Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon: April 2012

     It’s that time of year again dear readers. The Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon. One of my absolute favorite events of the “reading” year. This will be my fifth year participating in this event. I have been tapped to co-host for a few hours later this evening ( 9pm to 2am EST) so please come and visit and I also will be cheering through-out the day so my reading may have to be quite minimal. However I encourage you to check out the site and see what the event is all about….it’ still early in the game. You could still join. There’s always time to read!

Due to my heavier working this year in the behind the scenes operations I have chosen a much smaller selection of books than I might normally. Below is what I hope to read during this read-a-thon. I am also hoping to write two reviews as well. Kind of ambitious, there may be no sleep for me! Whatever your read-a-thon goal, I wish you happy reading!

Read-a-Thon Totals 

Currently Reading: The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Books Finished: 1: Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

Pages Read: 741

Hours Read: 8.5

Mini-Challenges Completed: 6

Co-Host Posts Written: 5 hours

Review Written: 1: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Snacks Consumed: Cinnamon Bread & Orange Juice, Turkey Sandwich & Arizona Green Tea, Petit Ecolier European Chocolate Biscuits

Introductory Questionnaire

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Atlanta, GA (USA)

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? “Lone Wolf” by Jodi Picoult. It has been on my shelf for awhile and I finally get to sit down and reading it rather than just glancing at it longingly while I review other books.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? My Simply Salt Pita Chips
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’m a librarian turned SAHM.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? This read-a-thon is definitely differently for me since it will be my first time co-hosting…wish me luck. As with every year I just try to have fun and roll with it! That’s what it’s supposed to be all about right?

Re-Reading Mini-Challenge

The Blue-Stocking Society wants to know what book I like to re-read. This is such an amazingly easy answer for me. Every year and when I am feeling down or sick I read Jane Eyre. I don’t know that I can fully describe why but there is a comfort there…a soothing peace I find when I re-read it. I know what will happen but it soothes me just the same. The relationship between Jane and Rochester both thrills and fulfills my reading imagination. I adore the book. I could never read it too much or even watch too many adaptations even for that matter. Other books I re-read are the works of Jane Austen and Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier but neither not nearly as much as my Jane Eyre.

11 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Events, Reading Challenge, Reading Fun

11 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon: April 2012

  1. I hope you’re having fun!

  2. Simply Salt Pita Chips sounds like a wonderful snack. Happy reading and co-hosting. Have a wonderful time!

  3. Absolutely … it’s all about having fun and just rolling with it! I read an interview with Jodi Picoult about Lone Wolf, about she spent time interviewing a wolfkeeper for it. Sounds like an interesting one. Enjoy!

  4. Here to cheer! Cool that you’re co-hosting this time. And I think you’re very wise to keep your book stack small so you can enjoy the participation aspect of read-a-thon more. Have a great day!

  5. From your stack of books, I’ve only read Lone Wolf. I really enjoyed it. I hope you’re able to read it.

  6. Thanks for being a co-host! I hope your reading is going well.

  7. Stopping in to see how you are doing! Keep on keeping on and have fun :)

  8. stilettostorytime

    Thanks for all the encouragement…it’s been quite different reading, cheering and co-hosting but I am enjoying every minute. Make sure to say hi when I am posting on the site and thanks for stopping by!

  9. I hope your cohosting is going well! Thanks so much for pitching in to help this amazing event run smoothly.

  10. Hey! I don’t know when you last updated the totals, but you’re doing great!

  11. Thanks for participating in my mini-challenge. I love to reread all of the books you mentioned. In fact, I think I’m due for a JANE EYRE reread soon.

Let's Talk....

