Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon: October 2012

  

It’s that time of year again readers…if you have followed Stiletto Storytime over the years at all you know this is one of my favorite events that takes place every year in April and October. This is my sixth Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon. I have worn many hats for this event. I have been a reader, a cheerleader and a co-host long into the night in April. Every experience has been special and this year I am looking forward to being simply a reader again and really focusing on the reading. So what am I reading?

                 

This year I am kind of pushing the boundaries by choosing two very long books and one shorter YA. Often it’s best to choose multiple shorter titles to keep the momentum going but this year I simply had to re-read Justin Cronin’s The Passage so I could dive into The TwelveI also chose Beta  by Rachel Cohn as my go to break book if needed since the first two books are 500-700 pages respectfully. But I am so excited to dig in and hopefully even get some reviewing and blogging done as well.

So won’t you join me? There’s still time sign up and get involved. Join hundreds of readers from all over the world dedicated to reading together for an entire 24 hours. You can sign up here. Enjoy hourly updates, mini-challenges, giveaways and so much more. So come on be a part of literary greatness…join us. I will regularly update my progress on this same post so check back and see how things are going and share your experience. Happy Reading to All!

Read-a-thon Progress 

Current Book: The Passage by Justin Cronin

Books Completed: 0

Pages Read:601

Hours Reading: 8.5

Mini-Challenges Completed: 11

Introductory Questionnaire

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Atlanta, Georgia in the USA
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Twelve by Justin Cronin
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?  My sea salt bagel chips & chocolate covered almonds. Yum!
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I am the mother of an amazingly loving and intelligent three year son who just happens to have autism…we are fighting every day and winning!
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I have participated in six of these read-a-thons as a reader, cheerleader and co-host…excited this year to lay back and enjoy the ride while focusing on the reading!

Book Puzzle Mini-Challenge from One Librarian’s Book Reviews

                     

Can you guess the book title from the images above?

18 Comments

Filed under Book Blogs, Challenges, Contests, Events, New Books, Reading Challenge, Reading Fun, Young Adult Books

18 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon: October 2012

  1. The good thing about The Passage is that it’s such a page-turner. Happy reading!

    • stilettostorytime

      I know I loved it the first time and I am so excited to re-read it before I dive into ‘The Twelve”. Best of luck and Happy Reading Friend!

  2. What fun! I didn’t re-read The Passage (yet) but I’m definitely excited to pick up The Twelve soon!

  3. Hope you’re having fun! You’ve picked great books…

  4. I hope you have an awesome readathon!

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks Kathy! Hope you are doing well…I have been out of it for a bit. Need to head over and catch up on Bermuda Onion! ;)

  5. Good luck with your reading, especially with a 3-year-old in the house!

    • stilettostorytime

      I’m lucky…I’ve been doing this read-a-thon for so many years now…my husband knows he has “little man” duty when April and October roll around! I am enjoying undisturbed reading at this time! Ahhh…the life.

  6. Enjoy your day as a reader! Hope you get lots of reading done without the other responsibilities.

  7. Is your book puzzle A Wrinkle in Time (a favorite book from my childhood)?

  8. I picked up some chocolate covered almonds for tonight on my way home from work yesterday. VERY much looking forward to them! Have a great readathon!

  9. Oh my heavens, I was WAY off in my guesses for the Book Puzzle. I was thinking something about Faces and Bunnies. :) Thanks for joining in the challenge and hope you enjoy the rest of your read-a-thon!

  10. WRINKLE IN TIME! I finished that today as my first book in the readathon! Great rebus. :D

  11. I hope you are enjoying your books. Have an awesome rest of the Readathon!

  12. The Passage is a great book and it’s nice that you have The Twelve, too. I’m keen to read it myself. Have a good readathon!

  13. I was sorry that I couldn’t read this year. I still have the Passage and now The Twelve waiting on my shelves. The size is daunting.

Let's Talk....

