Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig

     ” THE GARDEN INTRIGUE is the latest novel in the nationally bestselling Pink Carnation series byRITA Award winner Lauren Willig. In this ninth installment, long-time readers and newcomers alike will be delighted to meet a character sure to become a fan favorite—a poet whose fervent ardor leads him to declare his feelings for the Pink Carnation in atrociously overwrought verse.

Lovable modern day grad student Eloise Kelly is back and on the trail of the Pink Carnation when she discovers a wretched poem among the papers of a code book. Poetry penned by the notorious fop Augustus Whittlesby for Jane Wooliston (aka the Pink Carnation)—Eloise can’t help but wonder; can anyone really be that bad of a poet? Or is something else hiding behind his putridly saccharine words? Back in 1804, New York born Paris socialite Emma Morris Delgardie doesn’t think so. She’s too busy sipping champagne to notice Whittlesby’s strange interest in a top-secret device Napoleon has commissioned. Unfortunately for Emma, she’s the poet’s entrée into the emperor’s inner circle. Fortunately for Augustus, this plucky American heroine could turn out to be his true muse.”

The Garden Intrigue is the ninth book in the Pink Carnation Series and I have to admit I have been kind of lax since about the third or fourth book so going into it I was a little nervous that I would be lost. That was not the case. This installment has no problem standing on it’s own for a reader who has read a few books in the series or one who has no introduction whatsoever to the series. Either way I think it would prove to be an enjoyable read.

The main characters within the book remain the same as we continue to follow the modern day love story of Colin and Eloise which is probably my favorite part of the series in all honesty. Within the historical side of the story we meet a former character in the poet Augustus but he is supplied with a new love interest in the American Emma. I found both time periods and relationships to be interesting and addicting. Best of all is Willig’s rendering of the historical time period since she is such a spectacular researcher and exacting historical fiction author. Love, espionage, mystery and danger combine as always to create a great storyline within this series. Add in the bad poetry of Augustus for humor and you have the perfect recipe for a great read.  I for one am looking forward to going back and re-reading the books that I have missed after finishing this book.

My only real problem with The Garden Intrigue lies within the cover choice. I find it looks a little too much like a romance novel. It’s shelf appeal is greatly diminished for that reason in my opinion for many potential readers and I fear many  may overlook it based on cover alone. Most of the former books in the series had a much different cover that I thought served them well. You can compare covers here if you’d like and tell me if you agree.

 Book Giveaway

Stiletto Storytime is excited to be able to offer a giveaway as part of this TLC Book Blog Tour Stop for The Garden Intrigue and a copy of the book will soon belong to one very lucky reader. Giveaway ends midnight EST March 31, 2012. US/Canada addresses only please for this giveaway.

To enter to win a copy simply comment below and share your favorite book series. It can be historical fiction or not…whichever series you get really excited about each time a new installment is released.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

23 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Blog Tour, New Books

23 responses to “Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig

  1. Ok Im going to try this again lol, if I win this time my email is all fixed up now it wont take 3 months to reply back lol, oh goodness you gotta love email :)
    The series for Historical I love is by Beatrice Small, Roseamund I have read it 4 times now and each time I find something I missed, but anything from Beatrice Small I love, The Garden Intrigue series I have been wanting to read for some time now, thanks for this giveaway :) I follow your blog here and twitter and I follow you on twitter and facebook as well
    natalie
    nataliejhillier@yahoo.ca

  2. I have the Pink Carnation. Excellent series. Thank you for the opportunity to win the newest book.

  3. carlrscott

    For my favorite series of all time I’d have to go deep into my past and pull out all those old Hardy Boys books I read as a kid. I remember being so excited as soon as I got a new one and then reading it all at once the same day.
    I follow this blog by email: carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx
    and on twitter: @carlrscott
    where I posted a nice link: https://twitter.com/#!/carlrscott/status/184722525597614080.
    That’s my four entries for the draw, Thanks!

  4. Margay

    I love the Pink Carnation series but I also love Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series – amazing!

  5. Carol M

    My favorite series is the In Death series by J. D. Robb.

  6. My favorite series is the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon!!

  7. GFC follower: Julie Witt, email subscriber: jwitt33 at live dot com

  8. Twitter follower: @jwitt33

  9. Margaret

    I love the Tudor series by Phillipa Gregory.

    Blog follower

    Twitter follower

    tweeted Margaret ‏ @LiteraryChanteu

    http://stilettostorytime.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/blog-tour-giveaway-the-garden-intrigue-bu-lauren-willig/

    Margaret
    singitm(at)hotmail(dot)com

  10. I love the Tudor Series! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

  11. email subscribed edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

  12. Love, love Lauren Willig. Did I say love enough times??? Her humor and historical detail are just top notch.

    I already own a beautiful hardcover copy of The Garden Intrigue, so if I win, pass it to another deserving winner.

  13. Love Willig’s work and this one looks great!

  14. And I retweeted your post as RegencyErica.

  15. Courtney, thank you so much for the great review and for being on the tour! I’m glad to hear the book is fine as a stand alone. Seems like a well-loved series!

  16. My previous comment was lost, shoot! ANYway, thank you so much for the great review. I’m glad to hear this title would be fine as a stand alone. People seem to really love Lauren Willig and this series! Thanks so much for being on the tour.

  17. Na S.

    Carla Neggers has several series and I enjoy them all. One of them is the U.S. Marshals series.

  18. Na S.

    I am an email subscriber: simplyreadingAThotmailDOTcom

  19. Na S.

    I am a Twitter follower: Fiery Na

  20. Pingback: Lauren Willig, author of The Garden Intrigue, on tour February/March 2012 | TLC Book Tours

  21. stilettostorytime

    Thanks to everyone who entered for this great giveaway but only one can win and that person is Julie Witt! Congrats Julie and keep trying to all my other readers! Happy Reading!

Let's Talk....

