Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon October 2013

It’s that time again….you’ve probably guessed since the buzz on Twitter and around the book blog world is palpable. It’s been building for some time now.  It’s even the thing that gets me out of literary hiatus: it’s Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon time. Can it be…this is my 8th readathon?  My how each readathon has seen so many changes in my own life. That would be four years now for me. My how time flies when you are having fun. And this year I have the honor of hosting again…it’s been a into multiple years for that now too and it’s something I so look forward to. So come stop by hours 5-7 and say hello! And of course let me know what you are reading. That’s one of my favorite parts of Readathon! The librarian in me loves to snoop into others reading piles. But I love to share books as well….

So what am I reading?

IMG_1004

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Finding Colin Firth by Mia March

The Unidentified Readhead by Alice Clayton (ARC)

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

So what do you think? I will have to admit to hoarding some great books and not reading them until Readathon. Can you tell? It’s time now to start reading…so whether you are a readathon veteran or this is your very first year…remember to enjoy every second. I know I will.

Readathon Stat Tracker

Pages Read: 775

Hours Read: 16.5

Hours Hosting Readathon: 3

Mini-Challenges Completed: 14

Books Completed: 3

Opening Introduction

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Atlanta, Georgia
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Doctor Sleep by Stephen King…saving it for dark.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? I am ordering Thai for dinner so I am looking forward to spring rolls. Enjoying Green Tea all day too.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I am a former librarian turned Mommy to the sweetest child on Earth. I read as I breath..it is needed for life.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? Try to get in more solid reading. With hosting, mini-challenges, twitter conversations…it can get distracting from the actual reading. But those other things are also what makes readathon truly special and such a wonderful event.

Mad Libs Mini-Challenge

“There was a penguin in her room. Cath looked up at the pumpkin painted on the car, then down at the running shoe assignment in her hand. Pound Hall, 913. This was definitely tree 913, but maybe it’s wasn’t Pound Hall- all these dolphins looked alike, like public housing towers for the dumb. Maybe Cath should try to scratch her Dad before he brought up the rest of her kittens.”   ~Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Check out My Books on Books Challenge Picture

My Readathon Meme for Mini-Challenge: Readathon Ode to Hey Girl

Show It Off Mini-Challenge Entry

image(1)I didn’t expect to have a mini-challenge that would make me cry during this readathon but all that changed when you asked me to share the book that means the most in my personal library. You see the book above is not just a book and most will probably say that about their treasure tome too. However I doubt many will say a book and it’s authors helped save their child’s life. But this book did. It represents my fight and every moment of the last two years of my life: the hardest two years I will ever live God willing. My very first Dewey’s Readathon saw me the happiest I ever was. I had a beautiful baby boy and I was in my element spending my days reveling in Mommyhood and books. And then I lost my child….he literally disappeared in front of my eyes to this thing that has been labeled “autism”. My son’s autism wasn’t this sparkly “special” thing..it was not quirkiness….it was what felt like the death of a dream. My child was sick. He was gone and in the blink of an eye. He quit speaking completely around his second birthday. He would no longer look at me. He would no longer answer to his name or even acknowledge another person’s presence most of the time. I grieved for two seconds then I got mad. I turned into the librarian I was with a mission like no other, the mission of a mother trying to desperately save their child. I turned to what I knew best…books and the pursuit of knowledge.

I discovered a group of parents that have since become my mentors, my closest friends and my heroes-my family.  A group of 23 mothers and one father that refused to accept what had happened to their children was who they were all along, was in any way acceptable, was irreversible, was inherently genetic….was anything less than an epidemic deserving of an evolution. Two years of fighting day and night. Spending nearly a hundred grand on therapies and treatments NOT covered by insurance and praying to God every night as I looked into his beautiful face- And now I can share my son is coming back to me. He’s speaking again, he’s singing, he’s looking into my eyes, he’s playing with other children, he’s interested in books again…the list goes on and on and on. My son is coming back to me. And in large part I am getting to know my son for the first time in so many ways because of the parents behind this book.

