Review & Giveaway: The Thirteen by Susie Moloney

       “Haven Woods is suburban heaven, a great place to raise a family. It’s close to the city, quiet, with great schools and its own hospital right up the road. Property values are climbing. The streets are clean, people keep their yards really nicely. It’s fairly pet friendly, though barking dogs are not welcomed. The crime rate is practically non-existent, unless you count the odd human sacrifice, dismemberment, animal attack, demon rape and blood atonement. When Paula Wittmore goes home to Haven Woods to care for a suddenly ailing mother, she brings her daughter and a pile of emotional baggage. She also brings the last chance for twelve of her mother’s closest frenemies, who like to keep their numbers at thirteen. And her daughter, young, innocent, is a worthy gift to the darkness.

A circle of friends will support you through bad times. A circle of witches can drag you through hell.”

If The Stepford Wives and Rosemary’s Baby had a literary love child it would result in something almost exactly like The ThirteenDark and yet exceedingly proper the novel has a special kind of allure that pulls readers into it’s twisted world of the pristine suburb of Haven Woods where perfection comes at a price. With unique characters that walk on both the light and the dark side, The Thirteen combines mystery, witchcraft and the always terrifying family relationship dynamic in a perfect blend of horror and normalcy. It’s a creepy work that keeps you reading and guessing long into the night and it might even encourage the use of a night light when you finally do decide to put it down. The perfect book for ladies who like a dash of evil mixed in with their contemporary dramas.

Some women will do anything for their dearest desires to come true and the women of Haven Woods are exceedingly ambitious. So pick up a copy and see just how far they will go to remain The Thirteen.

 Book Giveaway

 Thanks to the terrific folks at William Morrow, Stiletto Storytime has TWO fantastic copies of The Thirteen to give away to lucky readers. This double giveaway will end midnight EST April 25, 2012. US/Canada addresses only please. Winner will be contacted by e-mail.

To enter just comment below and share you favorite recent read. I’d love to know what books are currently sitting snug on your bedside table and which ones are forever in your hands.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower of Author Susie Moloney on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

24 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, New Books

24 responses to “Review & Giveaway: The Thirteen by Susie Moloney

  1. P

    I just finished The Baker’s Daughter and am now reading 112263. I loved Angel Burn & Angel Fire and also The Baker’s Daughter

    • stilettostorytime

      I really enjoyed 11-22-63. I am not much of a King fan but I did really like that one and “Under the Dome”. Both were pretty lengthy though. Thanks for the suggestions.

  2. Pam Keener

    I follow Stiletto Storytinme via e-amil subscription

  3. Bridget O'Neill

    My favorite recent read is probably Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult, but my all time favorites are most of Jennifer Weiner books. She is my favorite author!

    I am a follower.

    I am a follower of Stiletto Storytime on twitter

    • stilettostorytime

      Wow Bridget…we have very similar tastes. I enjoy Jennifer Weiner too and “Lone Wolf” has been patiently waiting on my bedside table for quite some time now. I think I will read it during the “Dewey 24 Hour Read-a-thon” this weekend. Considering your tastes you should really check out Sarah Pekkanen if you haven’t already. She’s great.

      • Bridget O'Neill

        I actually have read her first two books (and her 2 short stories) and can’t wait to get my hands on her new book!

  4. I didn’t think this would be for me because of the witchcraft element, but I loved Rosemary’s Baby and The Stepford Wives so I’m rethinking it now. My favorite recent read is The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh.

    I subscribe in Google Reader.

    I follow you on Twitter.

  5. Rae Lovvorn

    I almost always end up adding the books you review to my To Read list!

  6. Seems I don’t quite read what others here may. In large measure, I follow this blog to help with my reader’s advisory skills (I am a librarian). Now and then I do find interesting things here, and the idea of Stepford Wives and Rosemary’s Baby does sound like fun haha. Plus, maybe I can share it with the Better Half. I always find something interesting here, whether it is something I would read or not. Cool.

    Anyhow, I am currently reading a bit of nonfiction; White Bread, which is a social history of…well, white bread in the U.S. Who knew Wonder Bread and such could be so complex?

    And yes, I also follow on Twitter (@gypsylib).

    Best, and keep on blogging.

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks A- I love that you follow for reader’s advisory. That’s a high and appreciated compliment coming from a fellow librarian. I’ve always known I could have a more “successful” or “highly followed” blog if I narrowed my reading and reviewing to a particular genre or area but to me keeping it eclectic is important because that’s what I read first of all but also because I want to expose readers to all sorts of things that they might otherwise not have heard of or seen. Now I can add aiding in reader’s advisory education to that category as well. Thank you very much your compliments mean a lot. Cheers and Happy Reading!

  7. Ohhh! This sounds exciting! Can’t wait to get my hands on this book now!

    A book I read awhile ago is A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. Sounds like someone that likes this would enjoy that. My favorites recently were of course The Hunger Games and Feed (a soon to be trilogy, the third is out in June). The author of Feed, Mira Grant, is amazing and the zombie apocalypse in her book seems very real!

    • stilettostorytime

      I loved “Discovery of Witches”…I camped out and kind of devoured it in two days with a toddler in tow which can really hinder your reading speed if you know what I mean! I can’t wait for the sequel “Shadow of Night” which comes out on July 10th!

  8. Debra Livingston

    This sounds like a great read. I can’t wait to try this one!

    I recently read “Sing You Home” by Jodi Piccoult. She is my favorite author, and, as always, didn’t disappoint. The music that comes with it is lovely and unexpected :)

  9. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 15- Rock n’ Roll Readers

  10. Wow, this sounds like a gripping book!

    My favourite recent read is actually still in progress, but I’m really enjoying it a lot so far. It’s “Bad Move” by Linwood Barclay. I usually read thrillers/horror/mystery novels, and this one is exactly like that… only with a really great sense of humour and comedy to it. Plus, I’m really liking the narrative and I can already see this becoming a fast favourite.

    And I subscribed to Stiletto Storytime via mailing list. :D

  11. I haven’t read anything this year that I would consider a favorite. =( The closest book would probably be Witch’s Brew (The Spellspinners of Melas County #1) by Heidi R. Kling.

    I follow through Google Reader.

  12. I have a toddler…well 3 now…I have a hard time reading!! I think I need some tips!! Please enter me in your contest! :) I follow you through google reader as well. Thanks for being a host in the 24 hour read a thon! Even today…I couldn’t read until the kiddos were in bed :)

  13. Carolsue

    I am reading Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

  14. Carolsue

    I follow you on Twitter as MsCarolsueA
    Digicats {at} Sbcglobal {dot} Net

  15. Carolsue

    I follow Susie Maloney on Twitter as MsCarolsueA
    Digicats {at} Sbcglobal {dot} Net

  16. Krysykat

    I just finished Vamparazzi by Laura Resnick, it was awesome :)
    I subscribe via e-mail
    follow both via Twitter- @YearofTiger86
    Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/YearofTiger86/status/194329375473278976

    Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

  17. Karen

    I just finished reading Stay Close by Harlan Coben, it was very good. I’m looking forward to reading The Thirteen!
    I follow via e-mail at kpg813 at gmail dot com
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  18. stilettostorytime

    Thanks to all who entered to enjoy some “horrific” reading…we have two winners chosen by random number generator and they are: A. Rivera and Debra Livingston! Woohoo! Congrats to both and good luck to everyone on future giveaways!

Let's Talk....

