7th Annual 48 Hour Book Challenge

Sometimes Twitter can be quite serendipitous. I had planned to try and relax this weekend while doing lots and lots of reading and trying perhaps even to catch up on my review list as well. As I was on Twitter sharing my FridayReads and signing up for a few upcoming readathons (check my side bar buttons for any upcoming readathon information), I began chatting with Kathrin at Secret Dreamworld of a Bookaholic which led me to check out her blog. Low and behold she had just posted her starting post for The 48 Hour Book Challenge which is one of my favorite reading events but unfortunately it is also one I always seem to miss. I participated in 2009 and 2010 ( I had some great snacks that year!) but I missed last year for some reason. Well thanks to Kathrin, I will not be missing the 2012 event.

So if you had some reading planned this weekend…why not enter? You can set your 48 hour time frame for the hours that work best for you. There’s still time to join. Just head on over to MotherReader for more information and/or to sign up.  Also don’t forget to keep up with everyone and their reading on Twitter using #48hbc. My time frame is going to be from 9pm tonight until 9pm on Sunday night. I will do all my updates on this post so check back if you want to follow. I would make my time frame a bit later but I am trying to be practical  and let’s be honest for me nothing will getting done beyond 9pm Sunday when the next season of True Blood begins.

So what will I read? Well right now I am re-reading all the books in Lauren Kate’s Fallen series. I recently received an ARC of Rapture and need to write my review for The New York Journal of Books sometime this weekend. I like to always refresh on a series before I do a review. Gives me a fresh perspective back into the world of that series as well and I think I enjoy the new addition more that way.  I just started Torment today so that will be my first book of the challenge. I also have been casually dipping into the pages of The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa and finishing up An Unmarked Grave Charles Todd which will have a tour stop here on Stiletto Storytime next week. I have also have been lazily perusing Strong Medicine by Arthur Hailey- a random 1980’s paperback that somehow found its way to me. Anyone ever heard of it? That should get me started…you think?

Are there any books you think I should make a “must” for my weekend reading? What are you currently reading? If you are participating in the event please leave me a comment below so that I can come visit and follow your progress as well. Thanks again to Kathrin for the heads-up and happy reading to all!

48 Hour Book Challenge

Current Books

Books Completed: 4

Torment by Lauren Kate

Jane Eyre (A BabyLit Board Book) by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver (Bedtime Reading with Son) x 2

Hide & Squeak by Heather Vogel Frederick (Bedtime Reading with Son) x 2

No More Bottles for Bunny by Bernette Ford (Bedtime Reading with Son)

Pages Read: 963

Reviews Written: 0

Total Hours Spent: 14.5

8 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Events, Reading Fun

8 responses to “7th Annual 48 Hour Book Challenge

  1. That sounds like you have a good starting list! I’m glad you didn’t miss this year.

  2. Glad you could participate this year. Sometimes the timing works out, and sometimes it doesn’t. I’m off to read some stuff from Netgalley, and am too addled to come up with any good recommendations, but it looks like you are set!

  3. Okay, you did it, Courtney. I can never pass up these things. I’m so glad you posted about it. Otherwise, I might have missed it. I can’t believe none of my other read-a-thon addict friends haven’t posted it. I guess I’ll have to be the one to let them know. ;) Have fun!

    • stilettostorytime

      So excited that I was able to let other people know…someone did that for me. I missed the event last year because I didn’t know. I am chugging along with my reading and also trying to visit others. Thanks for the visit and I am looking forward to your read-a-thon in July!

  4. So glad to hear I’m not the only one switching between books! I’m currently oscillating between “Perfect” by Ellen Hopkins, “Bitter in the Mouth” by Monique Truong, and “The Abstinence Teacher” by Tom Perrota (listening to this one on CD). I would highly recommend all of them.
    Thanks for checking out my blog and hope you are enjoying your books :)

  5. Hello! Hope you are continuing to enjoy your reading and I know you are excited about tonight’s True Blood. I’ll be glued to the Tony’s as I am a drama junky. I’ve been reading a wide array of books, currently reading The Friendship Doll which is fascinating. Best wishes and Book People Unite!

  6. Congratulations on your finish! My niece loves the Jane Eyre board book – what did your son think?

  7. Great reading! I went ahead and checked in for you on the Finish Line. If you have a donation for RIF, you can add it to this post or in the comments at MR. Thanks for playing!

Let's Talk....

