Jane Austen Giveaway Hop featuring Austensibly Ordinary by Alyssa Goodnight

Welcome to Stiletto Storytime’s Jane Austen Giveaway Hop stop. So glad to have so many of my dear Janeites swinging by to try and score some great Jane inspired goodies. I am especially excited to be able to offer one lucky winner a Jane Austen inspired novel that is yet to be published. Austensibly Ordinary by Alyssa Goodnight will not be officially published until January 29, 2013 but you can win an ARC now and be one of the first to enjoy this modern day romp into Jane culture. Many of you will remember Alyssa’s novel Austentatious. You can check out my review for that work here. And read below about her latest endeavor into Jane Austen inspired fiction….

Steamy, funky, and thoroughly modern, Austin, Texas isn’t much like the gardened country estates of Jane Austen’s work. But there might be a few similarities in its inhabitants…
Cate Kendall is no stranger to daydreams of brooding men and fancy parties–after all, she teaches one of her beloved Jane Austen novels in her English classes every year. But as for romance or adventure in her own life, the highlight of most weeks is Scrabble with her cute coworker, Ethan, and he draws the line at witty banter. But Cate is ready for a change. When she finds a mysterious journal that seems to have a link to the soul of the great Jane Austen herself, she knows it’s her chance. And she grabs on with both hands…
Before she knows it, Cate has invented an alter ego with an attitude, attended some seriously chic soirees, and gotten tangled up with a delicious mystery man. And she’s uncovered enough unexpected secrets about Ethan that her Scrabble partner has taken to brooding looks and unfathomable silences. It’s a positively Austenite predicament, and Cate is sure she’ll land in hot water and heartbreak–but maybe not with Jane herself to guide her…”

Sounds great right? I know you can’t wait to read it just as much as myself. In fact I will be digging into my ARC soon and posting a review here at Stiletto Storytime in the future. In the meantime let’s get to the giveaway…I’m going to make it as simply as possible for all my Janeites. Simply share your favorite Jane Austen quote. It can be from one of her novels, her personal letters…etc. Just share a moment of Jane that has stuck with you until this day. That comment below will automatically enter you into the giveaway. After all what better way to celebrate dear Jane than to share her immortal words? I can’t wait to see what everyone chooses and hopefully hear some new to me quotes as well. So think…dig deep and try to be as original as possible. I will share my own favorite when I announce the lucky winner.

 Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Giveaway ends midnight EST on October 24th 2012. Giveaway open to US addresses only.

Good Luck to all and Happy Reading! And of course make sure to check 0ut all the blogs in the fabulous The Jane Austen Giveaway Hop. One to make sure you stop by is author Alyssa Goodnight’s Blog where she is giving away a copy of Austentatious.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower Author Alyssa Goodnight on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about the Jane Austen Giveaway Hop Stop at Stiletto Storytime (Please leave link in comments)

53 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Blog Tour, Classic Literature, Jane Austen, New Books

53 responses to “Jane Austen Giveaway Hop featuring Austensibly Ordinary by Alyssa Goodnight

  1. Jaycie

    I’m not going to list a quote, but a favorite passage. Hope that’s ok!

    In Northanger Abbey, I was laughing and on the edge of my seat when Catherine suspects General Tilney of murdering his wife. I couldn’t put the book down as Catherine was tramping about the Abbey trying to figure out what was in the rooms that no one ever entered.

    And then when General Tilney did appear and later Henry, I was truly embarrassed by Catherine’s actions!

    But by far, one of my favorite passages of writing!

    • stilettostorytime

      Jaycie- Perfect…favorite scenes or moments work just fine! Northanger Abbey is a personal favorite of mine. I usually re-read around this time of year for it’s gothic atmosphere! Thanks for sharing!

  2. JuneA**

    “You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever. I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own than when you almost broke it, eight and a half years ago. Dare not say that a man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant.” Frederick Wentworth in the LETTER!!!! Persuasion, of course! Thanks for the chance to win, I’m looking forward to reading this!!

