Book Blog Tour for 2108: Eyes Open

“It’s the year 2108. I just turned 16. That means I can access the autopilot on my Aerokopa. So now, I can both fly and surf the Holoworld at the same time. But what good is that when I don’t even have a date to my best friend’s party of the century? Okay, well, one of the Holdouts offered to go with me…but there’s NO WAY I’m going with one of them! And then there are the Trollers docked at the wharf. They’re most likely spies working with the Aliens, bringing nothing but trouble. But with this visit, they may even bring war. It would be treason to talk to them, let alone…befriend one. But what’s a curious girl to do? Did I tell you I have a propensity for trouble?”

      Jewel Peara has just come of age…she’s finally beginning to earn those things in life that separate the child from the adult. You know…the simple things we all look forward to in the future like having her vehicle be able to be programmed to auto-pilot and gaining even more freedom to come and go as her father’s trust grows.  She’s not unlike many young teens except for the fact that she lives in the year 2108 in world that has been taken over by in-human life forms. In fact her native land of New Zealand seems to be the only country left of “naturals” as they call humans who have chosen not to be physically altered by genetic or scientific means.

Like most teens Jewel’s main concerns center around things like who she will take to her best friend’s cosmic birthday party? The perfect date seems elusive…in fact any date seems elusive truth be told. How humiliating can it get? But then she meets Forge and everything changes. She’s never met a Bionic and she never expected one to be like this. As they spend time together their relationship seems to grow and even though she knows his type is dangerous, she just can’t seem to stay away. Will her trust backfire or has she truly met the being of her wildest dreams?

In K.L. Glanville’s first book of a unique series, we are introduced to a world far into the future full of beings, inventions and creations that are out of this world and yet there are moments when Jewel and her world seem so very familiar.  With strong characters and a well though out plot, 2108: Eyes Open is a read that will pull you in and leave you wanting more. I won’t lie this book was a little out of my comfort zone…not something I might normally pick up since I tend to shy away from science fiction or fantasy of a certain type. However something pulled me in about this book and I am glad it did. I truly enjoyed the ride and really become involved in the relationship between Forge and Jewel. Enough so that I personally will be eagerly awaiting the next volume to find out what happens next in this taboo love story from the future. Sometimes I guess it pays to take a chance with your reading choices, you never know what might happen.

But don’t just take my word for it. You can follow the 2108: Eyes Open Book Blog Tour here for reviews, author guest post and chances to win your own copy of the novel.

 Book Giveaway

As part of the celebration of 2108: Eyes Open Book Blog Tour, Stiletto Storytime is happy to be able to choose one lucky winner to receive their very own copy for their distinct reading pleasure. This giveaway will end midnight EST April 25, 2012. US/Canada addresses only please. Winner will be contacted by e-mail.

To enter just comment below and share a book that you’ve enjoyed that may have been outside your reading comfort zone like this one was for me. Have you ever dared to walk on the wild side of literature?

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower of Author K.L. Glanville on Twitter

Like Author K.L. Glanville on Facebook

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

14 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Dystopian, Fantasy, New Books, Young Adult Books

14 responses to “Book Blog Tour for 2108: Eyes Open

  1. The most recent book I’ve read and enjoyed that was outside of my comfort zone was Crank by Ellen Hopkins. I normally don’t read book that are about drug abuse because it reminds me of my brother. (No, he isn’t an addict, but there was a time when it was all he did. He is very successful in life now without drugs!)

    I follow via
    email: doodlesbookblog at gmail dot com
    twitter: @erencich
    fb: Emily Rencich

    follow K.L. Glanville on twitter & fb too!

    tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/erencich/status/191699383199346689

  2. carlrscott

    I have read out side my comfort zone frequently and more often than not it has opened up whole new worlds for me. I was never a big fan of books about sports until I picked up Lawrence S. Ritter’s The Glory of Their Times. Great old-time baseball stories, probably not for everyone but I loved it.
    I am aFollower of Stiletto Storytime by email: carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx

    I am a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter: @carlrscott

    I am a Follower of Author K.L. Glanville on Twitter: @carlrscott

    I Like Author K.L. Glanville on Facebook: Carl Scott

    I tweeted about this birthday giveaway: https://twitter.com/#!/carlrscott/status/191761257399980032

    Thanks!

