Indian Fiction

Recently I have been struck by the amazing amount and quality of Indian fiction for readers of all ages. I myself have always loved fiction including characters of Indian descent or stories set in India itself and around that region. I spent a few weeks in India in 2001 and feel in love with the culture and people, reading about it takes me back to my days spent there. While traveling around Rhajistan I read Raj by Gita Mehta. I still have the copy I picked up in a booth in Delhi. Since then I have actively made the genre part of my personal reading on all levels. Whether for adults, teens or children there are some really wonderful works on the shelves. I recently finished There is Room for You and Bitter Sweets both of which are wonderful examples of fictional titles with Indian influences that have arrived in the last year. Both are stellar titles by the way that you must try! I have also done a story time for my preschool group that focused on India and I used many of the picture books that I have listed below.

Adults

There is Room For You by Charlotte Bacon

Bitter Sweets by Roopa Farooki

A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

Raj by Gita Mehta

Teens

Mango Dark, Koyal Sweet by Kashmira Sheth

Keeping Corner by Kashmira Sheth

Children

Bhindi Babes, Bhangra Babes and Bollywood Babes by Narinder Dhami

To Market, To Market by Anushka Ravishankar

My Mother’s Sari by Sandhya Rao

Mama’s Sari by Pooja Makhijani

Baya, Baya Lulla-by-a by Megan McDonald

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Children's Picture Books, Young Adult Books

3 responses to “Indian Fiction

  1. It is nice to read that you have fallen in love with India an its literature.

    I too have and as such have quit my job and will be living there for a year.

    In literature I love the descriptive nature of the writing and in juxtaposition how it can be nonchalant when concerning extreme or horrific situations.

    If you are heading back to India let me know and we can share some tea.

    col

  2. Nice thoughts. Let me thank you on behalf of all Indians.
    malathi

  3. Lovely list…It’s always a surprise reading Indian writers. Being an Indian, I have started reading more Indian writing only a couple of years back. It’s amazing as to how much talent is there. There are some more new writers on the block. You could probably try Usha K R or Ravi Subramanian. They’re good and have been shortlisted for Indiaplaza Golden Quill Awards.

Let's Talk....