  3. holdenj

    “Till this moment, I never knew myself” from P&P. Thanks!

  4. Monja Blue

    The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.
    Jane Austen
    Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/j/jane_austen.html#ehkOxdVUzJC46iVJ.99

  5. Sophia Rose

    My favorite scene is from Persuasion just after Louisa Musgrove fell and Captain Wentworth realized that he still loved Anne and then his letter was absolutely beautiful too.

    Thanks for the giveaway opportunity. For a bonus entry, I already follow Alyssa Goodnight on Twitter as sophiarose1816

    Sophia
    sophiarose1816 at gmail dot com

  6. Alicia

    Hi,
    Here is one of my favorite quotes from Pride and Prejudice:
    “I have not the pleasure of understanding you.”
    I don’t know why, but that sentence just rings really true to me, it takes a lot to really understand someone and those are the closest friendships that we can have.

    I’m following both of you on Twitter (dmr_8888) and I’m following the blog by email – dmr8888 at yahoo dot com.

    Thanks for having the giveaway!

    • stilettostorytime

      Alicia- I love that one. It’s so true. Sometimes we want to understand another person so badly…especially people we love. And yet…sometimes it seems so impossible to fully know another person. This is yet another example for me of Austen’s amazing ability and talent when it comes to understanding social dynamics and relationships. Especially but not limited to those of the heart.

  7. The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.
    —Jane Austen, “Northanger Abbey”
    (Susan Heim; smhparent [at] hotmail [dot] com)

  8. Tressa S

    I think my favorite right now would be: “but for my own part, if a book is well written, I always find it too short.” (quoted from Austen) I have read some good books lately and I loved them and was sad that I had finished them. :)

  9. Stephanie L

    My favorite is the already mentioned The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid. So I’ll list my second, which is on my coffee mug.
    “Obstinate, headstrong girl!” Lady Catherine, P&P
    I follow Alyssa Goodnight on Twitter.

    thx4praying at aol dot com

  10. Is it so sad that I’ve not read them enough to be able to quote her or pull out one at random? :0( I wish I still had my copies. *sigh* Thanks for the chance even if I can’t do a quotable.

    Jesse
    jesse.kimmelfreeman@gmail.com

  11. Margay

    “You pierce my soul” – gets me every time.

    Margay1122ATaolDOTcom

  12. Monica

    This blog hop is such fun! My favorite quote (though there are SO SO many great ones to choose from!) is “Run mad as often as you choose, but do not faint!” When I’m having a crappy day or things just aren’t working out my way, it’s my little reminder that life might make me a little crazy sometimes but it’s not gonna knock me out. Lol

    I follow SS and Alyssa on Twitter

  13. Stephanie Carrico

    For what do we live,but to make sport of our neighbors,and laugh at them in our turn?
    lacarrico((AT))yahooDOTcom
    Stephanie

  14. Mer

    Here’s one that always comes to mind when I’m dealing with people who like to hear themselves talk: “Elinor agreed with it all, for she did not think he deserved the compliment of rational opposition.”

  15. Chanpreet

    Let’s see. I follow both you and Ms.Goodnight on twiiter. I retweeted your tweet regarding this giveaway. (https://twitter.com/StiletoStrytime/status/259521018371117056)

    I follow the blog, and my favorite quote is below.

    “Friendship is certainly the finest balm for the pangs of a disappointed love.” -Jane Austen

    I can’t even begin to tell you how true that is. And I’m sure it applies to many of girls/women across the millennia.

    kaur_chanpreet(at)hotmail (dot)com

  16. candymorton

    “….I thought only of you.” ~ I melt at that!

    “I am going to-morrow where I shall find a man who has not one agreeable quality, who has neither manner nor sense to recommend him. Stupid men are the only ones worth knowing, after all.” ~ that one makes me laugh!

    Fantastic giveaway! Thanks!

    canapple7(at)cox(dot)net
    @CandyM037 ~ I’ll follow you on twitter
    I do follow Alyssa Goodnight on twitter.