  3. Taking American Lit in college has definitely broadened my literary horizons, albeit often against my will. There are times when I want to hurl Faulkner against a wall because he gives me a serious headache or throw Hemingway out the window because his writing is the epitome of boring. However, I don’t think I would find the motivation to read classic literature if it wasn’t for that class and I don’t think I would be getting the most out of classics either if there wasn’t my professor and the rest of my class sharing their thoughts.
    I can’t say I “like” my latest “required reading” which is Faulkner’s As I Day Dying, but I admire his style and I am still waiting for an epiphany so I have a topic to write about in my final paper.

    next up, I think I want to try some Amish literature.

    I’m an email follower (lilianxchengATgmailDOTcom)
    I followed Stiletto Storytime on twitter as @lilboxism
    Followed the author on twitter as @lilboxism
    Liked the author’s fan page on Facebook under Lilian Cheng.
    Tweeted: http://twitter.com/lilboxism/status/191770271441633280

    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

    • stilettostorytime

      It’s funny…I am the exact opposite. I find my snug reading home within classical literature. More modern works are what require me to kind of come out of my literary shell! I’m glad you are enjoying some of the classics in your class. I was an English major and I miss those days so much!

  4. Hmm, well, if you ask about reading outside the usual zones, I’ve read a few Yaoi romances (in part because I read a lot of manga, in part to learn why many teens, especially girls find them so appealing). Actually liked what I read, and I found some interesting similarities to more “mainstream” romance novels. (Think replacing a “princess” with a prince and say make the bodyguard a guy too, go from there. Otherwise, the basic formula of the “princess falling for the strapping handsome fellow).

    The book for this giveaway does sound interesting and different. Your description has me intrigued. Here is to hoping.

    Best, and keep on blogging.

    P.S. I also follow you on Twitter @gypsylib (sadly, it is protected though after some issues, but feel free to request)

  5. The books looks interesting. Right up my alley. I love YA Sci-fi/Fantasy.

    Like A. Rivera, I am a yaoi fan, so much in fact I own over 100 of them. *looks guiltily at her bookcase stuffed with them*

    I must say though, that I like what I like and I don’t like what I don’t like. Working at a library, this isn’t a good thing sometimes. Patrons will come up to me and ask about an adult book and I’ll have no idea since I don’t read those. Ask me about YA books, however, and I can yammer your ear off for an hour or three.

  6. I just read Hollow Earth by John and Carol E. Barrowman. It was a little outside of my comfort zone in the sense that it was aimed towards children. I usually read Y.A. and I worried that this book wouldn’t be entertaining but it was and I’m very happy I read it!

  7. bonniejacobs

    A friend suggested I read a science fiction book called “A Canticle for Leibowitz” by Walter M. Miller Jr. I did, even though I thought science fiction was outside my interests. Actually, the book needs to be categorized as “speculative fiction,” since it isn’t really “science” in any sense. More a “what would happen if” kind of book. After that, I looked more carefully at what was being labeled SciFi and discovered I like some of it, especially if it is speculative.

    emerging DOT paradigm AT yahoo DOT com

  8. I just finished The Sugar Queen. It’s not my type of book, from what I read on the backcover it’s about love and friendship among several young people, and I usually find them not serious or exciting enough for me. It’s my bookclub read, I thought of skipping it but ended up having a copy of the book. I really enjoyed it. That’s the good thing about bookclub, it gets you to read something you may not normally pick up.

    Azuki @azukibc.wordpress.com

  9. World War Z by Max Brooks was my ultimate out-of-my-comfort zone book. It was written in a style I usually avoided, considered a book for adults which I also avoided, and then also a zombie book which is another thing I avoided *laughs*. The reason I picked it up at all is because it was given to me as a birthday present by my roommate at the time (an inside joke). And funny thing is that it has ended up becoming one of my all time favourite books (who’dathunk).

    final-trinity at hotmail dot com is following you
    journeythroughpages is following both you and the author on twitter.
    And liked author under last name Dauphinais :)

    Aaaaand: https://twitter.com/#!/ThroughPages/status/193913483094536192

  10. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 15- Rock n’ Roll Readers

  11. Bridget O'Neill

    I recently read When She Woke by Hillary Jordan. It was kind of a futuristic Scarlet Letter. My comfort zone is chick lit or mysteries, so this was a little different for me, but I enjoyed it! I hope to win this book, and go even further outside my comfort zone :)
    I’m a follower of this blog via e-mail
    I’m a follower of Stiletto Storytime on twitter: bridgetoneill1

    bjoneill@hotmail.com

  12. stilettostorytime

    Drum Roll please…our winner for the copy of “2108″ Eyes Open” is Sam @ A Journey Through Pages! Congrats Sam and Happy Reading!

  13. A Big Thank You to everyone that left a comment! And congrats, to Sam for winning! I hope you enjoy 2108 :)

Let's Talk....