That is why when I thought about what book to donate for a prize for readathon I chose this one. Because if I could put one book into the hands of anyone with a loved one affected by autism…it would be this one. With a child diagnosed with autism every 20 seconds….that’s a lot of hands. 1 in 88 children today and the information for those stats were collected 4 years ago! Because it could literally give a child their voice back, allow them a future and make possible a parent’s dream of life with the child that God gave them. There is no book that could or ever will match what this book has done in our family’s lives because nothing could ever be more important to me than my son. Autism may have been a stop on our journey but it will not be our final destination.

Readathon End Questionnaire

Which hour was most daunting for you? 23…There was absolutely some vigorous nodding going on at 7 am as the sun was getting bright.
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Fangirl was really great just like Eleanor & Park.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Keep up the great work!
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everyone really rocked it this year in all categories. Great job to all.
How many books did you read? 3
What were the names of the books you read?

The Wizard of Of by Frank L. Baum

The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud (Started Pre-Readathon)

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Which book did you enjoy most? Fangirl by far.
Which did you enjoy least? The Woman Upstairs I enjoyed but it was a tough one for me.
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Of course I will. See everyone in April and hopefully I will have the honor of co-hosting again next year.

13 Comments

Filed under Book Blogs, Events, Reading Challenge, Reading Fun

13 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon October 2013

  1. midnightbookgirl

    That is a fantastic pile! I’m listening to Doctor Sleep, and I got a half hour in while driving home from work this morning- it’s brilliant!
    Thank you for hosting, this is my 9th Readathon and I’m so impressed with how things are running today!

    But for now, have no fear!
    It’s Readathon and I’m here to cheer!
    Grab another book off that stack,
    It’s time for Readathon Pile Attack!

    #TeamPanda

    • stilettostorytime

      Thank you so much for the cheering and encouragement!! I am getting a slower start due to preparing to host this morning and then hosting for three hours but it is always so worth it! Happy Readathon to each of you.

  2. What a great list! I’ve got FanGirl too, although I have so many books we’ll see if I get to it!

  3. I’m waiting for Dr. Sleep at the library!

    Burial Rites is powerful- especially considering it’s a debut and the author is in her early twenties. Just read that it’s been optioned for a movie w/ Jennifer Lawrence starring. Could be amazing.

    • stilettostorytime

      Thank Catherine…I completely did not know that. I was so lucky both of them came in from the library just a few days before readathon like it was meant to be!

  4. You’re doing really well with both books finished and everything else read-a-thon-related. Kudos!

  5. I really enjoyed The Woman Upstairs.Her style was compulsively readable I thought. The new Stephen King is in my stack, too, but I seem to be spending way more time reading about other people’s reading and hardly anytime reading from the delicious stacks of books I so carefully chose. But it’s all books books books. So what can be more fun. Hope you enjoy the rest of your read-a-thon. *waves pom poms* (Cheering for you from Team Panda)

    • stilettostorytime

      I really enjoyed it too. It was a bit of a slow read for me though I am not going to lie. I was happy to get to finish it up during readathon though. Thanks for the cheer!!

  6. midnightbookgirl

    Loved your Mad Lib! You’re having a great Readathon!

    #TeamPanda

    Kate@MidnightBookGirl

  7. Keep going… you can do it!!! *TEAM PANDA*

  8. Kay

    Thank you so so much for sharing your story about this book. I was SO overwhelmingly happy to hear how you had been helped so much by this book. Sometimes a book really can change a life ❤ ❤

    • stilettostorytime

      Thank you Kay! They really can…I have found the two most important things you can have in the battle against autism are the strength only the love for your child can give you and the immense power of knowledge.

  9. Thank you so much for all your support and enthusiasm, Courtney!!! See ya in April! :D –Andi

Let's Talk....