  17. vicky

    I cannot fix on the hour, or the look, or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun….
    love pulls you in! mrsbrinius at comcast dot net

  18. “Ah! There is nothing like staying at home, for real comfort.”
    ― Jane Austen

    Who know Jane had something in common with Hobbits? And hermits like me. :)

  19. Tina K.

    “No lace. No lace, Mrs. Bennett, I beg you!” – By, Mr. Bennet in Pride and Prejudice
    castlefan[at]att[dot]net

  20. Chelsea

    “The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.” – by Henry Tilney in Northanger Abbey
    crystal_dark[at]att[dot]net

  21. Katie P.

    You pierce my soul…. (Swoons) That is quite possibly one of the most beautiful lines in a proposal….. But really, anything Jane Austen writes is beautiful!
    I also am a GFC follower of this blog as ChristianGirl203

  22. Ginna

    “You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope” – just delicious!

    GinnaSaisQuoi at verizon dot net

  23. Danielle

    I’m a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

  24. Danielle

    I follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (DanieGirlASL)

  25. Danielle

    I follow Author Alyssa Goodnight on Twitter (DanieGirlASL)

  26. “Ah! There is nothing like staying at home, for real comfort
    This quote is perfect for me — the ultimate homebody :)
    Thanks

  27. Follow Alyssa Goodnight on Twitter(@Kulmona)

  28. bamr07

    My favorite Jane Austin Quote is from Pride and Prejudice

    “From the very beginning— from the first moment, I may almost say— of my acquaintance with you, your manners, impressing me with the fullest belief of your arrogance, your conceit, and your selfish disdain of the feelings of others, were such as to form the groundwork of disapprobation on which succeeding events have built so immovable a dislike; and I had not known you a month before I felt that you were the last man in the world whom I could ever be prevailed on to marry.”
    ― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

    fotw_1999 at yahoo dot com

  29. bamr07

    a Follower Author Alyssa Goodnight on Twitter
    @BarbaraAnnRyan

    fotw_1999 at yahoo dot com

  30. bamr07

    A Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

    @BarbaraAnnRyan

    fotw_1999 at yahoo dot com

  31. bamr07

    Tweeted about the Jane Austen Giveaway Hop Stop at Stiletto Storytime

    Barbara

    fotw_1999 at yahoo dot com

  32. bamr07

    a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

    bamr07

    Barbara R.
    fotw_1999 at yahoo dot com

  33. share your favorite Jane Austen quote. It can be from one of her novels, her personal letters…etc. Just share a moment of Jane that has stuck with you until this day…
    obviously Captn FW’s letter… but don’t want to repeat one you’re familiar with, so my next fave…
    “None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives.” Sophia Croft in Persuasion

    offering a vintagey S&S at FHC til mon 29th
    THX for your participation!

  34. @_eHope is a Follower Author Alyssa Goodnight on Twitter

  35. @_eHope became a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

  36. Cassi

    I love everything about Pride and Prejudice :)
    Thanks!
    cassinz10 at gmail dot com

  37. “The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”

    tehe I love this quote! Thanks for the giveaway :)

  38. I follow Alyssa Goodnight on twitter as @peaceluvbooks

  39. I also follow Stiletto Storytime on twitter as @peaceluvbooks

  40. stilettostorytime

    Thank you all so much for sharing. I promised to share one of my favorite quotes when announcing a winner…many of you hit on my favorites so I will share a more obscure one from “Sense and Sensibility” that I think demonstrates Austen’s amazing ability to create complex characters and eloquently acquaint her readers with them.

    “She (Elinor) had an excellent heart; her disposition was affectionate, and her feelings were strong; but she knew how to govern them: it was a knowledge which her mother had yet to learn, and which one of her sisters had resolved never to be taught.”

    And so now for our dedicated Janeite winner…chosen by random number generator was….Stephanie Carrico. Congratulations Stephanie!!

  41. JuneA**

    Congratulations Stephanie!

Let's Talk....

