A Haunting Southern Story

I just finished Tennyson by Lesley M. M. Blume. When it first came in I was drawn to it because of it’s cover and title but once I read the description I was hooked. I’m a sucker for southern literature. Also I went through a period when I was younger…My Anne of Green Gable Phase would probably be the best description of that time. I wanted to name my daughter either Tennyson, Guinevere or some reference to The Lady of Shalott. My mother is very glad that that blew over before I had children by the way.

However I loved Tennyson and would recommend it highly. Very haunting and honest. Great for the 9-12 set especially girls. Boys may be a little harder to get into this one. One of the things I loved the best about the book is the concentration on historical narrative such as the descriptions of the southern plantation houses and what became of them after the war. I also enjoyed the Southernisms shall we call them. Many of them I was told as a young child. But try and enjoy…my review is below if your interested and you can visit Lesley M. M. Blume’s site. She has a wonderful page on Tennyson which allows you to visit the sites of many Louisiana plantations such as Nottoway and The Myrtles . She put a lot of research into the book by visiting plantations in the Louisiana area and you can absolutely feel that in her book. She sets the stage perfectly.

Tennyson by Lesley M. M. Blume

Eleven year old Tennyson Fontaine desperately wants her mother to return home. Searching for his wife Tennyson’s father leaves her and her little sister Hattie at Aigredoux. Aigredoux is the Fontaine family plantation reduced to falling plaster and torn up stairs. A house haunted by both its magnificent and evil past. As Tennyson searches for ways to bring her mother back she finds the story of her ancestors and the plantation house seeping into her dreams. But maybe her dreams can help bring her lost mother home. Beautiful and imaginative Tennyson is a haunting southern tale not to be missed.

1 Comment

Filed under Books for Girls, Children's Literature, Lesley M. M. Blume

One response to “A Haunting Southern Story

  1. Sounds GREAT!!! I am going to check it out!

Let's Talk....

