, Masterpiece Theatre, New Books, Young Adult Books

Let's Talk....

