Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: April 2013

Today I must admit I am not feeling so hot at all. If it were any other Saturday I would probably crawl up in bed with a book and alternate with reading and naps….but it’s not a day that I will allow anything to keep me down so I will do a variation on the nap/reading plan. In case you haven’t heard… It’s Dewey Day!  Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon is under way. It’s kind of like Christmas for book bloggers and readers alike. Except we’re lucky because it comes twice a year in both April and October. Yep, It’s that time of year again readers…if you have followed Stiletto Storytime over the years at all you know this is one of my favorite events. This is my seventh Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon. I have worn many hats for this event over the years. I have been a reader, a cheerleader and a co-host long into the night…and this year I am honored to be co-hosting again. So if you’re reading this year…you’ll see me Hour 13-16. Make sure to say Hi! Below is my stack…something old, something new…but I always seem to wander to my shelves and library pile during this event so no doubt there will be some changes. So buckle up…and let’s get this show on the road. If you are stopping by please say hello and share what you’re reading!

DSCF4808

Introduction Questions

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Atlanta, Georgia 2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? All of them to be honest…but really I am still waiting for the perfect one to grab me! 3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Almond M & M’s 4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’m a Mommy to the cutest four year old you’ll ever meet. 5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? Since I have the honor of co-hosting this year I am kind of taking it easy and just doing some relaxing reading until my hours come up. Then I will focus on making hours 13-16 fun for all and then dive back into the books!

My Read-a-thon Results

Total # of Books Read:  2.75

# of Pages Read:  981

#of Hours Read: 12.5

# of Hours Co-Hosted: 4

# of Mini-Challenges Completed: 12

I began this Read-a-thon by finishing up a book for the Spring Into Horror Read-a-thon which is running simultaneously. I have just finished Little Star by Swedish author John Ajvide Lindqvist. Recently just finished Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza. Two down…on to the next. I’d say it’s time for the comfort that comes with re-reading a classic and personal favorite. I don’t have the copy of Rebecca that is featured below but Oh…how I wish I did.

Currently Reading

18 Comments

Filed under Book Blogs, Events, Reading Challenge, Reading Fun

18 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: April 2013

  1. Have a great readathon, Courtney! I loved The Passage (and bought The Twelve this week, but won’t read it just yet). I hope you get round to them. I haven’t heard of almond M&Ms but that sounds just up my street.

  2. stilettostorytime

    Thanks Judith! I loved the “Passage” too…it’s a re-read but I feel I need to before I dive into “The Twelve”. Almond M & M’s are the best! I’d send you some if I knew they wouldn’t melt on their long journey!

    • I think almond M&Ms still have to make their way to the Netherlands, we don’t have them yet afaik. Thanks for the offer. Melted, they just won’t be the same.

      I’ve heard that The Twelve has some introduction which includes the story of The Passage, but it’s not really enough. Re-reading The Passage is one idea, it was recommended to me to read a wikipedia entry on The Passage so I don’t have to read the whole book again. Actually, I read it during one of the readathons a few years ago.

      • stilettostorytime

        They might not make it in this season but maybe I can pull of getting some over to Europe around Book Blogger Holiday Card Exchange time? ;)

  3. This isn’t my best day either – do you think it’s the barometric pressure? I hope you have a blast with the readathon!

    • stilettostorytime

      Kathy- That’s an idea…it’s funny I keep seeing people on Twitter saying that they don’t feel so well today too and many are participating in the readathon…maybe we’re passing something around with all this reading! ;)

  4. I’ve heard great things about Justin Cronin novels and I have Rebecca on my Classics Club to-read list. Keep up the great work and hope you are having an enjoyable and productive reading day. I’m participating for the first time and focusing on cheering other book lovers on today.

  5. Oh Rebecca – I loved that book. Hope you enjoy it and that your reading goes well!!

  6. Great job hosting! I read the Passage already and I’ve been waiting for the R.I.P month to tackle The Twelve. Have tons of fun!

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks! I love co-hosting the readathon…it’s always so much fun! Now I am looking forward to getting away from the computer screens and back to the printed page for a bit! ;)

  7. Hope you are enjoying Rebecca! Keep going- I am reading also and I think I am getting to the limit- you are doing an awesome job!!!

  8. Thanks for co-hosting! I hope you’re still going strong!

  9. OMG, is that his newest book!? I love him! Did you read Let the Right One In (or Let Me In)? One of my favorite books!

    You did great hosting earlier. Just wanted to give you a thumbs up again. :)

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks so much! I think this is his newest book…I have to admit I had never heard of him. I was sent this ARC sometime ago by the publisher and it had been languishing on my shelf. When your horror readathon came along I thought…that would be perfect. I never expected to enjoy it so much or for it to be so good! I may have to look into his other works now.

  10. Hi there

    Just seen your comment on the main page. Keep on reading! You can make it!

    Chris (Team Lion – looking for readers with at least one eye open)

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks for stopping by Chris…I believe you said this is your first readathon? Hope you enjoyed it and thanks for joining us! We hope to see you back in October! Happy Reading!

  11. The read-a-thon was a huge success, as always :) The results are in for my Cover Me mini-challenge if you want to check them out http://stacybuckeye.wordpress.com/2013/04/28/read-a-thon-cover-me-mini-challenge/#comments

Let's Talk....

